Reviews Written by Lovegf:  



Showing 1 to 17 of 17 reviews
| 1 | Back To Paged View |


Nando's Peri Peri
117 East Lake Street
Chicago, IL 60601
United States

4.5 Palms
4.5 Palms
Gluten free fast casual with awesome chicken in Chicago

Reviewer: Lovegf
Reviewed on Apr 24, 2019

This chain with locations in Illinois, as well as Washington DC, Maryland, and Virginia (and internationally), specializes in flame grilled Peri Peri marinated chicken. There are different marinades and levels of spice, depending on your taste. All are gluten free. In fact, the majority of menu items (except for sandwiches and wraps) are gluten free. You can get a variety of entree salads with chicken on top, but what I recommend is the peri peri chicken, which you can order in different portion sizes (quarter, half, whole, or even the two chicken family meal). Their fries are gluten free and delicious, as are their mashed potatoes and many other yummy sides. You can download their nutrition page on their site to view the chart which lists any allergens for all the individual menu items. There are also notations on their menu about what is gluten free (as well as vegetarian, nut free, and lactose free), but for some reason the flame grilled chicken items aren't marked as gluten free on the menu online (but they ARE listed as not having any gluten on the nutrition page). I do know they ARE gluten free, as we have asked at this and every location we have ever been to. You can always call ahead or ask upon arrival to verify and to address any concerns you may have.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Chipotle
10711 Fremont Pike
Perrysburg, OH 43551
United States

4.5 Palms
4.5 Palms
Fast casual gluten free option in Perrysburg, Ohio

Reviewer: Lovegf
Reviewed on Apr 24, 2019

Almost everything on the menu at Chipotle is gluten free (with the exception of the flour tortillas). So you can get hard shell tacos, a bowl, or a salad here. All meats and fillings are gluten free! This location was particularly conscientious when our son told him he was gluten free. They not only changed their gloves but wiped down the entire counter in front of the toppings and also got my son all "fresh" ingredients (meat, rice, cheese, etc.) from bins that had not previously been dipped in with a serving spoon. We didn't even ask them to do this...they just did. So there was virtually no risk for cross contamination whatsoever.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



The Palm (inside the Swissotel)
323 East Wacker Drive
Chicago, IL 60601
United States

4.5 Palms
4.5 Palms
This Chicago steakhouse is gluten free friendly

Reviewer: Lovegf
Reviewed on Apr 24, 2019

While gluten free items are not marked on The Palm's menu, many items are. You will just need to have a conversation with your server. Obviously, you have a choice of many steaks, entree salads, seafood, and sides. Some entrees come with sides, and some don't. There are sides available a la carte, and we ordered several gluten free ones to share, all of which were great: creamed spinach; steamed spinach aglio e olio; green beans with pancetta, pepper flakes, and pine nuts; and hashed browned potatoes. The fries were not gluten free. There are always seasonal specialties as well. Save room for the flourless chocolate cake (GF) for dessert! Everything is very high quality here, and they know what is in each of their menu items, so they can guide you toward gluten free choices. They are open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. I would give this place an even higher rating if they offered things like gluten free bread and gluten free pasta and had all the gluten free items marked on the menu.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Modern Market
Duncan Student Center
Notre Dame, IN 46556
United States

4.0 Palms
4.0 Palms
Cafe in student center at Notre Dame has gluten free

Reviewer: Lovegf
Reviewed on Apr 24, 2019

This small cafe on the main floor of the Duncan Student Center has a good number of gluten free options: soups, entree salads, and bowls. Even though it's not mentioned on the menu, they apparently can make gluten free pizza here, too (and they have a wood-fired oven). You can also get their sandwiches and avocado toast options on gluten free bread. Gluten free items are marked with a symbol on the menu ( https://dining.nd.edu/assets/280476/modern_market_menus.pdf ). The BLT on gluten free bread was good. As always, mention if you are on a gluten free diet for medical reasons so they can be extra careful preparing your order.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



University of Notre Dame

Notre Dame, IN 46556
United States

4.5 Palms
4.5 Palms
Both dining halls on Notre Dame campus have gluten free

Reviewer: Lovegf
Reviewed on Apr 23, 2019

We visited Notre Dame for admitted students weekend, and we were happy to discover both dining halls have notations at the various food stations about what is gluten free, vegetarian, vegan, etc. Actually, they say on this page of their website ( https://dining.nd.edu/nutrition-health/ ) that they don't designate things "gluten free" but, rather, indicate that a particular dish doesn't contain wheat, rye, barley or non-GF oats. But essentially you are given good information -- and plenty of choices. Our older son who will attend here is not gluten free, but other family members are. If you are planning to attend this university, it is recommended (as it is at any college) that you talk with someone from dining services about your needs (and whether you are Celiac or gluten sensitive) and the options and how to make safe choices when dining on campus. The north dining hall even had a dedicated GF station where students can prepare omelettes, sandwiches, GF pasta, and other items in a dedicated area free of the risk of cross contamination. If you are pressed for time, you can arrange for them to have a gluten free pizza ready when you arrive as well. And, of course, there are always items in the buffet line that are gluten free, with separate serving utensils for each dish so that cross contamination shouldn't be a problem. We also talked to students who are gluten free here, and they haven't had any problems.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Legends of Notre Dame
100 North Eddy Street
South Bend, IN 46617
United States

4.0 Palms
4.0 Palms
Plenty of gluten free options at this campus sports bar

Reviewer: Lovegf
Reviewed on Apr 23, 2019

We had a nice meal here at Legends on the campus of Notre Dame when we were visiting for admitted students weekend with our son. Three of us ordered the Short Ribs, which were marked gluten free on the menu -- and they were awesome. They were served with mashed potatoes and green beans. Unfortunately, the Menu on their website does not have the gluten free notations the way the menu in their restaurant does. However, there are quite a few options, including salads, steaks, chicken, the short ribs, and even a flourless chocolate torte with Baileys Irish Cream mousse. They have burgers, but as I recall, they don't offer gluten free buns.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Chick-fil-A
4228 Belden Village Mall
Canton, OH 44718
United States

4.0 Palms
4.0 Palms
Safe fast food if you're gluten free

Reviewer: Lovegf
Reviewed on Apr 23, 2019

Chick-fil-A is a safe place to eat if you're gluten free. Their grilled nuggets are gluten free, and you can also get a grilled chicken sandwich on a gluten free bun. Their yummy waffle fries are also gluten free. And some of the salads are, too. Their milkshakes are really good, and all but the Cookies and Cream variety are gluten free. Just click on the Nutrition/Allergen tab on their website for a listing of what contains wheat: https://www.chick-fil-a.com/Nutrition-Allergens

We always tell them that it is a medically necessary gluten free diet so they change their gloves and are careful getting our order.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Biaggi's Ristorante Italiano
1320 Levis Commons Boulevard
Perrysburg, OH 43551


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Wonderful gluten free experience at restaurant in Perrysburg, Ohio

Reviewer: Lovegf from
Reviewed on Apr 23, 2019

We had a terrific meal here at Biaggi's. They have a very large gluten free menu with plenty of options, whether you're in the mood for a traditional Italian specialty, a steak, gluten free pizza, risotto, or gluten free pasta options. Their gluten free pizzas aren't the typical pre-bought variety. They are really delicious and a good texture. I think they make them in-house. Two of us ordered pizzas, and the other ordered gluten free Chicken Parmesan, which was crusted in parmesan -- not just grilled like some places do when trying to make a GF version of Chicken Parm. The Roasted Beet Salad was also especially tasty. We were tempted to order the Bacon Wrapped Dates as a starter but stuck with salads instead. If you order pasta (or if pasta comes as a side as it did with my Chicken Parm), you have your choice of a rice-based penne or spinach fettuccine. I went with the spinach fettuccine, which I'm guessing was RP's brand of gluten free pasta. They also have a good wine list. We opted for the creme brulee for dessert. They are very careful and well-trained on gluten free orders at this regional restaurant chain. Unfortunately, they do not offer gluten free bread.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Red Velvet
11939 Democracy Drive
Reston, VA 20190


4.5 Palms
4.5 Palms
Gluten free cupcakes at bakery in Reston Town Center

Reviewer: Lovegf
Reviewed on Nov 29, 2016

There are typically at least two gluten free cupcake varieties available here: Black Velvet (chocolate with chocolate frosting) and White Velvet (vanilla bean with vanilla frosting). Sometimes they mix them, like putting the chocolate frosting on the vanilla cake, or vice versa. Both varieties are very good. These cupcakes are also vegan, which is surprising, because the icing tastes like a true buttercream, even though it doesn't contain dairy. There are two other Red Velvet locations: one in Penn Quarter in DC and one in the Clarendon area of Arlington. Definitely worth a visit. It would be great if they'd add a few more flavors.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Not Your Average Joe's
1845 Fountain Drive
Reston, VA 20190


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Amazing restaurant in Reston, VA with full gluten free menu

Reviewer: Lovegf
Reviewed on Nov 29, 2016

The name of this restaurant is appropriate...it is not your average restaurant, especially when it comes to gluten free dining! Just check out their amazing Gluten Free Menu (click on Gluten Free at the top): https://www.notyouraveragejoes.com/locations/virginia/reston/#/menu/. There are appetizers, entree and starter salads (with choice of protein to top it off), and many gluten free salad dressings. I got the Poached Pear and Spinach Salad which was wonderful: spinach with poached pears, blue cheese, candied pecans, and a warm maple dressing. There are burgers and grilled chicken sandwiches on gluten free caramelized onion buns (our son got a GF burger, which he said was great). Fries are not listed as being a gluten free side option, but our server said they can make up a separate batch in separate, clean oil upon request. Our son opted for the garlic mashed potatoes, however. For entrees, there are 2 fish options, 2 chicken options, Jambalaya, Rosemary Scallops, Spaghetti Squash Bolognese, Molasses Braised Pork Shank, a steak, and a "Harvest Mac-N-Cheese," which sounded amazing (mixed with butternut squash, mushrooms, chicken, and spinach and topped with gluten free bread crumbs). I am going to try that next time! There's even a Gluten Free Kids Menu with four choices. I got the Coriander Crusted Salmon as my entree, served with the roasted potatoes and a brussels sprout and bacon slaw. All the preparations are far from average here. It's nice to have so many gluten free choices that are interesting. You could eat here once or twice a week and not get bored with the choices. I think they rotate in seasonal choices as well.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 1 found this review helpful



Zoe's Kitchen
44743 Brimfield Drive
Ashburn, VA 20147


4.5 Palms
4.5 Palms
Gluten free Mediterranean dining in Ashburn, VA

Reviewer: Lovegf
Reviewed on Jun 08, 2015

We had a great meal at Zoe's Kitchen in the One Loudoun area a few nights ago. Everything on their menu is so healthy -- great Mediterranean style food. On their gluten free menu they offer hummus, salads, kabobs, soup, and chicken entrees. Kabobs are served with delicious Greek salads on the side. I love the Chicken Kabobs. This is an order-at-the-counter restaurant, and they bring your food to the table. Casual, well-priced, fast, friendly. A great "fast casual" concept.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



California Pizza Kitchen
4200 Fairfax Corner Avenue West
Fairfax, VA 22030


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Great gluten free meal at CPK in Fairfax Corner

Reviewer: Lovegf
Reviewed on Apr 15, 2014

In addition to amazing new gluten free pizzas (4 varieties, plus the option to create your own variation if you're okay with them using toppings that aren't set aside specifically for gluten free pizzas), they have several salads that are gluten free. I started with the arugula and asparagus salad, which was good and just the right size as a prelude to the wonderful pizzas. I highly recommend trying their GF pizzas if you haven't already. They are my favorite. Similar to Domino's gluten free crust, but the nice thing is CPK's are made using the strictest standards to avoid cross contamination. They've been trained by the Gluten Intolerance Group. Can't wait until they expand their gluten free offerings.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Trader Joe's
14100 Lee Highway
Centreville, VA 20120


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
You'll find many gluten free items at this Centreville, Va market

Reviewer: Lovegf
Reviewed on Dec 03, 2013

This Trader Joe's -- as well as their other locations around the U.S. -- stocks many gluten free foods. Some are national brands (you can sometimes find Udi's bread and hotdog and hamburger rolls at lower prices than elsewhere), but much of their food is their own private label brand. Even though it typically won't be labeled on the package, Trader Joe's has a list of their gluten free products, available both on their website and in their store. Their sales associates are very helpful, too. Two of our favorite gluten free things to buy there are their Baby Back Ribs, which come pre-marinated and ready to grill or bake AND their to-die-for gluten free chocolate cupcakes with vanilla buttercream icing. They're the perfect size (not so huge) and oh-so-good! You will find all sorts of wonderful and unique items here, including MANY organic items, and all at GREAT prices. You can pretty much buy anything you need at this store, even some personal care items.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Red Robin
13056 Fair Lakes Shopping Center
Fairfax, VA 22033


4.5 Palms
4.5 Palms
Gluten Free and Family-Friendly Dining at restaurant in Fair Oaks, VA

Reviewer: Lovegf from Chantilly, VA
Reviewed on Oct 19, 2012

Red Robin has plenty of gluten free options, and recently they made gluten free buns available for their burgers. You can get beef burgers, turkey burgers, and chicken sandwiches -- in addition to other gluten free items such as salads. Their fries are gluten free, which is nice, because they're delicious. Ask the hostess or manager to give you the binder that lists the gluten free options. The manager usually comes over to your table at Red Robin locations if you are gluten free. They take good care with avoiding cross contamination in the kitchen and training their staff.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Five Guys Burgers and Fries
14421 Chantilly Crossing Lane
Chantilly, VA 20151


4.0 Palms
4.0 Palms
Awesome gluten free burgers at restaurant in Chantilly, Virginia

Reviewer: Lovegf from Chantilly, VA
Reviewed on Oct 18, 2012

Everything at Five Guys is gluten free, except for the buns (we brought our own). The buns are NOT toasted on the grill, so you don't need to worry about cross contamination in cooking your burger patty. I still always let them know about the gluten issue and ask them to change their gloves, in case they touch my burger or fixin's with their hands.The burgers are awesome. A small burger is actually ONE patty, and a regular burger contains TWO patties. All fixin's are gluten free, and you can get as many on your burger as you want, for no extra charge. The fries are cooked in peanut oil and are gluten free AND delicious. (Obviously, this is not a place to go if you have a peanut allergy, as there are also bins of peanuts in shells to munch on while you wait, and therefore there's probably peanut "dust" everywhere!) Beware a "regular" size fries is huge...enough for 3-4 people, in my opinion. Just avoid the Malt Vinegar for the fries, which is NOT gluten free. I'm giving this a 4-palm rating, just because you have to bring your own GF bun -- and because the menu is extremely limited (but yummy!).

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Noodles & Company
13598 Lee Jackson Memorial Highway
Chantilly, VA 20151


4.0 Palms
4.0 Palms
Restaurant in Chantilly, VA with gluten free options

Reviewer: Lovegf
Reviewed on Apr 15, 2014

Had a good meal here at Noodles & Company, which is a fairly new location. Had heard they offer gluten free options, and they do indeed. They have quite a few, in fact. The theme is noodles, but there are other things as well -- sandwiches, soups, salads. Of course, the sandwiches aren't gluten free, but many salads and noodle dishes are, providing you order them with either the rice noodles or gluten free fusilli. The Pad Thai, which I ordered, used the gluten free traditional rice noodles and was gluten free as is. Many other pasta options (tomato cream sauce, pesto, etc.) could be ordered gluten free by substituting noodles, and most of their meat options to add to the pasta were gluten free (pork, chicken, steak, shrimp -- just NOT the meatballs). And of course other toppings, like broccoli, mushrooms, tomatoes, etc are fine, too. I spoke to the manager, and he handed me an allergy guide, and there was a chart showing what did and didn't contain gluten (and other allergens), as well as a listing of gluten free suggested menu selections. They prepare gluten free orders in a clean pan or wok and boil the gluten free noodles in a separate pot. The manager alerted the people preparing our food that there was an allergy alert and made sure they were preparing everything correctly. A good option for a quick, reasonable, and healthy alternative to fast food for lunch or dinner.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Ruby Tuesday
1019 North Center Avenue
Somerset, PA 15501


4.0 Palms
4.0 Palms
Always a reliable restaurant chain for gluten free dining

Reviewer: Lovegf
Reviewed on Apr 15, 2014

We've eaten at many Ruby Tuesdays and have never been disappointed with their ability to provide a safe gluten free meal. There are many choices on their menu. You just need to ask for the Gluten Free Menu, which is really more of a binder with listings of all the foods available for people with various "allergies," gluten being one of them (they also list many others). There's everything from steak, tasty chicken, fish, ribs, shrimp, and other things to choose from, including the nice salad bar. The fries are not fried in a dedicated fryer so are not safe to eat.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Showing 1 to 17 of 17 reviews
| 1 | Back To Paged View |