Most Active Reviewers

GFTS—542 Reviews
GREATKitchens—296 Reviews
DC_Celiacs—217 Reviews
Gftraveler—180 Reviews
GlutenFreeTravelSite—97 Reviews
Anonymous—52 Reviews
Chrisj—43 Reviews
BeenToBaliToo—40 Reviews
CelticCeliac—33 Reviews
Julie041092—25 Reviews

Latest 5

England
     Reviewer: GFTS
     April 25, 2015
     Shlurp is a restaurant that...
     Rating:

Italy
     Reviewer: GFTS
     April 25, 2015
     Terracafe in Florence, Italy, has...
     Rating:

Oregon
     Reviewer: GFTS
     April 25, 2015
     Dar Salam is a restaurant...
     Rating:

Ireland
     Reviewer: GFTS
     April 24, 2015
     Cornucopia Wholefood and Vegetarian uses...
     Rating:

Ireland
     Reviewer: GFTS
     April 24, 2015
     Located on Leeson Street in...
     Rating:


Reviews Written by csaceliacs

Celiac Sprue Association

Narrow your search to reviews submitted by a specific CSA Chapter/geographic region:

Celiac Sprue Association Member Reviews are submitted in a cooperative program with GlutenFreeTravelSite to serve the entire Celiac community.




Showing 1 to 5 of 24 reviews
| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5     Next | —View All


Caribbean
Good Gluten Free Experience at Now Larimar resort in Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Review Posted: Mar 04, 2015
Now Larimar
Review Type: Resort
Location: Av Alemania S/N El Cortecito, Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone: 1-809-221-4646
Website: http://www.nowresorts.com/larimar/
Contact: None
Trip Type: Family meal/vacation
Travel Dates: August 2014
Now Larimar Map It

Learn this phrase before you go: "I am allergic to wheat" = "Tengo alergia al trigo." The resort has nine different restaurants and all (except the French restaurant, I think) have menus with a gluten-free logo on the dishes that are gluten-free. The staff doesn't speak much English, so most of them didn't understand when I told them I need a gluten-free meal. As long as I ordered a menu item marked gluten-free, I was fine. I would avoid the teppanyaki tables at the Spice restaurant (which require reservations), as you will get some dried up chicken and plain rice with no sauce. I left there hungry. Our favorite restaurant was Tamarindo, the Mexican restaurant, which serves endless margaritas, so be careful! The Capers restaurant (Italian) was good. The Castaways grill for lunch was good (outdoor grilled chicken, pork and hamburgers. At the Windows buffet, I asked one of the waiters about gluten-free foods and he went back and made me some fresh gluten free grilled chicken. There was a small area at the buffet labeled gluten-free, but it was only one small shelf of corn bread (yummy) and crackers. The shelf underneath it had glutinous items, and it wasn't 100% clear that these weren't also gluten-free, so be careful! I did not get sick the whole week we were there!

 

Florida
Not GF friendly
Review Posted: Mar 07, 2014
Naples Flatbread
Review Type: Restaurant
Location: 10801 Corkscrew Road, Suite #520, Estero, FL 33928
Phone: 239-495-3528
Website: http://www.naplesflatbread.com
Contact:
Trip Type: Family meal/vacation
Travel Dates: 2014 March
Naples Flatbread Map It

Concerned about gluten cross-contamination. My daughter's symptoms that evening and the next day indicated that she was exposed to gluten. Service was just OK. Food was OK, not great. My family will not return.

 

North Dakota
Gluten free dining in Dickinson, North Dakota
Review Posted: Oct 30, 2013
Pizza Ranch
Review Type: Restaurant
Location: 2184 2nd Ave W, Dickinson, ND 58601
Phone: 701-483-0008
Website: http://www.pizzaranch.com
Contact:
Trip Type: Family meal/vacation
Travel Dates: August 2013
Pizza Ranch Map It

They had gluten free pizza and made them very carefully so they were not contaminated.

 

Pennsylvania
Murrysville, Pennsylvania gluten free store, restaurant and bakery
Review Posted: Jun 02, 2013
Gluten Free Zone
Review Type: Other
Location: 4430 William Penn Hwy, Murrysville, PA 15668
Phone: 724-327-5000
Website: http://www.yourglutenfreehealth.com
Contact:
Trip Type: Family meal/vacation
Travel Dates: May 2013
Gluten Free Zone Map It

This is a truly unique gluten free experience. Everything in this place is gluten free! We enjoyed hot baked pizza with all the toppings and hoagies like the olden days. Leave room for the many fresh baked bakery items including pineapple upside down cakes, donuts, and a great selection of fresh cookies. If you need to pick up some needed gluten free groceries...they have that too!

 

Minnesota
Gluten Free heaven a restaurant in Rochester, Minnesota
Review Posted: May 22, 2013
Twigs Tavern and Grille
Review Type: Restaurant
Location: 401 6th Street SW, Rochester, MN 55902
Phone: 507-288-0206
Website: http://twigstavernandgrille.com
Contact:
Trip Type: Adults only meal/vacation
Travel Dates: May 2013
Twigs Tavern and Grille Map It

I've been trying to eat out Gluten Free comfortably for over 3 yrs. now in Minnesota, and Twigs Bar and Grill in Rochester is by far the best. One of the owners is a diagnosed Celiac and knows all about cross-contamination issues. They have a separate Gluten Free menu AND a separate area in the kitchen for GF cooking only. The staff always seems very aware and knowledgable when taking Gluten Free orders. I almost cried when I looked at the Gluten Free menu (all especially for me) appetizers, salads & dressings, dinners, sandwiches, FRENCH FRIES, desserts and even Gluten Free beer. Please go to their website and just try not to drool. I think they get their Gluten Free breads/buns from a local bakery & they're special ( better than all those GF breads I've been trying). We've been there several times now sampling many items and my wife (not GF) and I both felt everything was properly prepared and delicious. Great ambiance also. And all thanks to my Mayo Clinic Celiac doctor, when told we were looking for a place I could safely eat, who just smiled and said "Try Twigs".

 

Showing 1 to 5 of 24 reviews
| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5     Next | —View All


About GlutenFreeTravelSite

Karen Broussard, Founder and President of GlutenFreeTravelSite

Karen Broussard is the Founder and President of GlutenFreeTravelSite. Karen launched GlutenFreeTravelSite in 2008 after her son was diagnosed with Celiac Disease at a very young age. She and her family found that dining out and traveling could be a real challenge for people following gluten free diets, and she wanted to provide a place where the gluten free community could go to share their experiences first-hand with others.

In addition to heading up GlutenFreeTravelSite, the DINE GLUTEN FREE Mobile App, and the Gluten Free Travel Blog Karen is an Associate Editor of Simply Gluten Free Magazine and volunteers each summer at Camp Celiac in Rhode Island. A graduate of Georgetown University with a degree and career in Marketing, Karen resides with her husband and two sons in the Washington, DC area.

Trending Content from GlutenFreeTravelsite.com