Reviews Written by Erin_Smith:  



Showing 1 to 11 of 11 reviews
| 1 |


Coquette's Bistro & Bakery
321 North Tejon Street
Colorado Springs, CO 80903


5.0 Palms
5.0 PalmsBest sandwich ever! 100% gluten-free restaurant in Colorado Springs, CO Feb 06, 2015
Reviewer: Erin_Smith from New York, NY
This place was amazing. I had the Monte Cristo sandwich and it was probably the best sandwich I ever had! Deep-fried gluten-free bread covered in powdered sugar. Sooo good! My boyfriend had the savory crepe and he said he couldn't even tell it was gluten-free The bakery cases and freezers are full of gluten-free baked goods, breads, rolls, and so much more. It was so tempting to buy one of each. I bought carrot cake, blueberry coffee cake, and bread to go. Everything was delicious. This is a destination restaurant for anyone with celiac disease!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful



Hood River Bagel
13 Oak Street
Hood River, OR 97031


4.5 Palms
4.5 PalmsGluten-free breakfast sandwich at restaurant in Hood River, Oregon Nov 25, 2012
Reviewer: Erin_Smith from New York, NY
Hood River is a quaint little town about 1 hour east of Portland. On an early Sunday morning, I was pleasantly surprised to find Hood River Bagels serving 5 different flavors of gluten-free bagels freshly baked that morning. Since I am a lifelong Celiac, this was the first time I had a breakfast sandwich in a restaurant. I had sausage, egg, and cheese on an everything bagel. It was delicious and made my morning. I also bought a plain bagel and cheese bagel to go. At $1.25 per bagel and about $4.00 for a sandwich, I think this was a great deal. The bagels were really good, the staff was very knowledgeable, and all of the GF bagels were kept in an entirely separate case from the regular bagels. (From the Hood River Bagel website) A Note About Gluten Free Bagels: We make them every Friday morning. Bagels are normally a high-gluten product and ours are no exception. For our Gluten-Free friends, we have developed a recipe with rice flour, quinoa flour, potato starch, almond meal, xanthan gum, sugar, salt, olive oil, yeast, egg whites & water. We store our GF ingredients in sealed bins to minimize atmospheric contact. We also make them in the front of the house where we don't process as many other flour products. The mixer is sanitized, and the dough is kept isolated from gluten-loaded products. The bagels get boiled 1st thing -- before any thing else hits the kettle -- and baked on their own pans by themselves. If you are sensitive to any trace amount of gluten, then you probably don't hang around traditional bagel shops, anyway. If you are elimnating most gluten from your diet, you should give them a try! Fresh on Fridays. frozen if any left over for the week. Questions? Give us a call 541-386-2123 or drop an email hoodriverbagel at gmail dot com.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful



Healthy Creations
502 Springbank Drive
London, N6J 1G8
Canada

4.5 Palms
4.5 Palms100% Gluten-Free Bakery in London, Ontario Jul 20, 2012
Reviewer: Erin_Smith from Astoria, NY, USA
Healthy Creations is a 100% gluten-free bakery in London, Ontario. We loaded up at the bakery buying a loaf of sorghum bread, peanut butter, cranberry lemon, and chocolate chip cookies, blueberry and chocolate chip muffins and a package of wraps. Healthy Creations London is actually the bakery’s second location. The original location is in Windsor, Ontario, which originally opened in 1998 as a made-to-order buisness. Chris Brecka, the founder of the bakery, has a son with Celiac Disease. As I feel my diagnosis saved my life, Chris also felt her son’s diagnosis saved his life. Two years after Chris’s son was diagnosed, so was her youngest daughter. I always feel like the best gluten-free products are baked out of love and Healthy Creations was a true testament to my belief! Both the London and Windsor locations are 100% gluten-free so there is no need to worry about cross-contamination at either bakery. In addition to gluten-free products, Healthy Creations also has some products that are sugar-free, low sugar, nut-free, corn-free, egg-free, yeast-free, and casein-free. Lucky for me I am only gluten-free, so I was able to enjoy everything that we purchased that day. Out of everything I tried, I loved the cranberry lemon cookie the best. I wish I bought more than one. I also really liked the wrap which resembled more of a pita bread than a wrap. Unfortunately, those got crushed in my bag on the way back to New York City so I only enjoyed two full wraps while in Canada. My sister and her kids try to avoid many grains, but the all enjoyed the sorghum bread. Overall, we really enjoyed the Healthy Creations assortment that we picked up that day. We will definitely go back on our next visit to London, ON.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful



Švejk Restaurant U Karla
7 Kremencova
Prague, 110 00
Czechia

5.0 Palms
5.0 PalmsGluten-Free in Prague at Švejk Restaurant U Karla Mar 08, 2012
Reviewer: Erin_Smith from Astoria, NY, USA
Prior to my trip to Prague, I emailed the restaurant to confirm that they were still serving a bezlepková (gluten-free) menu. The owner emailed me back to tell me that they were still serving a gluten-free menu and that his daughter has Celiac Disease. Immediately, this gave me a sense of relief since the owner clearly understood the need for a safe, gluten-free menu. On a recommendation from the waiter, I decided on the gluten-free beef goulash with roasted sausage, onions, homemade gluten free dumplings. I also asked for a side of gluten-free bread and the waiter insisted the dumplings were “enough bread!” I ordered a Celia beer as well. My goulash and dumplings came and I was excited to see a “GLUTEN-FREE” flag right in the middle of my plate! I went back to Švejk Restaurant U Karla my last night in Prague because I really wanted to try the Pork schnitzel in cheese gluten free dough. I was excited that my waiter remembered me and he immediately brought me the gluten-free menu. If you don’t know what schnitzel is, the best way I can describe it is breaded and fried meat. Can you say delicious?! This was the first time I ever had a deep-fried anything in a restaurant and I devoured the dish. Of course, I also washed this down with another one (or two!) gluten-free beers. Seriously, I think this was my favorite dish in Prague. Can you go wrong with deep-fried anything? Make sure you go to the Švejk Restaurant U Karla location. There is more than one Švejk Restaurant in the Czech Republic!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful



Linda’s Dutch Pancakes and Pizza
6D Noord
Noord,
Aruba

5.0 Palms
5.0 PalmsGluten-Free Dutch Pancakes at restaurant in Aruba Mar 08, 2012
Reviewer: Erin_Smith from Astoria, NY, USA
I went for dinner at Linda’s Dutch Pancakes and Pizza twice during my week in Aruba. The restaurant was about a 15-minute walk from the high-rise hotel area in Aruba. Street signs are pretty much non-existent in Aruba so to get there turn onto Palm Beach road with Benihana and Sopranos Bar on the corner. Keep on walking until you pass Kong Fui Supermarket on your right and Valero Gas Station on your left. Linda’s is the first restaurant in a strip of restaurants just past the gas station. When I arrived, I immediately asked the waitress for a gluten-free menu and she eagerly pointed out everything I could eat. The menu was clearly labeled with gluten-free items. I also mentioned that I had read about their gluten-free menu online so she said she would send out Stefan, the manager. Immediately I felt comfortable eating at Linda’s. Whether at home or abroad, this personal connection with the staff makes this gluten-free customer feel at ease. For my first dinner at Linda’s, I decided on a traditional Dutch pancake since I never had one before. There were so many toppings to choose from but I chose ham and Gouda cheese, a traditional Dutch cheese. The pancake came out and it was HUGE. I was starving and determined to eat the whole thing. I finished about 80% of the monster gluten-free pancake, but just could not finish it. The price was reasonable for Aruba, which I found to be VERY expensive for food. For a diet Coke, the gluten-free pancake, and a tip, I spent about $16.00 US (around 28.00 AWG, the Aruban currency). I knew I wanted to check out Linda’s again before I left, so I headed there for my last dinner on Aruba. This time, I debated between pizza or another pancake but opted for the sweet. Hey, I was on vacation and wanted to eat dessert for dinner. Stefan came out and went over all of the fruit toppings to tell me what was fresh or frozen. I thought this was a really nice touch. I decided on a Nutella and banana gluten-free Dutch pancake for this repeat visit. One word for this dinner: DELICIOUS Linda’s Dutch Pancakes and Pizza is open 8am to 10pm every day except Sundays when they are closed. The restaurant was not crowded on either of my visits, but they do take reservations.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful



Na Zlate Krizovatce
16 Za Poricskou branou
Prague, 186 00
Czechia

5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms100% Gluten-Free Restaurant in Prague Sep 27, 2011
Reviewer: Erin_Smith from Astoria, NY, USA
Czech food tends to be very heavy on the gluten, but this restaurant is 100% gluten-free. They even have gluten-free beer on tap. I was pleasantly greeted by head waiter Jarda who immediately introduced me to Chef Martin. I was the only patron in the restaurant at the time so Chef Martin graciously agreed to let me look around the kitchen where I also met Chef Viktor. During this brief tour, Chef Martin explained that everything in the kitchen was gluten-free and that the restaurant worked closely with the Association of Celiac in the Czech Republic, to learn about gluten-free dietary needs. Traditional Czech food is very heavy on flour and bread products, so Chef Martin told me the the goal of this restaurant was to provide delicious, gluten-free, and traditional Czech food at a reasonable price. GO HERE! You will not be disappointed. It is an amazing way to experience the local cuisine with no worries.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful



GustOrganics
519 6th Avenue
New York, NY 10011


5.0 Palms
5.0 PalmsGustorganics: Organic and Gluten-Free Restaurant in New York City! Jan 30, 2011
Reviewer: Erin_Smith from Astoria, NY, USA
GustOrganics is the first and only certified organic restaurant in New York and America’s first restaurant to use 100% USDA certified organic ingredients. This restaurant serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner and has a full-service bar. The gluten-free menu items are integrated into the regular menu and all gluten-free items are clearly labeled. There are also a number of vegetarian options. The staff is well-versed in gluten-free dining, but be sure to tell them your dietary restrictions when you are ready to order. GustOrganics holds a very dear place in my heart. In early 2009, I read a random article that mentioned this restaurant had a gluten-free “hempanada.” (This was a play on the classic empanada but made with gluten-free hemp flour.) I contacted the restaurant and was immediately inspired by their owner, Alberto Gonzales. He was so passionate about his organic restaurant and was eager to learn more about catering to his gluten-free clients. Over a couple of months, I worked with Alberto on perfecting his gluten-free menu. By February 2009, GustOrganics had easily integrated a gluten-free menu with their already amazing organic menu. Soon after, GustOrganics joined the Gluten-Free Restaurant Awareness Program and the rest is history. Tip: The GustOrganics organic cocktails are delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful



Heartland Brewery Midtown West
625 8th Avenue
New York, NY 10018


4.5 Palms
4.5 PalmsThis restaurant in Manhattan has gluten-free menu Nov 09, 2010
Reviewer: Erin_Smith from Astoria, NY, USA
Heartland Brewery Midtown West is a welcome addition to a busy Manhattan neighborhood otherwise without many gluten-free options. This location is right outside the Port Authority, so it is a very convenient location for both commuters and tourists. In August 2010, the Heartland Brewery Midtown West became a part of the Gluten- Free Restaurant Awareness Program. The gluten-free menu includes some of my personal favorites including nachos, BBQ ribs and sweet potato fries. They have also introduced a gluten-free, flourless chocolate cake for dessert. Another nice touch of the gluten-free menu is that it is incorporated into the regular menu. It is very nice to feel "normal" when ordering from the same menu as the rest of your dining party. The gluten-free menu items are clearly marked with an asterisk. On the bottom of each menu it clearly states "GLUTEN FREE. Heartland Brewery regards allergy and dietary concerns very seriously. We want our Guests to dine with us with confidence. If you have an allergy or dietary concern, please ask to speak with a manager." All staff are trained in gluten-free meals and preparation. The gluten-free drinking options at Heartland Brewery now include Woodchuck Cider and Bard's Beer. In the future, Heartland Brewery might consider brewing and bottling their own gluten-free beer but nothing is planned at this time. I think it would be great for a local brewery to offer a home-brewed gluten-free option.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful



Naked Pizza
1260 Washington Avenue
Miami Beach, FL 33139


4.0 Palms
4.0 PalmsNaked Pizza in South Beach, Miami for great gluten-free pizza! Nov 09, 2010
Reviewer: Erin_Smith from Astoria, NY, USA
The concept behind Naked Pizza is to start with a "naked" pie and build your pizza with sauces, cheeses, and toppings. They have some really fun icons on their menu to represent "flora" (you know, plants) and "fauna" (for the carnivores), and cheese, and crust options. The gluten-free crust is a rice-based crust and available in medium size only. Overall, I was really pleased with the gluten-free pizza I got at Naked Pizza. I got pepperoni, mozzarella cheese, and bell peppers. The crust was crisp and the flavor was good. Eating it on the beach was even better! If you are in South Beach definitely check out the gluten-free pizza from Naked Pizza.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful



Panne Rizo Bakery, Deli and Cafe
1939 Cornwall Avenue
Vancouver, V6J 1C8
Canada

3.5 Palms
3.5 PalmsPanne Rizo Bakery Cafe Review Oct 22, 2009
Reviewer: Erin_Smith from Astoria, New York, USA
Last September, I took a wonderful trip to Vancouver, BC. I had never been in the Pacific Northwest before so I traveled out to Seattle and Vancouver before I started my new job. Seattle was nice, but I LOVED Vancouver. It was honestly one of the most beautiful places I have ever been. The juxtaposition of the mountains, water, and city made for some really gorgeous scenery. I went hiking, biking, and shopping. I also managed to seek out at least two gluten- free venues while I was there. There was one bakery in Northern Vancouver that was non-existent, I probably should have called ahead. On my last day in Vancouver, I wanted to go to Kits Beach and I knew there was a gluten- free cafe in that neighborhood. From before I even walked into Panne Rizo, I was impressed. Right in their front window was a sign for a monthly Celiac meeting hosted by the restaurant. I knew I was in a "safe" place when the next thing I noticed when I went inside was the Gluten-Free Premises sign. This place definitely was a place I could dine without worry. Their menu is small but enticing. All of the items on their menu are 100% gluten-free. On the menu that day was chicken pot pie, macaroni and cheese, grilled paninis, soup, and sandwiches made on their rice bread. I chose the goat cheese with pesto and pine nuts sandwich. The goat cheese was creamy and the rice bread was toasted, an almost must for gluten-free breads. I thought the bread was typical gluten-free bread in terms of a slightly crumbly texture, but the flavor was nice. The goat cheese actually held the open-faced sandwich together pretty well and the pesto added a nice flavor to the whole sandwich. In addition to the lunch menu, Panne Rizo also has a wall full of gluten-free products including cookies, breads, and locally produced gluten-free flours and mixes from the Sweet Rice Baking Company. Since I was leaving Vancouver to drive back to Seattle to catch my flight, I thought I would get some goodies for the road. I picked up two gluten-free carrot muffins. I am a sucker for sweet cream cheese frosting, so this was a good choice. It was just the right amount of sweet with nice bits of carrot throughout the muffin. If you are headed to Vancouver any time soon, I highly recommend stopping here to pick up lunch before hitting Kits Beach which is only two blocks away. Kits Beach was empty the day I went, but it has one of the most beautiful views of the city and mountains while sitting on the beach!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful



Mozzarelli's
38 East 23rd Street
New York, NY 10010


4.5 Palms
4.5 PalmsMozzarelli's Gluten-Free Pizza Sep 01, 2009
Reviewer: Erin_Smith from Astoria, NY
Mozzarelli's is a pizza place in midtown Manhattan that serves gluten-free pizza daily. There are usually at least 5 gluten-free pizza options with toppings including mushrooms, pepperoni, peppers, etc. The staff is well- versed in changing gloves and using special serving plates for all gluten-free food. There are also daily gluten-free desserts available in their refrigerated case. Once every month or so, Mozzarelli's has a gluten-free Sunday. Everything in their store on those Sundays is gluten-free. This goes well beyond their daily gluten-free pizza and includes pasta dishes, zeppolis, gluten-free breaded items, and desserts. In addition to the gluten-free pizza, there is also a full line of gluten-free cookies available every day and by mail order at Mozzarelli's. "My Dad's Cookies" come in over 20 gluten-free varieties and there are always samples for you to try. Chefs Ronni and Elan are very friendly and they pour their heart into getting their gluten-free products just right for all of their customers. They are conviently located across the street from Madison Square Park and down the block from the picturesque Flatiron Building. They are accessible by the R, W, and 6 subway lines.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful



Showing 1 to 11 of 11 reviews
| 1 |