Reviews Written by Csaceliacs:  



Showing 1 to 23 of 23 reviews
| 1 |


Now Larimar
407 Avenida Alemania
Punta Cana, 23000
Dominican Republic

4.5 Palms
4.5 Palms
Good Gluten Free Experience at Now Larimar resort in Punta Cana, Dominican Republic

Reviewer: Csaceliacs from The Celiac Sprue Association, with chapters throughout the United States, WY
Reviewed on Mar 04, 2015

Learn this phrase before you go: "I am allergic to wheat" = "Tengo alergia al trigo." The resort has nine different restaurants and all (except the French restaurant, I think) have menus with a gluten-free logo on the dishes that are gluten-free. The staff doesn't speak much English, so most of them didn't understand when I told them I need a gluten-free meal. As long as I ordered a menu item marked gluten-free, I was fine. I would avoid the teppanyaki tables at the Spice restaurant (which require reservations), as you will get some dried up chicken and plain rice with no sauce. I left there hungry. Our favorite restaurant was Tamarindo, the Mexican restaurant, which serves endless margaritas, so be careful! The Capers restaurant (Italian) was good. The Castaways grill for lunch was good (outdoor grilled chicken, pork and hamburgers. At the Windows buffet, I asked one of the waiters about gluten-free foods and he went back and made me some fresh gluten free grilled chicken. There was a small area at the buffet labeled gluten-free, but it was only one small shelf of corn bread (yummy) and crackers. The shelf underneath it had glutinous items, and it wasn't 100% clear that these weren't also gluten-free, so be careful! I did not get sick the whole week we were there!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Naples Flatbread
10801 Corkscrew Road
Estero, FL 33928


1.0 Palms
1.0 Palms
Not GF friendly

Reviewer: Csaceliacs from The Celiac Sprue Association, with chapters throughout the United States, WY
Reviewed on Mar 07, 2014

Concerned about gluten cross-contamination. My daughter's symptoms that evening and the next day indicated that she was exposed to gluten. Service was just OK. Food was OK, not great. My family will not return.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Pizza Ranch
2184 2nd Avenue West
Dickinson, ND 58601


4.5 Palms
4.5 Palms
Gluten free dining in Dickinson, North Dakota

Reviewer: Csaceliacs from The Celiac Sprue Association, with chapters throughout the United States, WY
Reviewed on Oct 30, 2013

They had gluten free pizza and made them very carefully so they were not contaminated.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Twigs Tavern and Grille
401 6th Street Southwest
Rochester, MN 55902


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Gluten Free heaven a restaurant in Rochester, Minnesota

Reviewer: Csaceliacs from The Celiac Sprue Association, with chapters throughout the United States, WY
Reviewed on May 22, 2013

I've been trying to eat out Gluten Free comfortably for over 3 yrs. now in Minnesota, and Twigs Bar and Grill in Rochester is by far the best. One of the owners is a diagnosed Celiac and knows all about cross-contamination issues. They have a separate Gluten Free menu AND a separate area in the kitchen for GF cooking only. The staff always seems very aware and knowledgable when taking Gluten Free orders. I almost cried when I looked at the Gluten Free menu (all especially for me) appetizers, salads & dressings, dinners, sandwiches, FRENCH FRIES, desserts and even Gluten Free beer. Please go to their website and just try not to drool. I think they get their Gluten Free breads/buns from a local bakery & they're special ( better than all those GF breads I've been trying). We've been there several times now sampling many items and my wife (not GF) and I both felt everything was properly prepared and delicious. Great ambiance also. And all thanks to my Mayo Clinic Celiac doctor, when told we were looking for a place I could safely eat, who just smiled and said "Try Twigs".

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Giorgio on Pine
1328 Pine Street
Philadelphia, PA 19107


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Gluten Free Restaurant Find In Philadelphia

Reviewer: Csaceliacs from The Celiac Sprue Association, with chapters throughout the United States, WY
Reviewed on Mar 19, 2013

Fabulous BYO with a gluten free menu in Washington Square West area of Philadelphia. I am not from Phillie, but I visit there frequently. EVERY time I do I make a point to go to Giorgio's with my son, a Phillie resident. They have fabulous food, really tasty gluten free bread, and great desserts too! A must visit if you are GF and in Phillie!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



The Thirsty Koala
35-12 Ditmars Boulevard
Astoria, NY 11105


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Gluten Free at restaurant in Astoria, New York

Reviewer: Csaceliacs from The Celiac Sprue Association, with chapters throughout the United States, WY
Reviewed on Mar 09, 2013

This is a new restaurant in Astoria, NY featuring healthy Australian food with a Greek twist. Chef Kathy is very aware of Gluten Free requirements and her menu has GF designations next to many of the meal selections. Several Non-GF choices can be made GF upon request (e.g., no bun, no soy sauce). It has a relaxed atmosphere and the prices are reasonable. The food is great and it is well worth the trip when visiting NYC--very short cab or subway ride.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Alpenrose
4 East 8th Street
Holland, MI 49423


0.0 Palms
0.0 Palms
AVOID Alpenrose restaurant in Holland, MI -- not gluten free friendly

Reviewer: Csaceliacs from The Celiac Sprue Association, with chapters throughout the United States, WY
Reviewed on Jan 23, 2013

The menu on-line looked great for our special breakfast. Nearly everything on the menu could be Gluten Free including toast, pancakes, muffins, granola, oatmeal, and many egg dishes. Our waitress asked if I had celiac when I asked for a Gluten Free menu. To my affirmative answer she told me "My sister has celiac and when I told her how things are done in our kitchen she said she could never safely eat here." I inquired "Do you have a Gluten Free toaster." Her reply shocked me - "No Gluten Free toaster and no special cutting board or prep area." I spoke with the manager and was told that indeed their Gluten Free prep and cooking did not avoid cross contamination but that they could cut up some fruit on a plate for me. Or I could give them a couple days notice and they could bring something in for me. I emailed the general manager but he did not respond.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Graystone Ale House
3711 Monroe Road
De Pere, WI 54115


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Great restaurant and pub for gluten free dining in DePere, WI

Reviewer: Csaceliacs from Green Bay WI
Reviewed on Dec 08, 2012

If you are hungry for a gluten free burger and fries, or a sandwich and a gluten free beer, head here! The gluten free pizza is great too and you can choose your toppings. The pizza crust is on it's own pan so the pizza is not cross contaminated. Any sandwich can be made with gluten free bread or bun. They have a designated frier for the french fries so you can safely order fries without worry. The gluten free chocolate lava cake was out of this world. Outside seating area in the summer. Bar area and you have your choice of booth or table for dining. They also have a large room for rent if you are having a special occasion. Most of staff are college or high school kids but each time I've been there, they are hard working, friendly and familiar with gluten free....impressive. It is a popular spot but they will give you a buzzer to let you know when your table is ready if it's busy and you want to hang out at the bar or outside. Caters to all ages...good family place where celiacs won't feel left out.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Urban Frog
163 North Broadway
Green Bay, WI 54303


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Urban Frog restaurant in Green Bay, WI is Celiac friendly

Reviewer: Csaceliacs from The Celiac Sprue Association, with chapters throughout the United States, WY
Reviewed on Dec 08, 2012

Have no fear, ceilacs...this restaurant is very careful about food allergens. They have vegan, vegetarian and gluten free selections. The staff is knowledgeable about celiac disease. When they take your order, they ask if you are very sensitive so staff will take extra care with your food. Staff was able to tell me which gluten free wraps were from a dedicated facility. They make gluten free desserts too! The owner, Chris, goes out of his way to provide safe food for celiacs.

Was this review helpful to you?  
1 out of 1 found this review helpful



Indulge Wine Bar and Bistro
1601 Mayberry Drive
Highlands Ranch, CO 80129


4.5 Palms
4.5 Palms
Restaurant in Colorado with excellent gluten free menu

Reviewer: Csaceliacs from The Celiac Sprue Association, with chapters throughout the United States, WY
Reviewed on Oct 06, 2012

This restaurant has an excellent gluten free menu. The chef, JR, came to my table to explain his knowledge of gluten free cooking and how he avoids cross contact. He has a personal connection with Celiac Disease and understands our needs. I felt safe AND the food was great.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Chung Sing
3147 U.S. 9
Old Bridge Township, NJ 08857


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Chinese Restaurant in Old Bridge Township, NJ with gluten free options

Reviewer: Csaceliacs from The Celiac Sprue Association, with chapters throughout the United States, WY, USA
Reviewed on Jul 24, 2012

I have patronized this restaurant for many years. The luncheon take out is especially a good buy.

Was this review helpful to you?  
1 out of 1 found this review helpful



Wasabi House
392 Route 34
Matawan, NJ 07747


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Japanese and Sushi restaurant with gluten free options in Matawan, NJ

Reviewer: Csaceliacs from The Celiac Sprue Association, with chapters throughout the United States, WY, USA
Reviewed on Jul 24, 2012

I am a long time patron and recommend this restaurant and its gluten free options.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Peter`s Fishery
921 Route 34
Matawan, NJ 07747


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Restaurant and store in Matawan, NJ with gluten free food

Reviewer: Csaceliacs from The Celiac Sprue Association, with chapters throughout the United States, WY, USA
Reviewed on Jul 24, 2012

Ask for Gluten-Free food. Local free delivery, Gluten Free Crab cakes are really special! I have been patronizing for years.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Thai Shangri-LA
2590 County Road 516
Old Bridge Township, NJ 08857


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Great gluten free Thai food at restaurant in Old Bridge, New Jersey

Reviewer: Csaceliacs from The Celiac Sprue Association, with chapters throughout the United States, WY, USA
Reviewed on Jul 24, 2012

Free delivery locally. Gluten Free Spring rolls are really special. I have been patronizing this restaurant since they opened.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Spitfire Bar and Grill
1660 13th Avenue East
West Fargo, ND 58078


4.5 Palms
4.5 Palms
Gluten free meals at restaurant in West Fargo, North Dakota

Reviewer: Csaceliacs from The Celiac Sprue Association, with chapters throughout the United States, WY
Reviewed on Jul 01, 2012

Had a very good meal and wait staff know what gluten is.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Godfather's Pizza
1300 9th Avenue Southeast
Watertown, SD 57201


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Gluten free pizza at restaurant in Watertown, South Dakota

Reviewer: Csaceliacs from The Celiac Sprue Association, with chapters throughout the United States, WY
Reviewed on Jul 01, 2012

Very good gluten free pizza and told me they were cooking it on a separate place so that I had to wait longer for it, which was OK.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Brunno's Pizza
910 East Front Avenue
Bismarck, ND 58504


4.5 Palms
4.5 Palms
Gluten free pizza in Bismarck, North Dakota

Reviewer: Csaceliacs from The Celiac Sprue Association, with chapters throughout the United States, WY
Reviewed on Jul 01, 2012

A very good gluten free pizza. In fact, I ate the whole thing myself!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



The Ground Round
526 South 3rd Street
Bismarck, ND 58504


4.5 Palms
4.5 Palms
Gluten free menu at restaurant in Bismarck, North Dakota

Reviewer: Csaceliacs from The Celiac Sprue Association, with chapters throughout the United States, WY
Reviewed on Jul 01, 2012

Very good gluten free menu available. They also have a restaurant in Fargo, North Dakota.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Carrabbas
12192 Sunset Hills Road
Reston, VA 20190


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Gluten Free Menu at Italian restaurant in Reston, VA

Reviewer: Csaceliacs from The Celiac Sprue Association, with chapters throughout the United States, WY
Reviewed on Jul 01, 2012

Gluten free menu. Garlic potatoes were excellent, as was the salad with parmesan cheese on top.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



B Good Burgers (Back Bay District)
272 Newbury Street
Boston, MA 02116


4.5 Palms
4.5 Palms
Boston Burger Restaurant that knows gluten free

Reviewer: Csaceliacs from Omaha, NE
Reviewed on May 30, 2012

I had a nice conversation with an understanding worker here who knew exactly which items were gluten free or not, hand walked a delicious gluten free bun down the line, toasted in the oven on foil, and served with a ground turkey patty (the chicken is marinated in soy sauce she told me). The beef burger is also GF and their fries and sweet potato fries are baked! Very good!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Atlantic Fish
761 Boylston Street
Boston, MA 02116


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Boston Restaurant with plenty of gluten free options on menu

Reviewer: Csaceliacs from Omaha, NE
Reviewed on May 30, 2012

Had a wonderful experience dining here. They do not have a gluten free menu but have several common GF suggestions, lots of conversations directly with wait staff, management and the chef. I tried the seafood risotto - delicious - as well as the lobster. All great and had no trouble. They served crudites in lieu of bread and even sent a side dish back because the manager felt it was too close to a bread basket while waiting for the entree.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Godfathers Pizza
12520 Westport Parkway
Omaha, NE


4.0 Palms
4.0 Palms
Pizza Chain with Gluten-Free Pizza and multiple locations in Omaha, Nebraska

Reviewer: Csaceliacs from the Celiac Sprue Association, with chapters throughout the U.S.
Reviewed on Apr 26, 2012

Godfathers gluten free pizza has appropriate handling to ensure there is limited cross contamination. The pizzas are made in a gluten free environment and wrapped and shipped to certain stores with dedicated fridges and baking ovens. One of the safest approaches to gluten free pizza I have seen.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Cheeseburger in Paradise
17304 Davenport Street
Omaha, NE 68118


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Gluten Free Dining at Burger Restaurant Chain in Omaha, NE

Reviewer: Csaceliacs from csaceliacs from the Celiac Sprue Association, with chapters throughout the U.S.
Reviewed on Apr 20, 2012

Cheeseburger does a GREAT job making gluten free dining a safe priority. They have GF silverware, buns, fries and beer! This location averages 100 gluten free buns daily. The manager brings out the gluten free meal, separate from the other menu items. Good food and most precautions seem to be appropriate.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Showing 1 to 23 of 23 reviews
| 1 |