Reviews Written by MLK:  



Showing 1 to 14 of 14 reviews
| 1 |


Serantes III
75 Mazarredo Zumarkalea
Bilbo, 48009
Spain

4.0 Palms
4.0 Palms
GF-friendly tapas bar in Bilbao, Spain

Reviewer: MLK from Boston, MA (USA)
Reviewed on Jan 08, 2015

Tapas bar, located on the street to the right as you emerge from the Hotel Miro--diagonally across the street from the famous Guggenheim Museum. This tapas bar is unassuming, and does not have a gluten free menu. However, the wait-staff was knowledgeable, and I was comfortably able to order gluten free tapas and related dishes on several occasions. Once the waiter brought bread to the table that we had not ordered; it looked so incredibly delicious that I was skeptical about it being gluten free. The waiter brought me the package so I could read the ingredients and markings, and it was, indeed, gluten free. Exceptional; a little gem.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Can Culleretes
5 Carrer d'en Quintana
Barcelona, 08002
Spain

5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Gluten Free friendly restaurant in Barcelona

Reviewer: MLK
Reviewed on Jan 08, 2015

This is a family-owned restaurant in business since 1786, a bit off the beaten path, and offers gluten-free dining. The owner and wait-staff are knowledgeable and solicitous, and the selection of gluten free dishes very good. I had a wonderful stewed chicken preparation, among others, and they offer substantial seafood dishes. Portions are huge for the fixed-price meal; on one occasion I was served the biggest plate of sauteed spinach (as the first course) that I have ever seen! In all, service and food were excellent; it was usually very crowded--a testament to both. We were fortunate to find it, and I highly recommend it for gluten free travelers to Barcelona.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



El Albatros
5 Done Bikendi Kalea
Bilbo, 48001
Spain

5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Restaurant with gluten free options in Bilbao, Spain

Reviewer: MLK from Boston, MA (USA)
Reviewed on Jan 08, 2015

This restaurant offers a gluten-free menu, and the wait-staff is very solicitous and concerned. There was not a big selection of dishes (but there never is a big selection for the big afternoon fixed-price meal--gluten free or otherwise), but the food was very good. It is located on a back street away from the tourist section, and was always full of Bilboa businessmen and businesswomen for the afternoon meal. I consider it great for gluten free dining.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Larruzz
24 Uribitarte Kalea
Bilbo, 48001
Spain

5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Restaurant with gluten free menu in Bilbao, Spain

Reviewer: MLK from Boston, MA (USA)
Reviewed on Jan 08, 2015

This restaurant offers a gluten-free menu, and the dishes are very good, well prepared, and served under the watchful eye of the wait-staff. The gluten free bread, in particular, was great! The restaurant is in the more touristy district of Bilbao near the river, and does not close between the afternoon "comida" meal and the late "cena" dinner--unlike most traditional Spanish restaurants. An excellent option for gluten free travelers.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Sexto Sentido
1 Calle Francisco Díaz
Alcalá de Henares, 28801
Spain

5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Gluten free friendly restaurant in Alcala de Henares (near Madrid)

Reviewer: MLK from Boston, MA (USA)
Reviewed on Jan 08, 2015

This restaurant on a lonely, almost semi-industrial, back street in the university town of Alcala de Henares (short commuter rail ride east of Madrid) is a wonderful little gem! Their menu is not extensive, but the gluten free items are marked, and the waiter the day I ate there was extremely helpful, solicitous, and knowledgeable. The gluten-free hamburger was juicy and on a delicious gluten free roll, along with tasty garnishes and sides. My vegetarian eating companion had a comparably wonderful vegetarian pasta dish. This little place was a big highlight of our day in this little historic town, and I consider it a great choice for gluten free dining.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



McDonald's
52 Calle Gran Vía
Madrid, 28013
Spain

4.0 Palms
4.0 Palms
Gluten free options at fast-food chain in Madrid

Reviewer: MLK from Boston, MA (USA)
Reviewed on Jan 08, 2015

Yes, McDonald's! Since 2011 they have offered gluten-free products at their locations in Spain. There is a prominent announcement about this on their Spanish web site. Fries are fries, and they are fine if you like McDonald's fries (from a dedicated fryer, as in the US), but the gluten-free cheeseburger on the gluten free bun was very dry and tough, as was the bun. Also, the wait-staff at the location I visited was not sure about their gluten free offerings and had to ask questions of the cooks, so it made me a little uncomfortable. I did not have the opportunity to try any other gluten free products at any McDonald's. However, the Gran Via location (and maybe others) in Madrid is open 24 hours, so you can be sure of never going totally hungry in Madrid!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Nebraska
55 Calle Gran Vía
Madrid, 28013
Spain

3.0 Palms
3.0 Palms
Cafeteria chain in Madrid with a gluten free menu

Reviewer: MLK from Boston, MA (USA)
Reviewed on Jan 08, 2015

This is a cafeteria chain with several locations in Madrid. They have a separate gluten-free menu, but the food on the 2 occasions (at 2 separate locations) I ate there was not good--dry and unappetizing, very salty. The wait-staff was not very courteous or accommodating in either location, although I got gluten free meals. Since they are open throughout the day, it is a good option in an absolute emergency. My rating of 3 is because of the service and atmosphere, although I believe they adhere to safe gluten free food preparation and might merit more.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



VIPS
23 Calle de Alcalá
Madrid, 28014
Spain

4.0 Palms
4.0 Palms
Cafeteria chain in Madrid offering a gluten free menu

Reviewer: MLK
Reviewed on Jan 08, 2015

This is a cafeteria chain that is part of the Grupo VIPS (which includes Ginos, a chain of more traditional restaurants also offering a gluten-free menu, and which I reviewed separately). There are several VIPS in Madrid, sometimes right next door to their "sibling" Ginos. Like the wait-staff at Ginos, the VIPS staff are also very strict. They offer a gluten free menu, adequate but not extensive. The food I ordered one day was not particularly tasty--an overcooked gluten free hamburger that was served on a very dry gluten free roll--and the cook forgot to put the veggie garnishes that were indicated on the menu. I asked about this, and the waiter brought me a separate little plate later, I felt almost begrudgingly. Altogether it was unappealing, although comfortably gluten free. VIPS are open throughout the day, so they are a good option if you've missed the big afternoon "comida" meal and you are too hungry to wait for the late "cena" dinner at a traditional restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Rodilla
13 Plaza Puerta del Sol
Madrid, 28013
Spain

5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Gluten free friendly sandwich shop chain in Madrid

Reviewer: MLK from Boston, MA (USA)
Reviewed on Jan 08, 2015

This sandwich-shop chain is ubiquitous in Madrid and surrounding areas, akin to, for instance, Subway in the US. They show a separate list of their 3 gluten-free sandwiches in a plexi-glass stand on the counter where orders are placed--a limited selection, but perfectly fine for a sandwich shop. Once you place your gluten free order, the counter person grabs a pre-made paper-wrapped sandwich, pops it in the microwave, and serves it on a plate-- still wrapped for the customer to unwrap. There are two layers of paper wrap to deal with for protection from cross-contamination, so this gave me a great deal of confidence. The sandwiches are not very filling, but the shops are open throughout the day (unlike most traditional Spanish restaurants). They are located in almost every plaza, in train & bus stations, in food courts, near metro stations, all over the city and outskirts (maybe in other Spanish cities, too). It is an excellent option for a gluten free eating emergency, or an off-hours snack!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Ginos Ristorante
95 Calle de Bravo Murillo
Madrid, 28003
Spain

5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Restaurant chain with gluten free menu in Madrid

Reviewer: MLK from Boston, MA (USA)
Reviewed on Jan 08, 2015

There are several Ginos in Madrid--the chain is part of the Grupo VIPS (VIPS is a restaurant/cafeteria chain--I reviewed it separately). All Ginos offer the identical gluten-free menu at the various locations, and the wait-staff is very strict about it. The location I most frequented in my recent travels (on Calle Bravo Murillo near the Cuatro Caminos metro station) has a separate oven for their pizza. I learned this on one occasion because the waiter told me that the kitchen staff had failed to turn the oven on at the time I ordered, and it took forever to heat up. My dining companions had finished their meal before my pizza was ready; then, unfortunately, the pizza was undercooked, as well. Their good intention & best practice resulted, in this case, in a disappointing (albeit gluten free) dining experience! Ginos offers moderately priced food, and is a basically very reliable restaurant choice for gluten free dining. Other Ginos are the Calle Arenal and the Calle de Alcalá, both easy walking distance from the Puerta del Sol, and there are several more in the city and outskirts.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



My Veg
28 Calle de Valverde
Madrid, 28004
Spain

5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Restaurant with gluten free choices in Madrid

Reviewer: MLK from Boston, MA (USA)
Reviewed on Jan 08, 2015

This restaurant's regular menu is annotated for gluten-free offerings, and the maître d' had a full discussion with me about the preparations before we even sat down at a table. While the food was good (I ordered a nicely prepared fish plate), there are not many dishes to choose from. The wait-staff is very careful and knowledgeable. They serve gluten-free bread. I consider this restaurant very reliable for gluten-free dining.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Yerbabuena
3 Calle de Bordadores
Madrid, 28013
Spain

5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Restaurant with gluten free options in Madrid

Reviewer: MLK from Boston, MA (USA)
Reviewed on Jan 08, 2015

The regular menu is annotated "apto para celiacos" (suitable for people with celiac disease), and there are many, many gluten free options to choose from. The wait-staff is very helpful, and the food abundant. My gluten-free dish varied in quality/taste from one visit to the next, however (and I ordered the same plate both times)--from absolutely delicious and beautifully presented to truly dull and unappetizing. Perhaps it was a different cook each time. Despite the variation in food quality, I consider this restaurant a reliable choice for gluten-free dining. I rate it a 5 for food safety, but more like a 4 for inconsistency in quality/taste of the food. This restaurant is within walking distance of the Puerta del Sol, the Plaza Mayor, and the Opera metro station.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Emma y Julia
19 Calle Cava Baja
Madrid, 28005
Spain

5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Excellent restaurant with gluten free menu in Madrid

Reviewer: MLK from Boston, MA (USA)
Reviewed on Jan 08, 2015

This restaurant bills itself as a pizzeria, but it has a full selection of Italian dishes, and a separate gluten-free menu. The owner/manager and wait-staff are extremely careful. I ate there on 2 occasions, and the gluten free food was excellent--the best in my recent trip experience. It is located near the La Latina metro station, and within walking distance of the Plaza Mayor. An excellent choice for both gluten free food safety and delicious food.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Da Nicola Orense
4 Calle de Orense
Madrid, 28020
Spain

5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Gluten Free friendly restaurant on Calle Orense in Madrid

Reviewer: MLK from Boston, MA (USA)
Reviewed on Jan 08, 2015

Located near the Nuevos Ministerios metro station, this restaurant offers a gluten-free menu with an ample selection, including pasta as well as meat and fish dishes. The waiters & kitchen workers, as well as the maître d', are extremely helpful and careful; they take gluten free dining very seriously. They serve gluten-free bread, unlike many eateries. I ate at this restaurant several times in Sept 2014; I always loved the food and felt comfortable with the personal attention and care paid to my gluten free requirement. An excellent choice for gluten-free dining. There is another Da Nicola restaurant (Da Nicola Gran Via) located elsewhere in Madrid -- on the Plaza de los Mostenses.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Showing 1 to 14 of 14 reviews
| 1 |