Reviews Written by Gfmom:  



Showing 1 to 28 of 28 reviews
| 1 |


Sweetwater Tavern (locations in Centreville and Sterling)
14250 Sweetwater Lane
Centreville, VA 20121


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Awesome food and wonderful gluten free choices at restaurant in Centreville

Reviewer: Gfmom from
Reviewed on Jul 08, 2019

We love going to this restaurant, and our latest trip was as good as always. Items we ordered -- and other favorites ordered in the past -- include the Chop House Salad (appetizer), Goat Cheese and Spiced Pecan Salad (appetizer), Sweetwater Roast Chicken Salad (entree), fajitas with corn tortillas, BBQ baby back ribs, Jambalaya pasta with gluten free penne, Bell & Evans Roasted Half Young Chicken, and the Hickory Grilled Fresh Fish (type of fish changes daily). All the steaks are good, too. Burgers are available on gluten free bread/buns. The fries ARE gluten free here, as are the yummy sweet potato fries and many other sides. Their signature dessert, the Warm Flourless Chocolate Waffle, is to-die-for. Not too sweet and totally gluten free! Even though there is a disclaimer at the top of their Gluten Sensitive Dinner Menu, they are always very careful in the preparation of gluten free orders here, and we have never had a problem. If you have any questions, you can always talk to a manager. Here is the latest Gluten Sensitive Dinner Menu: https://www.greatamericanrestaurants.com/garcms/Content/Uploads/MenuPdf/GF/GF-Sweetwater,%20Centreville_Dinner.pdf They have another location in Sterling, VA.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



One Dish Cuisine
8001 Hillsborough Road
Ellicott City, MD 21043


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Best restaurant for gluten free diners anywhere!

Reviewer: Gfmom from South Riding, VA, USA
Reviewed on Feb 21, 2019

If you haven't visited One Dish Cuisine and you're gluten free, you haven't lived! Seriously, this is THE place to go if you're gluten free. The entire restaurant is gluten free, and there is also a separate kitchen for preparing food for patrons who are also dairy free. Owner Maureen Burke is super-dedicated and takes any special dietary needs seriously. She herself has to avoid many allergens, and the restaurant is also completely free of common allergens like soy, fish, shellfish, eggs, sesame, peanuts, and tree nuts. You may be wondering if the food is good...well, yes, it is amazing. Maureen has the best pizza I've ever had -- gluten free or not. The crust is absolutely perfect, and you can get two different sizes (they are rectangular shaped). I get the Margherita Pizza almost every time our family goes there. Other favorites of mine include the Reuben sandwiches, and our kids like the burgers, chicken tenders, wings and fries. They have daily specials...things like stew, Chicken Parmesan, and always have a soup or two, and hot and cold sandwiches and subs. Their baked goods are fabulous, and we always take a cooler with us to take many of these home to freeze and enjoy later. There are donuts, muffins, coffee cakes, cookies, cupcakes, brownies, whoopie pies, and more. You can also get plenty of breads, pre-made pizzas, rolls, meals, and sweet treats from their freezer to go. They are not too far off Interstate 95, so even if you don't live right near Ellicott City, Maryland, you really owe it to yourself to stop here any time you are passing by on 95. Maureen has diners come from all over the U.S. to dine at her restaurant...and even some international visitors as well. It is safe and delicious and unlike any other restaurant you'll find. You can read more about them on their website -- and look at the three menus posted: one for GF, one for GF/dairy free, and one for frozen foods and deli items (freshly sliced deli meats and cheeses to go). Bring a big cooler!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Glory Days Grill
42010 Village Center Plaza, Suite #180
Stone Ridge, VA 20105


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
One of the best casual restaurants for gluten free in VA, MD, and WV

Reviewer: Gfmom from
Reviewed on Feb 21, 2019

Our family goes to this restaurant all the time. They are a regional chain with locations in Virginia, Maryland, and West Virginia. (They have locations in Florida and North Carolina, too, but those locations don't have gluten free menus.) The Gluten Free Menu at Glory Days Grill is quite extensive. You can get all your typical sports bar favorites, which are often hard to find gluten free...things like nachos, wings, ribs, fries (they have a dedicated fryer), and more. You can also get healthier fare like entree salads, salmon, and chicken dishes. They also offer steaks, seafood, and many different types of burgers (on gluten free buns). There is also a Kids GF Menu and desserts (I highly recommend the Chocolate Torte -- amazing!). They offer gluten free beer and hard ciders as well. Glory Days Grill takes good care in keeping gluten free diners safe, and you won't be lacking delicious choices here! Our family's favorite thing to order are the ribs. They are some of the best we've ever had.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Clyde's
5441 Wisconsin Avenue
Chevy Chase, MD 20815


4.5 Palms
4.5 Palms
Many gluten free options on the menu at Clyde's in Chevy Chase, MD

Reviewer: Gfmom from Northern Virginia,VA United States
Reviewed on Apr 30, 2018

I hadn't dined at this particular location of Clyde's in YEARS, but I met my mom recently and had lunch there. There are many gluten free options, all labeled on the regular menu. I chose the Atlantic Salmon, grilled and served over lentils in a Dijon mustard sauce. It was really delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Burtons Grill
21434 Epicerie Plaza
Sterling, VA 20164
United States

5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Always a great gluten free experience at this restaurant in Sterling, VA

Reviewer: Gfmom from
Reviewed on Apr 30, 2018

We love Burtons Grill and are so glad to have two locations in northern Virginia (this Sterling location and another in Alexandria) to choose from now. I ordered the Mediterranean Chicken Risotto, which was divine. It was a flavorful risotto with chicken, basil, tomatoes, spinach, artichokes, and lemon butter sauce...all my favorite things! My husband ordered the Short Ribs, another one of their specialties which also happens to be gluten free. We were there on a Wednesday, which is half-price bottle of wine night. We enjoyed a very nicely priced "Super Tuscan" red, which complemented the meal perfectly. I highly recommend this restaurant, as there are SO many amazing gluten free choices on their menu. Check it out: https://burtonsgrill.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/06/FoodSpSum2017GF.pdf

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Not Your Average Joe's
1845 Fountain Drive
Reston, VA 20190


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Wonderful menu of gluten free choices in Reston

Reviewer: Gfmom
Reviewed on Mar 22, 2018

This is a chain with locations in six states. They used to have a location in Lansdowne, but now in VA, it's just this one in Reston and another in Woodbridge. They offer "creative comfort food" and an amazing gluten free menu ( https://www.notyouraveragejoes.com/locations/virginia/reston/gluten-free/ ). They are careful in the preparation of gluten free orders here, too. They even bring gluten free bread with their delicious dipping oil. There are so many choices: appetizers, soups, salads, and even burgers and sandwiches on gluten free caramelized onion rolls. The entrees range from baked pasta dishes, chicken piccata, chicken parmesan, and pork chops to fish and seafood. I absolutely LOVE the pecan sage pesto salmon entree. There are plenty of gluten free sides and even desserts like a flourless chocolate torte and a to-die-for carrot cake. This is one of the best gluten-free friendly restaurants around.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Marco's Pizza
25370 Eastern Marketplace Plaza
Chantilly, VA 20152
United States

4.0 Palms
4.0 Palms
Gluten free pizza prepared carefully in South Riding, VA

Reviewer: Gfmom
Reviewed on Mar 22, 2018

We tried this relatively new pizza place last night after receiving a flyer in the mail and seeing that they offer gluten free crust. Upon arriving, I asked to talk to the manager. They were VERY busy, as it had snowed, and a lot of people were ordering pizza delivery for that night! However, the manager took the time to talk to me and assured me they take the pre-made gluten free crust, put it on a clean pan reserved for gluten free pizzas, and then use a clean pizza cutter to cut the pizza once it's done. They said they even use a clean ladle for the sauce. When I asked if it would be possible to use "fresh sauce" (that hadn't been double-dipped into with the ladle that had spread the sauce on normal pizzas), they were happy to oblige. I don't think they typically do this, but if you ask nicely, they probably will (they even did it for us when they were busy, since I explained our son has Celiac). They were very, very nice here. It is a franchise, so the procedures and care probably vary from location to location. But I can recommend this location, and the pizza was really good (good crust). My son only ordered a plain cheese pizza, so we forgot to ask which toppings were gluten free (or if there were any that aren't). I'd recommend giving this place a try...I just recommend calling ahead or talking with the owner or a manager upon arrival if you are gluten free for medical reasons.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Aggio
20462 Exchange Street
Ashburn, VA 20147
United States

3.5 Palms
3.5 Palms
Good but slow dining in Ashburn

Reviewer: Gfmom
Reviewed on Mar 22, 2018

I liked the ambiance of this restaurant, but the night we dined there the service was quite slow. They were also out of the wine I ordered by the glass, and it took them a good half-hour to let me know that's why they hadn't brought the wine yet! The food was very good, but the portions on some things are small. So if you have a big appetite, ask your server which items are heartier portions. Many items on the appetizer and fish/meat portions of the menu are naturally gluten free, and many of the pastas can be made using gluten free pasta (noted on the menu), and they will take good care to prepare your gluten free order carefully in order to minimize the risk of cross contamination. Just talk to your server or the manager if necessary if you are on a gluten free diet for medical reasons (and make that known). You many also want to check out the menu online. Because there are no gluten free notations, you could call ahead to inquire if what you are interested in is (or can be made) gluten free prior to making a reservation. The food is very high-quality, and it's not just an ordinary restaurant. The decor is nice, and they have various interesting seating areas and a very cool bar.

Was this review helpful to you?  
1 out of 1 found this review helpful



Eddie Merlot's
20350 Bashan Drive
Ashburn, VA 20147
United States

5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Amazing steakhouse restaurant in Ashburn

Reviewer: Gfmom
Reviewed on Mar 22, 2018

My husband and I often celebrate Valentine's Day at Ruth's Chris steakhouse, but this year we wanted to try something a bit different. We decided to try a relatively new restaurant in Ashburn: Eddie Merlot's. The reference to Merlot in the name does have something to do with the varietal of wine, as our server explained. Something about the owner or one of his friends always choosing Merlot. Regardless, the food here is excellent, and the restaurant is gorgeous. It felt very special dining here. (We actually celebrated Valentine's the day after, and we prefer it that way, when it isn't so crowded.) The restaurant was still fairly busy on this night, which was good to see. It is quite large with various rooms, some of which could be used for private parties. We were in the main dining room with the beautiful columns. My husband ordered a steak, and I ordered a fish special. Both were outstanding. I also really enjoyed the Romaine Waldorf salad to start. There are no gluten free notations on the menu, but just talk with your server. The kitchen can accommodate gluten free requests for almost any menu item. Ask them to do the sweet potato casserole gluten free. It is amazing (a side dish). I highly recommend this restaurant. Again, although there's no Gluten Free Menu, per se, it's very gluten free friendly, and everything is made from scratch. Perfect for a special occasion or just a nice evening out!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Blue Ridge Grill
44065 Ashburn Shopping Plaza
Ashburn, VA 20147
United States

4.0 Palms
4.0 Palms
Nice selection of gluten free items at place in Ashburn, VA

Reviewer: Gfmom from South Riding, VA, USA
Reviewed on Jan 08, 2018

If you look at Blue Ridge Grill's menu online, there are no notations about what is gluten free. However, they do have a small Gluten Free Menu they can give you at the restaurant. They have a fair number of choices, and even the fries are fried in a dedicated fryer. My Celiac son orders steaks when he goes here, but there are some other things, too, that are GF, including some wonderful entree salads and the ribs. I think there are a couple other choices, too. I just can't remember, as we ate here a couple months ago. But the quality of the food is great, and they also take care to keep GF diners safe...just tell them if you are Celiac so they know to be careful of cross contact in the kitchen. I'd give this restaurant a higher rating if they had even more choices -- and notated them on their website!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



California Pizza Kitchen (in Tysons Corner Mall)
7939 Tysons Corner Center
McLean, VA 22102


4.0 Palms
4.0 Palms
Awesome (and safe) gluten free pizza in Tysons Corner Mall

Reviewer: Gfmom from South Riding, VA, USA
Reviewed on Jan 08, 2018

We love California Pizza Kitchen's gluten free pizzas. They have 4 pizzas that are certified by the Gluten Intolerance Group as being totally gluten free (prepared in a separate area with separate toppings that don't come into contact with any wheat-based pizza crusts). Those are the Margherita, Pepperoni, MuPeSa (Mushroom, Pepperoni, Sausage), and their famous BBQ Chicken Pizza (which our son ordered, shown here). There are also other toppings that are gluten free that you can request on a gluten free crust. They just aren't kept in a separate area, so there is the small chance of some cross contamination. Other items that are gluten free are noted noted on their menu, too, like some entree and starter salads and the Cedar Plank Salmon. But frankly, if you're going to this restaurant, try their gluten free pizza. It's really quite delicious...made on their own gluten free crust, which is tastier than most!

Was this review helpful to you?  
1 out of 1 found this review helpful



Clyde's (Willow Creek Farm)
42920 Broadlands Boulevard
Ashburn, VA 20148


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Uniquely wonderful restaurant in Ashburn with gluten free offerings

Reviewer: Gfmom from
Reviewed on Jan 08, 2018

Our family loves this restaurant. We went here for Christmas Eve this year. It was so beautifully decorated. There are many different rooms, each with their own character. We like the "main room," which is the largest room and has the feel of a big barn (I believe it was constructed from an old barn in New England). During the summer months, it's nice to dine outside on their spacious patio. All gluten free options are marked on their menu. Standouts include the chili, Coq Au Vin (which my husband ordered on Christmas Eve), Braised Lamb Shank, Chesapeake Rockfish, and the Atlantic Salmon atop stewed lentils and root vegetables (which I ordered). Our sons ordered steaks, as usual! They are amazing at this restaurant. And the mashed potatoes are to-die-for. They have gluten free buns for the burgers, which are another popular item here. There were two gluten free desserts the night we went: the gluten free chocolate truffle cake and chocolate mousse. We ordered one of each to share among the four of us, and both were great. I've never been here for lunch, but they have many of the same items on their lunch menu, plus gluten free pasta that can be used with any of the pasta preparations. They also have gluten free bread for their sandwiches. They also offer brunch on Saturdays and Sundays. As always, I recommend always letting the server know if you are gluten free for medical reasons so they take proper precautions in the kitchen when preparing your meal. We've never had a problem here.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



BRIO Tuscan Grille
11776 Fair Oaks Mall
Fairfax, VA 22033
United States

4.5 Palms
4.5 Palms
Wonderful Italian food and gluten free choices in Fair Oaks Mall

Reviewer: Gfmom from
Reviewed on Jan 08, 2018

We like going to Brio Tuscan Grill. They have locations in many states we've traveled to, and we occasionally dine at this location in Fair Oaks Mall, not too far from our home. They have high quality Italian food served in a lively and attractive dining room. They have a big bar area as well. Everything we've ever ordered from the Gluten Free Menu has been good. Of course, they have things like filet mignon, herb marinated chicken breast, a NY strip steak, and grilled salmon in a wonderful preparation. But they also have things that you can't always get at nice Italian restaurants like three types of gluten free pasta preparations. I like the Pasta BRIO, which is served with chicken and mushrooms in a red pepper sauce. They even have Pasta Carbonara (which our son ordered, shown here)! They also offer a shrimp risotto and broiled lobster tail combination, which I think might be relatively new to their GF Menu. And, of course, they have salads and sides that are gluten free. The only thing they are missing is much of a dessert selection for GF diners. I think they just have creme brûlée and gelato (you'd need to verify they are GF). But frankly, we're always too full to have dessert. One other welcome item would be some gluten free bread!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Legal Sea Foods (in Tysons Galleria)
2001 International Drive
McLean, VA 22102
United States

5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Amazing gluten free menu at seafood restaurant in Tysons

Reviewer: Gfmom
Reviewed on Jan 08, 2018

This was one of the first restaurant chains to pay attention to the gluten free diner and the need to offer delicious food that is safely prepared. They've been doing it for about a decade now, as I recall. They have locations in many states (a ton in Massachusetts), with three in Virginia (this one in the Tysons Galleria, one in Arlington, and one at Reagan National Airport). Honestly, most of the menu is gluten free by nature. You can easily see what your choices are, as they notate all gluten free items with a wheat chaff icon. Here's the menu ( https://files.legalseafoods.com/file/Dinner-Menu-Tysons-DDB4.pdf ). They use gluten free batter for ALL their fried items, so there is no need to even request things as gluten free, like the fried calamari or fish and chips. Our son had a field day ordering things he can't typically have when we dined at this location last week. He started with the calamari and for an entree ordered the fish and chips (which was even topped with some yummy fried onion rings). He ordered all these fried items just because he could! For diners with healthier tastes(!), you have a huge range of choices, from the hot lump crab dip appetizer to soups and salads and open flame grilled fish, shellfish, and meats. And there's no boring "plain" food here. Even the filet mignon is served with a bacon shallot brown butter sauce for interest (and it's gluten free, of course!). You can even get the baked cod with seasoned breadcrumbs, because they are gluten free. I was just left wondering why the crab cakes couldn't be made gluten free. I forgot to inquire about that. They offer Cicoppino with lobster, scallops, shrimp, calamari, clams, and muscles in a broth (yum!) and a lobster bake with all sorts of items. And again, it was so surreal to see that everything on their "Crispy Fried" menu is gluten free, whether you're in the mood for scallops, shrimp, oysters, cod, or fish and chips! I still recommend that you always let them know you are gluten free for medical reasons, just to be extra safe if you have Celiac. But this is one of the best restaurants around for gluten free diners!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Nemacolin Woodlands Resort
1001 Lafayette Drive
Farmington, PA 15437
United States

2.0 Palms
2.0 Palms
Disappointing gluten free meals at high end resort

Reviewer: Gfmom from Ashburn, VA
Reviewed on Sep 27, 2017

We visited this resort last spring over our kids' Spring Break, and I'm just finally sitting down to write a review. It's in large part because there is a lot to say, so I wanted to wait until I had more than 5 minutes to devote to the task. We were so looking forward to staying at Nemacolin. I had heard so many good things about it, and their website was impressive. Part of the reason for our 3-night trip was to celebrate my mother's 70th birthday. She and I sat down one day to look at the websites of several destination resorts in the mid-Atlantic region that we were considering for our stay. Having two sons, ages 15 and 13 (with the 13-year-old son being Celiac), we also wanted to choose a place that would be fun for them AND offer a nice range of gluten free dining options. I had contacted the resort and was assured they could accommodate our son's gluten free diet. In fact, some of their restaurants' menus, available online, had gluten free options marked. I also traded at least several emails with staff members leading up to our visit. They reassured me that they had plenty of options at most of their restaurants and that we would be in good hands during our stay. They were somewhat in between seasons so the menus were changing a bit, but I had a general sense of what our sons' options would be at the various restaurants.

Well, where do I start? The dining was the low-point of our stay. I wish I could say otherwise, but at every meal we felt disappointed or had something that went wrong. Because we have two teenage sons with relatively simple tastes, we veered to the more casual locations for meals (skipping the high-end Lautrec, for example, whose haute cuisine would have been lost on them!). Aqueous, in the Frank Lloyd Wright-inspired Falling Rock boutique hotel on the property, would have been a good choice for steaks, which we all love, but at almost $50 for a steak, with no sides or anything included, this seemed a bit crazy. We would have spent $250 for the five of us to have steaks with nothing else. My mother and I did dine there one day for breakfast, but frankly, it wasn't anything special and gluten free options were limited (neither of us needs to be gluten free, however). The eggs benedict was rather dry and not served with anything else.

For dinner, we dined at The Tavern the first night. This is a fairly casual restaurant, but it's one of the only restaurants that always seemed to be open. This was another oddity of our stay. We were there during what we thought would be a prime, crowded week (the week between Palm Sunday and Easter Sunday). However, there weren't a lot of guests around the resort, and certain restaurants were only open on certain days and at certain times. This first night, at the Tavern, our Celiac son ordered a burger on a gluten free bun (which we'd been told they had). However, it came served on dry gluten free toast. My mother ordered her burger medium rare, and it came well done. We ended up back at this restaurant for lunch the next day, because there really were no other places open to eat. At that meal, our GF son ordered the beef tacos, which could be served on gluten free corn tortillas, instead of flour tortillas. The filling of the tacos looked good, but the chef hadn't thought to WARM the corn tortillas, so not only did they taste "blah," but they cracked and fell apart the second my son lifted them off the plate. It was so frustrating. At a resort of this caliber, you expect so much more in terms of what is offered to people that are gluten free. After all, they position themselves as a high end resort, with prices to match. It's as if there was no thought to how to prepare the gluten free items for optimal taste/texture. Clearly, no one in the kitchen had ever sampled what they were serving.

The second night, we adults went to the casino, where we first dined at Otis and Henry's. I later found out that this restaurant isn't run by the resort. Here, too, however, we had a very mediocre meal. I won't go into details since this meal didn't involve ordering any gluten free items (again, none of the adults in our party are gluten free, just our son).

While we were at the casino, our boys had room service. Ironically, this was probably the best meal experience of our stay. I had ordered the meal before we left for the casino. They each wanted pasta. For our GF son, I ordered gluten free pasta with grilled chicken on top (and stressed in great detail how it needed to be prepared in a separate pot of water and with a separate clean colander, etc.). For our non-Celiac son, I ordered regular pasta with a side of chicken tenders. I also ordered them broccoli and a flourless chocolate cake for dessert. It arrived before we left, so I had a chance to survey everything. At first glance, I was concerned, because both boys' pastas looked the same. So of course, I had to call back down to room service to inquire. As it turned out, they had both been given gluten free pasta. Better than both getting the regular pasta, certainly, but still a mix-up nonetheless. Fortunately, everything tasted good, according to the boys, and it was nice they could both enjoy a decadent gluten free dessert. It's too bad all the resort's restaurants don't have this on the menu. Some of the restaurants where we dined had no gluten free dessert option.

On our final night we chose to dine at Caddyshack, a barbecue restaurant near the mini golf course. The food was good, but again, not without some hiccups. First off, we dined very early (I think around 5 pm) but were told they were already out of the ribs! So most of us decided to go with the pulled pork. After inquiring about whether the barbecue sauce served with the pulled pork was gluten free, we never heard back, so my son ate it plain. The meats were good, but there were other mix-ups with our order and food was brought out at different times, some parts of the meal arriving very late. In fact, when we first sat down, I verified that they could make gluten free fries in a dedicated fryer, as I'd been told in one of my emails before the trip. I wanted to give the kitchen ample notice so perhaps they could get those started. Our server said no advance notice was needed, but sure enough, the fries weren't ready with the rest of the meal. When they came out about 20 minutes later, they were barely cooked. At this point, we were beyond frustrated. However, not being one who likes to complain, especially in front of our kids and when on a special birthday celebration trip for my 70-year-old mother, I bit my lip (again).

On two of the three mornings, we ate breakfast at Autumn restaurant. The gluten free chocolate chip pancakes were good (our son ordered these both days), and there were some other gluten free options as well.

All in all, however, we paid a lot of money for this 3-night stay (we had two rooms and ate every meal at the resort). We were not paying "off season" rates for the rooms, but it seemed as if we were visiting very much during the off season (or almost during a training week). Service was mediocre, the food was one disappointment after another, and even the lobby bar in the beautiful chateau was closed when we wanted to enjoy a relaxing glass of wine one night after dinner (and it wasn't very late!). Thankfully, the weather was nice during our 3-day stay, and we were able to enjoy some of the outdoor diversions (paintball, the zoo, croquet, badminton, bowling, and mini golf). We also enjoyed the art tour, although our tour guide (the curator) seemed in a rush to get through the tour in a given time. Teenagers wanting to enjoy the pool are in a bit of a "no man's land" as they are too old for the kids pool but not yet old enough for the adult pool in the spa (I think it was 18). If you're there during the summer (what I expect is their "high season"), you can enjoy the outdoor pool. Reflecting on this trip now that it's been five months, I wish I would have been more vocal about all the disappointments during our stay, but frankly, we just kept thinking it would get better. If we had stayed one more day, I likely would have had a pretty frank conversation with the director of food and beverage. I wish I could be more positive about this resort, because it is quite beautiful and spread out over a large "campus" but I really can't recommend it at this time for anyone who is gluten free. You'll be settling for mediocre food (unless you want to drop tons of money for dinners at Lautrec and Aqueous, and even then, I can't guarantee you'd have a stellar experience). Also, if you go, I suggest visiting during high season (summer), when perhaps there are more hands on deck in the kitchens to ensure a better dining experience.

Was this review helpful to you?  
1 out of 1 found this review helpful



Baker's Crust
19890 Belmont Chase Drive
Ashburn, VA 20147
United States

4.5 Palms
4.5 Palms
Impressive gluten free menu at Ashburn, VA restaurant

Reviewer: Gfmom from
Reviewed on Sep 19, 2017

We visited this relatively new restaurant last week. It's right near Cooper's Hawk, another restaurant with a wonderful selection of gluten free options. Baker's Crust, a bit less formal, has a very cool bar and an impressive Gluten Free Menu. We each ordered the 9 oz pour of one of their Italian red wines, and it was, indeed, generous! Very good wine as well! Between the two of us, we ordered a gluten free pizza and a fish special of the day. Both were really good. We split the gluten free chocolate lava cake for dessert (hard to find a gluten free version of this at restaurants -- thank you, Baker's Crust). Delicious! This restaurant makes it easy for gluten free diners...there are starters, including GF bruschetta, numerous salads, artisan sandwiches on gluten free bread, burgers on gluten free buns, GF pizza, and meat and seafood entrees. There are two different gluten free desserts. They do take precautions in the kitchen, and gluten free pizza is baked on its own pan. However, our server made sure to tell us the GF pizza is cooked in the same oven as the other pizzas, so there is "gluten in the environment," in case we had a concern about that. While it's always nice if restaurants have a separate oven for GF pizzas, most restaurants don't. As long as they take precautions to use a clean tray (so the GF crust doesn't lay on the surface of the oven rack or stone) and use a separate pizza cutter, etc., we are comfortable with that. They do make their own homemade gluten free pizza crust here (at least that's what we were told). I definitely recommend a visit.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Fuddrucker's
44036 Pipeline Plaza
Ashburn, VA 20147


4.0 Palms
4.0 Palms
Good burgers and gluten free buns at restaurant in Ashburn, VA

Reviewer: Gfmom from
Reviewed on Jun 09, 2017

We've been going to this restaurant for years. They have all sorts of burgers (and grilled fish and chicken, too). Now they have gluten free buns for the burgers, too. The fries are gluten free as well (and cooked in a dedicated fryer), but I always recommend verifying everything when you order, because procedures and ingredients are always subject to change. You can ask for Joey. He's the owner/manager and is almost always there. They also have a great fixings bar with lettuce, tomato, onions, and other condiments for the burgers and sandwiches. There are entree salads, too, which would probably be gluten free...just verify toppings and salad dressings.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Burgatory
300 McHolme Drive
Pittsburgh, PA 15275
United States

3.5 Palms
3.5 Palms
Gluten free burgers and buns in Pittsburgh

Reviewer: Gfmom
Reviewed on Feb 12, 2017

This restaurant, with 8 restaurants in the Pittsburgh area, offers a GF menu. But it's not on their website. You have to ask for it at the restaurant. They have good burgers and GF buns (not served toasted so no cross contamination concern). The fries aren't gluten free, but there are other GF sides. Many of the shakes are gluten free, too. Just talk to a manager if you are gluten free for medical reasons. They seemed quite informed about everything.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Cafesano
11130 South Lakes Drive
Reston, VA 20191


4.5 Palms
4.5 Palms
Great Mediterranean Bistro with gluten free options in Reston, VA

Reviewer: Gfmom
Reviewed on Jan 02, 2017

This is a great "fast casual" type restaurant that offers salads, wraps, pasta, brick oven pizzas, and traditional Mediterranean appetizers like bruschetta, hummus, tzatziki, and baba ghanoush. However, the best part is that, although the pasta and pizza are not available gluten free, there is a whole gluten free menu ( http://www.cafesano.com/menus/lunch-dinner/gluten-free-menu/ ) that includes kebabs and kebab platters, soups, salads, and appetizers. They also have gluten free wraps. Just let them know if you are gluten free for medical reasons/Celiac so they can take care in preparing your food. A great place to dine. They have a second location in the Dulles Town Center area, too.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Chick-fil-A
22015 Dulles Retail Plaza
Sterling, VA 20166


3.5 Palms
3.5 Palms
Reliable and tasty gluten free fast food in Ashburn, VA

Reviewer: Gfmom
Reviewed on Jan 02, 2017

Chick-fil-A has a few good gluten free options: entree salads (if you order the grilled chicken, not fried chicken on top), grilled chicken nuggets, and even the waffle fries. There are some gluten free sides other than fries, too...like fruit cup, superfood salad, and regular side salad. They have an Allergens chart you can download on their website, which will show you what you can eat. Many of their shakes are gluten free, too (vanilla, chocolate, strawberry). So is their frosted lemonade (delicious....like a lemony shake) and frosted coffee (like a frappucino). But you pretty much have just two choices for a gluten free meal here: an entree salad with chicken or the grilled nuggets (8 or 12 count) with sides. They are very careful about avoiding cross contamination. Their processes make it easy to keep things safe for GF diners. I just wish they had more choices (and offered GF buns), because then you could at least get a grilled chicken sandwich.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Silver Diner
12251 Fair Lakes Parkway
Fairfax, VA 22033


4.5 Palms
4.5 Palms
Lots of variety and gluten free options at this fun diner

Reviewer: Gfmom
Reviewed on Jan 02, 2017

It had been a long time since we've dined at this restaurant. For quite a few years, they've had many gluten free items, which are all marked on their menu ( http://www.silverdiner.com/sites/default/files/silver_diner_menu_-_fall_2016_0.pdf ). They also have an allergen chart on their site which shows if there is wheat, other gluten sources (and many other "allergens") in each item on their menu. This makes looking things up very easy. I ordered the Quinoa Coconut Pancakes with Blueberries for breakfast, and they were delicious -- completely gluten free and served with bananas on top, as well as a side cup of fruit. They also have gluten free French toast, omelets, and various combos of eggs and breakfast meats. There are plenty of options for lunch and dinner, too: salad, chili, steaks, and seafood. They also have gluten free bread and GF Udi's buns to substitute for regular bread or rolls, making many of their sandwiches and burgers available gluten free. It does not appear that their fries are gluten free. They pride themselves on offering a "flexitarian" menu, with something for everyone: vegetarian, vegan, and gluten free. Many items are locally sourced. While we didn't have dessert this time (being it was breakfast), I recall that their gluten free Brownie Decadence dessert was amazing!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Cooper's Hawk
Belmont Chase Drive
Ashburn, VA 20147


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Wonderful restaurant and Wine Bar with gluten free menu in Ashburn, VA

Reviewer: Gfmom from
Reviewed on Nov 03, 2016

With locations in 8 states, Cooper's Hawk is a restaurant and wine bar. They have an AMAZING Gluten Free Menu. It's one of the best we've seen in a long time. In addition to a great selection of wines and cocktails, they have many appetizers, salads, entrees (beef, seafood, chicken, gluten free pasta offerings, chopped salads, burgers and sandwiches on gluten free buns, and delectable desserts). I think this is a place we will be back to again and again. Items ordered from the gluten free menu on our first visit that I'd recommend include the Caesar Pesto Salad and Short Rib Risotto. The Filet Mignon was great, too. Looking forward to trying the GF Dana's Parmesan Crusted Chicken, a house specialty, next time...and perhaps some gluten free pasta options, like the Roasted Butternut Squash and Brown Butter Cream Pasta with portobello mushrooms, sage, and shaved parmesan. How often do you see THAT on a gluten free menu?!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Chick-fil-A
43310 Defender Drive
Chantilly, VA 20152


3.0 Palms
3.0 Palms
New Chick-fil-A in South Riding, VA has gluten free options

Reviewer: Gfmom
Reviewed on Nov 03, 2016

A new location of Chick-fil-A opened in South Riding this past month. They have the gluten free options listed on their website: http://www.chick-fil-a.com/Food/Allergen-Gluten-Diabetic Their grilled chicken patty (without bun -- bring your own), Grilled Market Salad, and Grilled Nuggets (8 or 12 piece) are all gluten free, as are the yummy waffle fries, many other sides, several breakfast options, and plenty of condiments/dressings/sauces. Even though the listing says all beverages are gluten free, I am not 100% sure about the shakes. I think they are but have not heard back from the company yet about this. I emailed them and never heard back. A good option for fast food that's not McDonald's!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Bangkok Happy Bowl
300 Puppy Smith Street
Aspen, CO 81611


4.0 Palms
4.0 Palms
Gluten free Thai food in Aspen

Reviewer: Gfmom
Reviewed on Mar 26, 2016

Bangkok Thai has a location in Aspen, as well as one in El Jebel, CO and another opening soon in Breckenridge. They also have one on the Hawaiian island of Kauai. They offer classic Thai specialties, as well as unique seasonal specials. You can dine in or get take-out. We were pleasantly surprised with how many items on the menu were marked with a Gluten Free symbol. Just let them know if you are following a gluten free diet due to Celiac or gluten sensitivity so they are extra careful with your order.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Edens Natural Market
16328 Lee Highway
Gainesville, VA 20155


4.0 Palms
4.0 Palms
Small market with gluten free items in Gainesville, VA

Reviewer: Gfmom
Reviewed on Nov 25, 2015

This is a nice little market on Lee Highway in Gainesville. I went there because I was picking up some special gluten free items from Triple Oak Bakery, a dedicated gluten free bakery in Sperryville, Virginia that delivers special orders (and some regular items) to this market (so customers don't have to drive all the way to Sperryville!). I had ordered some things for Thanksgiving (a chocolate roulade, cream puffs, and biscuits -- all gluten free). When I picked them up at Edens Market, I was glad to see how many gluten free items they stock in this small store. They have a refrigerated and frozen section, too...and also many vitamins, personal care products, and even natural cleaning supplies. I picked up a few random items that are hard to find in my neighborhood store, and I will definitely be back when ordering anything from Triple Oak Bakery. Apparently, they deliver special orders to Edens Market on a weekly basis, so you can check out their offerings on their website and place an order (and then pick up some other gluten free items while you're in the store!). Triple Oak's website is: http://www.tripleoakbakery.com

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Mamma Lucia
12274 Rockville Pike
North Bethesda, MD 20852


3.0 Palms
3.0 Palms
Italian restaurant on Rockville Pike serving gluten free fare

Reviewer: Gfmom from
Reviewed on Dec 02, 2013

Mama Lucia has 7 locations around the DC suburbs. We went to this location in Rockville last weekend, having dined at their Fallsgrove location several years ago. They offer gluten free pizza and gluten free pasta (penne). Even though they don't have a gluten free menu, they said most of their pasta offerings could be made gluten free, using the gluten free penne. Other items on the menu could be made gluten free as well. Our son (Celiac) ordered a gluten free pizza, which he really enjoyed and did not have a reaction to. However, my mother-in-law (also Celiac) ordered chicken parmesan, which she ordered gluten free with gluten free pasta as a side. I think there must have been some miscommunication -- she must not have stressed (or asked) that the chicken be made gluten free. It came, and as she cut it, she noticed it was breaded, and became concerned it wasn't gluten free breading. Fortunately, she didn't eat it, and we called the waiter over to ask. It wasn't gluten free. She switched her meal with my gluten free penne with Putanesca sauce. I'm not Celiac or GF…I'd just opted to order my pasta with the gluten free penne so I could see how it was (their GF penne is good….I found out from the manager that it is Sam Mills brand, which I like because it's non-GMO -- great!) Anyway, at that point in the meal, we didn't want to order something else, so my mother-in-law took my GF pasta dish, and I ate her regular chicken parmesan and GF penne.
I spoke to the manager afterward, and he was very apologetic and understanding. He said their staff should know to clarify and ask questions when a gluten free order is placed. But my feeling is that the kitchen should have noticed this, too -- chicken parm being ordered with GF pasta. Doesn't this send up a red flag? I'm glad I pointed it out. I'm confident this was a rare occurrence, but just be careful here (or anywhere you go) and ask a lot of questions. I would recommend this restaurant, based on what I've generally heard from others in the gluten free community. Just be sure to specify that each thing needs to be gluten free. Since they don't specify which of their chicken dishes can be made gluten free on the menu, you need to ask, and I'd recommend talking directly with the manager. Lesson learned. I honestly don't know what to rate this restaurant -- I'd obviously rate it higher if it weren't for this potentially serious mistake.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



The V Eatery & Brewhouse
44630 Waxpool Road
Ashburn, VA 20147


4.0 Palms
4.0 Palms
Nice gluten free meal at Ashburn, Virginia restaurant

Reviewer: Gfmom from Ashburn, VA
Reviewed on Nov 25, 2015

We've been meaning to try this restaurant in Ashburn, set back a bit in a small shopping center (that's mostly restaurants) along Waxpool Road. We went on a Sunday evening, and the place was very quiet. It has a great outdoor seating area with comfortable seating, canopies, a fire pit, etc. It would be perfect for relaxing over cocktails with friends. This outdoor area wasn't open the night we were there, as it was too cold. The inside of the restaurant was really nice with comfortable booths, as well as high tables in front of a very large screen TV. It would be a great place for viewing any game on TV. The bar area is nice as well. We wanted to try the restaurant because it offers gluten free options, which are marked on the menu. It is our son that's gluten free, and he is typically happy with a burger or steak. However, their steaks were 12 oz ribeye (a bit more than he wanted), and they don't have gluten free buns for the burgers. I was able to convince my son to split two gluten free entrees with me, so he could try both and decide which he liked better...the Red Snapper and the Blackened Sea Scallops. I fix both fish and scallops at home, both of which he likes. He and I enjoyed both entrees, with a huge shout-out going to the scallops. There were 4 of them, perfectly cooked and arranged atop a sweet potato "hash" with bacon, onions, and red and green peppers. It was really delicious. The snapper had an orange glaze and was served atop a cauliflower mash. The only thing missing, in my opinion, was some sort of green veggie. Other choices for gluten free diners at this restaurant, which are marked with a star on their restaurant menu (but not online) are a grilled Cajun shrimp appetizer, six salads (some side, some entree size), the ribeye, surf and turf, grilled port chop with white wine and apple reduction, and asparagus and mushroom risotto. Keep in mind, the menu changes seasonally, because what is currently on their website is not the same menu we were presented with just a few nights ago (I think they need to update the menu on their website, which also does not currently denote gluten free items). But many of the items on the online menu are still offered...I think they just vary their risotto, based on the season. Same with the fish. There are plenty of gluten free sides, with the exception of the french fries which are not listed as gluten free (probably a shared fryer, although we didn't ask). They also serve New Planet Gluten Free Amber Ale. The only thing that drove me crazy (and this is a pet peeve of mine) is that the menu noted the GF items as "gluten friendly," a mistake many restaurants make these days. Hopefully they are not gluten friendly, but rather "gluten-FREE friendly!"

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Rubino's Pizzeria
43170 Southern Walk Plaza, Suite 110
Ashburn, VA 20148


4.0 Palms
4.0 Palms
Casual Italian restaurant with gluten free in Ashburn, VA

Reviewer: Gfmom from Ashburn, VA
Reviewed on Jan 21, 2016

We tried this new Italian restaurant after noticing that they serve gluten free pizza and pasta. They have both a 10" gluten free pizza (for an upcharge of $1) and 14" gluten free pizza (for an upcharge of $2). The meats, like the ham my son ordered for his Hawaiian pizza, are Boar's Head brand, so are gluten free. The pizza was good -- a pre-bought crust that comes in its own pan for safety when cooking. They also offer gluten free pasta for an upcharge of $2. We will have to try that next time. This is a great place for large groups, teams, etc. Everyone orders separately at the counter, and then they deliver your order to the table. The place is quite big with many large tables that can be pushed together for a big group.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Showing 1 to 28 of 28 reviews
| 1 |