Reviews Written by Glutenfreegal:  



Showing 1 to 12 of 12 reviews
| 1 |


Inn on Randolph
411 Randolph Street
Napa, CA 94559


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
A Fabulous Gluten Free Inn - Napa

Reviewer: Glutenfreegal from San Francisco, CA
Reviewed on Nov 20, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at the Inn on Randolph a few weeks ago, located in beautiful downtown Napa. I'd heard of the Inn earlier in the year while attending a gluten free expo and had been dying to stay and try it out, given that it's so close to home, yet just far enough away to feel like a mini-vacation!

As a guest with celiac disease, I can say that staying at the Inn was an amazing experience and such a relief given that this B&B is entirely gluten free, alleviating any and all concerns of cross contamination from the Inn's beautiful kitchen.

Our guest cottage, the Franklin, was gorgeous with a romantic fireplace, plush linens and super cozy atmosphere. The cottage also has a private patio with a bistro set - the perfect setting for a lazy morning of reading and enjoying an organic cup of tea...along with a delicious gluten free chocolate chip cookie!

Owners Karen and Dan, along with their staff, are extremely accommodating and genuine, making the stay even more special and comfortable. They offered great wine tasting tips and even booked a tasting for us at one of their favorite wineries. I particularly enjoyed spending time in their 100% gluten free kitchen discussing how Karen and her staff ensure that all guests with celiac disease or gluten intolerance are treated to delicious, SAFE, gluten free food choices. One of the other treats I discovered in our room was the organic, gluten free bath products, (other than the body lotion) by EO.

The Inn also offers weekend-long, terrific gluten free cooking and baking classes taught by San Francisco allergy-free baker, Jeffery Larsen. So after the first weekend of staying at the Inn, I was kindly invited back to attend the holiday baking class the following weekend. I attended one full day of baking, but I would strongly recommend signing up for an entire weekend of baking and wonderful camaraderie that forms between all of the guests sharing their stories and bonding over good food and creativity. The next offering is the pasta making class, taking place in January - it's a MUST ATTEND for anyone who is gluten free and wants to learn the art of making pasta at home!!

Be sure to book WAY in advance so you don't miss a chance to stay at this historic, beautiful Inn in the heart of downtown Napa and just a short distance from the famous foodie-haven, the Oxbow Public Market. This great marketplace houses several gluten-free restaurants and a bakery, including C-Casa and Cate & Co. And definitely do yourself a favor by not leaving the Inn until you've had their wonderful gluten free breakfast and bowl of their delicious, house-made granola!

Between the lovely accommodations, the wonderful setting and close proximity to some of the world's best restaurants and wineries, this is a weekend getaway that can't be missed. I know I'll be heading back as soon as I can get a reservation!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Daphne's
112 Draycott Avenue
London, SW3 3AE
United Kingdom

5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Elegant Gluten Free Dining in the Heart of London

Reviewer: Glutenfreegal from San Mateo, CA
Reviewed on Feb 28, 2013

If you find yourself in London and want to "step up your dining game" a bit, then a night out at Daphne's would definitely be a wonderful -- and might I add -- HIP choice. Located in Brompton Cross between Chelsea and South Kensington, one of the most sophisticated and elegant parts of London, it is an ideal spot for lunch after shopping in nearby Knightsbridge or King's Road. It's also great for a special night out. The Natural Museum, Science Museum, V&A, Royal Albert Hall, Cadogan Hall and Royal Court are also just around the corner.

We had the great fortune of spending New Year's Eve dining at Daphne's, and it was absolutely exciting and wonderful. To start, the atmosphere was terrific that night, and everyone was well dressed, and the room was filled with everyone from ex-pats, Russian diplomats, wealthy Italians, well-to-do Brits and yes, a few Americans (we snuck in!).

What I enjoyed most about dining at Daphne's was the company and the wait staff. This restaurant, especially on NYE, had the potential to be very "stuffy," given that it's one of London's finest. Yet our staff was friendly and definitely had a sense of humor over a certain wine bottle opener, which our table can attest to.

All the staff were well versed in helping find safe gluten free options, even on a special holiday eve that's always certain to cause chaos in the kitchen. I started with a lovely endive, pear, Gorgonzola salad that was beautiful and flavorful. For my entrée choice I had the option of fresh fish or Risotto. Easy -- Risotto, per favore! After living in Italy, risotto is truly one of my favorite dishes to eat and I knew that Daphne's would get it right. It was delicate, creamy and filled with beautiful mushrooms and just the right amount of cheese. Wine was flowing, the atmosphere was stylish, and it was good to be in London that night. It was also really good to order dessert that night, which for me was an amazing Panna Cotta with fresh pomegranate seeds and juice perfectly drizzled over the oval shaped delight. I'm drooling right now just remembering what it tasted like.

My advice, should you find yourself in London and are looking to splurge for a lovely night out, book a reservation at Daphne's and enjoy every moment of your dining experience.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Yalla Yalla Beirut Street Food
1 Green's Court
London, W1F 0HA
United Kingdom

4.5 Palms
4.5 Palms
Beirut Street Food -- restaurant with gluten free options in London

Reviewer: Glutenfreegal from San Mateo, CA
Reviewed on Feb 28, 2013

The day we discovered Yalla Yalla, my best pal William and I were wandering through London's Soho district having a great time. When we both realized that we were suddenly "starving," we began searching for the perfect lunch spot that had to be gluten free, of course. I was definitely in the mood for more "ethnic food" -- and something I wouldn't normally eat at home. As we turned a corner and continued walking down this tiny little cobblestone street, Yalla Yalla stopped me in my tracks. It was packed with what appeared to be local business people (usually a good sign), and the menu looked as if I could navigate it safely. Given that I'm seriously a hummus addict, it quickly became clear that we'd found our place! The tiny, and I mean tiny, restaurant was filled with diners of all dialects and the service was really great. Our waitress was fully versed in all things gluten free explaining their menu in detail, guiding me through exactly what I could eat safely and with abundance. My friend and I were elated...I was, for the obvious Celiac reasons, and he was knowing that I would survive another meal on his watch! We started with their amazing Hommos (proper spelling!), Fattoush and olives -- all AMAZINGLY fresh and loaded with vibrant, fresh flavors that we couldn't get enough of. Then we ordered a main course (to share, thank goodness...the portions are plentiful) of the Mixed Grill consisting a chicken skewer, lamb and kafta with grilled tomato, sumac, parsley and red pepper salad. The plate was not only beautiful to look at but tasted absolutely delicious. Throughout our entire lunch I realized how relaxed I was and trusting of the staff at Yalla Yalla to get my meal correct. I also had a through conversation with our waitress who was from Ireland. I was so curious as to why and how Yalla Yall and their staff were so astute to gluten free food and safety in their kitchen. She proceeded to explain that they have so many customers who are either Coeliacs (UK spelling) or gluten intolerant so they crafted items on their menus to accommodate those of us eating gluten free. We also discussed just how aware the majority of restaurants in London truly are about offering safe gluten free options on their menus. Thank God! Dining at Yalla Yalla was a delight and a restaurant I will absolutely return to. They also offer a nice wine selection, which we partook of. It's funny, but it always feels much more "normal" to have a glass of wine with lunch when in Europe vs. in the States -- we need to modify that! Yalla Yalla is definitely worth finding and but just be prepared to wait for a table given the restaurant's limited space...but trust me, it's well worth the wait!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Maggie Jones's
6 Old Court Place
London, W8 4PL
United Kingdom

5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Gluten Free in Jolly Ole' London, England

Reviewer: Glutenfreegal from San Mateo, CA
Reviewed on Feb 27, 2013

When your best friend calls to invite you to meet him and his partner in London, because they will be there on vacation to ring in the New Year, it's pretty tough (and foolish) to say no! So of course, for a variety of exciting reasons, I, the lucky recipient of that call, said...Yes! I've wanted to visit London again for over a decade and this trip was going to offer me the opportunity to not only see my best friend (who presently resides in Australia) and finally meet his lovely partner, but also stay with friends who are London natives and, therefore, see the city from a much more "local perspective," which is the way I always love to travel. My only slight hesitation was in thinking, "What would I eat safely in London, and is there a high-level of awareness around dining out gluten free?" You know the old clichés about dining in the UK...boiled potatoes, fried food and all bland.

Let's just say that I certainly didn't arrive in London with that mindset, as I had used this site (GlutenFreeTravelSite) to research some safe restaurants in London, but I did have some slight reservations about traveling and NOT getting gluten poisoned while overseas. Thankfully, due to the research of my amazing local friends who found (and stocked their fridges with) all kinds of GF products being sold in local markets, eating at "home" proved very easy. The real joy however, came in discovering just how many fantastic restaurants there are throughout London offering wonderful Gluten Free options AND many with GF-specific menus!

One of those really special and unique restaurants is the well-known Maggie Jones's...well known to Londoners, that is, not to us Californians! Tucked away just off Kensington Church Street in West London, stepping into Maggie Jones's is like stepping into the English countryside. It's casual, yet elegant décor evokes a farmhouse kitchen atmosphere with cozy tables, both upstairs and down, and huge wooden tables with candles dripping wax down the sides of old wine bottles which serve as candelabras.

From the minute I spoke with the energetic maître d' my fears of eating gluten free and safely were extinguished, as this young man was completely versed and aware of everything Gluten Free on their menu. He even explained which specials I could safely eat, which could be modified, and those that were not possible to prepare sans gluten. I was instantly at ease, allowing me to fully embrace such a memorable and delicious dining experience. Of course, the bottle of Rose that we were drinking was also helpful, making our upstairs cozy table and setting even more delightful. And what about the food, you may ask? I would have been satisfied simply sitting in Maggie Jones's sipping wine all afternoon, given its terrific energy, but I must admit that the food...the English food that is...was wonderful with its plentiful servings, farm-fresh options, and simplicity.

My lunch consisted of a starter plate of avocado on a fresh bed of lettuce topped with a deliciously light and flavorful crab salad. This was followed by my entrée of gorgeous poached salmon, peas and ham, and mashed potatoes. I was even brought a small bowl of hollandaise sauce for my salmon that was divine and completely gluten free. There were also a few dessert options available, but given how full I was, I reluctantly passed on the crème brûlée. Looking back, that's a choice I won't make again!

The other really smart and surprising thing about Maggie Jones's is how affordable it is; especially given it's location in Kensington.

And if you're still not convinced and looking for more reason to hop across the Pond to eat at this notable restaurant, here's a bit of history on Maggie Jones's according to Frommer's Guide:

"This whimsical and staunchly English restaurant established in 1963 is a long time favourite because of its good food and its association with Princess Margaret (a long ago frequent client after whom the restaurant was named)."

The next time you find yourself in London just remember that Maggie Jones's simply cannot be missed. It's truly now one of my favorite restaurants I've dined in and I'll definitely be going back.

Cheers!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Lone Eagle Grill - Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort
111 Country Club Drive
Incline Village, NV 89451


4.5 Palms
4.5 Palms
A Bit of Gluten-Free Heaven in Lake Tahoe, Nevada

Reviewer: Glutenfreegal from San Francisco/Bay Area
Reviewed on Jun 12, 2012

As you all might have heard, last month the Hyatt Hotels and Resorts ( http://www.marketwatch.com/story/hyatt-introduces-food-thoughtfully-sourced-carefully-served-2012-05-09 ) announced 100 new gluten-free recipes on their various menus for GF guests and diners! I've always had good luck with the Hyatt's wonderful Lone Eagle Grille located on the gorgeous beach at Incline Village in Lake Tahoe, NV...and last night's meal was no exception. The wait staff and chefs over the years have been very accommodating and careful when I've placed my orders, always taking the time to answer my questions and address concerns. WARNING...for Lone Eagle Grille "newbies" OR seasoned guests it's very easy to become "lulled" by the exceptional view of the Lake from the restaurant's shore-side patio, but nevertheless, inquiring with your server and hostess is ALWAYS advised! Though the month of June can be quite chilly at Lake Tahoe, my dear friend and I lucked out last night with a perfect evening, meaning...no wind and temps in the low 70's - nice! As the sun slowly began to set, however, the awesome patio fire-pit that we were lucky enough to snag adirondak chairs next to, definitely came in handy. We ordered Mojitos (yum) and carefully chose two large appetizers...a wonderful jumbo grilled prawns with feta fondue and artichokes, and the artisan cheese plate. Our server made sure to alert the chef of my severe gluten intolerance, given that I'm a Celiac, and modified the prawns plate omitting the "fried artichoke" for simply marinated. It was delicious and I felt reassured and safe the entire time I was enjoying our fantastic view and equally great meal. In addition, I always carry my own crackers along for the ride, never assuming a restaurant (even of this caliber) will offer gluten-free bread. Just to note...they do not offer GF bread at the Lone Eagle Grille, so come prepared...who wants to eat an artisan cheese plate without some bread or crackers to accompany the creamy Brie?! Overall, this is not only a terrific place to vacation but a jewel of a location located on one of the world's most famous and beautiful lakes...The Lone Eagle Grille's menu is diverse, along with a plethora of adult beverage choices. But most importantly, for a Celiac needing a safe and totally gluten free meal served by a staff who is alert and prepared, this is the place to splurge a little and enjoy! And please...don't forget your sunglasses!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Pahu i'a Restaurant in the Four Seasons Hotel
72-100 Kaupulehu Drive
Kailua-Kona, HI 96740


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
True Hawaiian Fine Dining, Gluten-Free

Reviewer: Glutenfreegal from West Coast
Reviewed on Oct 25, 2010

Pahu i`a, Hualalai's fine dining restaurant, offers sweeping ocean views and brilliant island sunsets that provide a magnificent backdrop to the oceanfront dining experience. Having good friends who regularly stay at this hotel and invited us to dine with them at Pahu i'a for my early birthday dinner is always a bonus and a special treat. From the moment we all sat down to our pretty table with the perfect view of the setting sun, our perfectionist-type waiter arrived carrying a gluten-free menu. He was well informed that I was a Celiac and immediately delivered yet another basket of warm GF bread. The menu had been carefully modified from the restaurant's seasonal offerings and gave a wide variety of dining options. My friend and I both ordered a fantastic Hawaiian-style Capirinha that was bursting with flavor. My first plate was the best fresh beet and goat cheese salad with candied pecans I've ever tasted. The flavors were hard to describe and the Island is known for their world-class goat cheese that would make the Greeks a little nervous. My entree was a planked Hawaiian Snapper with Shoyu, Mirin and Sake-marinated, cilantro, red chilis, Wasabi, Pea Shoots...and yes, somehow that was allllll gluten-free. I promise. For dessert my friend insisted that we share the Hamakua vanilla Creme Brulee with toasted macadamia nuts, Cinnamon Malasada and coffee Cream. She said it was to die for, and she was right! Wow. The service was impeccable, as you would expect from a Four Seasons property, and the dining experience was truly special and unique. The next time I'm in Hawai'i I'll definitely have saved up for another wonderful meal at Pahu i'a - it's definitely worth the saving and was truly a fine dining experience in one of the world's most gorgeous settings. Mahalo!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Fairmont Orchid Hotel's Brown's Beach House
1 North Kaniku Drive
Waimea, HI 96743


4.5 Palms
4.5 Palms
Gluten-Free on the Beach in Hawaii

Reviewer: Glutenfreegal from West Coast
Reviewed on Oct 25, 2010

If you haven't eaten at Brown's Beach House while on the Big Island of Hawaii, you are missing out. Not only is the restaurant tucked away onto the gorgeous grounds of the Fairmont Orchid Hotel, but this wonderful outside dining restaurant sits just off from the hotel's beach and of course, all teak tables face the gorgeous sunsets. Brown's is a great restaurant for couples wanting a romantic dinner, or families as well. Its outside seating is very accommodating and the Tiki torches that are alight all around the property are so tropical and set quiet the lovely ambiance. The food is great too - this award winning restaurant offers Hawaii Island-inspired cuisine drawn from simple, pure flavors from locally grown, sustainable agriculture. Of course when you are in Hawai'i it's always great to order fresh fish, but on this evening I went with some of the Island's grass-fed, organic beef that was delicious. I'm not a big fan of red meat, but this perfectly cooked filet was so light and lean and tender that it melted in my mouth. I started with their Waimea baby romaine salad and the waiter was certain to check all seasonings and/or rubs that might be used on the meat and once again, I ate a delicious and safe gluten-free meal. The filet was served with Yukon gold and yam gratin, sauteed spinach, with a Cabernet peppercorn reduction and Shitake mushroom Emulsion. Can you say YUM! This meal was wonderful and Brown's also offers a terrific wine list and great cocktails. It's a must-dine-at location if you are visiting the Kohala Coast.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Mauna Kea Beach Hotel's Manta and Pavilion Wine Bar
62 Mauna Kea Beach Drive
Waimea, HI 96743


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Gluten-Free Birthday on the Big Island of Hawaii

Reviewer: Glutenfreegal from West Coast
Reviewed on Oct 25, 2010

I celebrated a special birthday last month at this gorgeous restaurant, the Manta and Pavilion Wine Bar. The setting of this restaurant above the beach, facing due west, offers some of the best sunsets you can imagine. It also offers a Celiac or gluten-intolerant person a wonderful variety of safe food choices, beginning with the appetizers all the way through dessert. The wait staff was totally educated on gluten-free eating and guided me through my entire meal selection without a hitch. It's always scary for me to put my life and health in the hands of a waiter or chef, but after a thorough conversation with our darling waitress, I knew I was in good hands. Just make sure to ask lots of questions and let the concierge know when you make the reservation that you are gluten-free. Another beautiful basket of warmed gluten-free bread arrived at the table, along with a wonderful tapenade that I could eat. My bowl of squash soup was perfect and I ate every drop in the bowl. My entree was truly memorable and well-suited for a birthday dinner! I ordered the short ribs with a cauliflower coulis and roasted, organic vegetables that were divine. As I savored each and every bite, I kept repeating, "I can't believe this is gluten-free!" Lucky me. In the middle of dinner, the Manta Rays stopped by for a visit. All of us dining on the patio were treated to a show with two Mantas swimming in the Bay, just below under the spotlights - they surely knew they were the main attraction! My birthday dessert was delicious - a beautiful bowl of freshly made macadamia ice cream, fresh berries and whipped cream, along with "Happy Birthday" scrolled around my plate in rich chocolate! Yum I was also treated to a plate of white-chocolate macadamia nuts that were so rich and creamy I had to stop after two. Another portion of the meal to note - The Manta and Pavilion Wine Bar had a wonderful variety of wine to taste by the ounce or glass, as well as some truly delicious Hawaiian cocktails and other adult beverages that are safe for a Celiac - so enjoy! Mahalo!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel's Coast Grille
62 Kauna'Oa Drive
Waimea, HI 96743


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Hotel on Big Island of Hawaii with many restaurants well-versed in Gluten Free

Reviewer: Glutenfreegal from West Coast
Reviewed on Oct 25, 2010

During a recent vacation to the Hapuna Prince Resort on Hawaii’s Big Island, I was very pleased to find that every restaurant within the hotel was well-versed in preparing and serving gluten-free meals that were not only safe, but delicious. I had stayed at this resort four years prior and at that time managed to eat safely, but it was apparent that the wait staff and chefs have definitely been trained and educated even more about gluten-free food preparation. Prior to arriving at the hotel, I had emailed the Concierge and done my research on the hotel's website, reviewing all the menus on-line and deciphering what I though would be safe to order, just to give myself that reassurance and level of awareness vs. just showing up and hoping something would be safe. Not only were the wait staff very aware and friendly, but the chefs at the Coast Grille and at all the other property restaurants have clearly had some training in how to prepare gluten-free meals. I almost wept every time the waiter would bring me a basket of gluten-free bread for dinner. At first, I asked 20 questions and really didn't believe or trust that the bread was safe - but it was! It was a real treat and in all my travels, this was the first time that every meal I ate at the hotel left me feeling sated and safe…and with a variety of food options. The Coast Grille has a lovely menu, serving the freshest of Hawaiian fish and organic, sustainable Island ingredients. I ordered the Mahi Mahi a couple of times, along with the salmon and fresh shrimp. The food preparation was wonderful and the variety of fresh produce and organic ingredients was really delicious. I would strongly recommend this restaurant to any Celiac or gluten-intolerant person. In addition, the restaurant sits on a terrace overlooking the pool and beach and large part of the resort, making for breathtaking sunsets while dining and sipping a Mai Tai!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



4th Street Bistro
3065 West 4th Street
Reno, NV 89523


4.5 Palms
4.5 Palms
Gluten Free Dining at 4th Street Bistro in Reno

Reviewer: Glutenfreegal from Reno, NV
Reviewed on Aug 27, 2010

It had been several years since I had eaten at 4th Street Bistro but going back for brunch was a delight. I had learned through a few friends that one of the owners of the restaurant, Carole, had switched to a gluten-free diet and now had several items on their menu that were GF. Well, they did not disappoint. The highlight was being served a warm basked of gluten-free breads and goodies that were delicious - a bit of Heaven! I had many choices to choose from on their menu and the wait staff was very informative and aware of the fine details involved in eating gluten-free, safely. They also served a plate of rice crackers, with three varieties. My meal was delicious and honestly, it was difficult to even choose what to order, not being used to EVER having a choice! I highly recommend eating at the 4th Street Bistro - the ambiance is darling and the wine and cocktail menu is also very plentiful and tasty! Enjoy!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



La Famiglia Ristorante
180 East 1st Street
Reno, NV 89501


4.5 Palms
4.5 Palms
Dining Gluten Free Italian Style in Reno

Reviewer: Glutenfreegal from Reno, NV
Reviewed on Aug 27, 2010

A few months ago we took my mom to La Famiglia for her birthday dinner - I love their new, beautiful location in downtown Reno, and the bar is really cozy. I have eaten safely at this restaurant many times over the years, but this meal was exceptional and our waiter was very educated and aware of exactly how to prepare a safe meal for me that was 100% gluten-free. There are many safe choices for someone eating sans- gluten...I had ordered the Halibut that was so fresh and delicious. I also dined on a fresh insalata di frutta and for dessert, a custard that was very good. If you dine at La Famiglia, just make sure to alert your waiter at the start of your meal that you will be ordering strictly gluten-free - they are very versed and cooking this way and I felt safe and very satisfied with my meal choice. Buon appetito!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



La Ferme Restaurant
2291 Main Street
Genoa, NV 89411


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
French Country Cuisine

Reviewer: Glutenfreegal from Reno, NV
Reviewed on Aug 25, 2010

La Ferme is a wonderful little jewel nestled in the historic town of Genoa, NV, at the base of the Sierras. The owner, Gilles La Gourge is a family friend and an amazingly talented man. He's French Basque and has created a space that literally feels like stepping onto a gorgeous farm in the Basque Country. The food is magnificent and I've had the pleasure of dining there many times over the years and have always dined gluten-free and safe. He and his chef, Yves, are incredibly aware of gluten-free meal preparation and Gilles usually orders for me! Everything is farm-fresh, literally out of their garden, and organic. The meal presentation and ambiance are like no other and truly, I have never left there with any concerns about gluten poisoning and totally trust them. I highly recommend their signature Coq a Vin - the organic chicken falls off the bone and you've never tasted such a sauce. Just writing this makes me start to drool. Their menu is seasonal and created fresh each and every day. Dining at La Ferme is a rustic treat that will leave you in awe and remind you how REAL food that is loved and cared for should taste like. Tell Gilles that Aimee sent you and I promise he'll take great care of you!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Showing 1 to 12 of 12 reviews
| 1 |