Reviews Written by BeenToBaliToo:  



Showing 1 to 40 of 40 reviews
| 1 |


Campbell's Farmer's Market
376 East Campbell Avenue
Campbell, CA 95008


4.5 Palms
4.5 Palms
Gluten Free Products at Farmer's Market in Campbell, California

Reviewer: BeenToBaliToo from Carson City, NV
Reviewed on Apr 03, 2013

Campbell's Farmer's Market is open Sundays, 9 a.m. - 1:00 p.m. year round (rain or shine). As we strolled through the very popular market, we were pleased to find so many gluten free products for sale (and not just fruits and vegetables)! We came home with a gluten-free pizza and some pepper sauce that we marinated pork loins in and deemed them heavenly. Fun place in which to browse!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Sandwinds Restaurant & Sports Bar
1120 Taylor Place
Fallon, NV 89406


3.0 Palms
3.0 Palms
Steak And Pool in Fallon, Nevada

Reviewer: BeenToBaliToo from Carson City, NV
Reviewed on Apr 03, 2013

The Sandwinds is a popular place in little Fallon, Nevada. They don't know much about gluten at this restaurant, but I was able to order a steak with no seasoning, baked potato, and a salad with no croutons. I brought my own salad dressing, since I didn't know if any of their dressings were gluten free. It was a good meal in the steakhouse, and then we went into the sports bar where they have three nice pool tables and enjoyed a few games with the kids. (Kids are allowed in the pool area until 9:00 p.m.) A good time was had by all!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Chipotle Mexican Grill
5040 Auburn Boulevard
Sacramento, CA 95841


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Restaurant chain with many gluten free options in Sacramento

Reviewer: BeenToBaliToo from Carson City, NV
Reviewed on Mar 12, 2013

There are numerous Chipotle locations to choose from in Sacramento. We consider this Mexican comfort food. It's fast, filling, and satisfying.
According to their website at the time of this writing, everything on their menu (except the flour tortillas) is gluten free, making this one of our favorite places to stop while we are on the road!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Hilton Garden Inn
840 East El Camino Real
Mountain View, CA 94040


3.5 Palms
3.5 Palms
Gluten Free Breakfast at hotel in Mountain View, CA

Reviewer: BeenToBaliToo from Carson City, NV
Reviewed on Mar 12, 2013

The Hilton Garden Inn is a very pleasant stay. They put on a buffet breakfast every morning. It is not free to guests, so even non-guests are welcome to eat there. I asked a server if they add any flour or batter to their scrambled eggs, and she said no. So, along with the eggs, there were plenty of gluten-free options for me to choose from.

So, if you are in Mountain View and need a place for breakfast, this is not a bad option.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Chipotle Mexican Grill
324 West El Camino Real
Sunnyvale, CA 94087


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Quick gluten free meal in Sunnyvale, CA

Reviewer: BeenToBaliToo from Carson City, NV
Reviewed on Mar 12, 2013

Chipotle to us is Mexican comfort food. We don't have them where we live, so we look for them when we are on the road. We can almost always find one. The food is fast, filling, and satisfying.

Recommend you check their website before you eat there so that you will know what to order that is gluten free. Most of the employees in the locations we've tried have been fairly knowledgeable, but it's easier if you do your research ahead of time.

You will be happy to find that basically their entire menu is gluten free other than their flour tortillas.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Amici's East Coast Pizzeria
790 Castro Street
Mountain View, CA 94041


4.5 Palms
4.5 Palms
Gluten free pizza at restaurant in Mountain View, California

Reviewer: BeenToBaliToo from Carson City, NV
Reviewed on Mar 12, 2013

We arrived in Mountain View late in the evening and were pleased to find we could still find gluten-free dining in the form of pizza at Amici's. We enjoyed their Manhattan-style Clam pizza--not something you find every day.

We dined in the restaurant, but they would have also delivered to our hotel if we had wanted to dine in.

There is a free parking garage right behind the restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Yogo Frozen Yogurt & Sweet Treats
3250 Retail Drive
Carson City, NV 89706


3.0 Palms
3.0 Palms
Gluten Free Frozen Yogurt Every Now and Then in Carson City, Nevada

Reviewer: BeenToBaliToo from Carson City, NV
Reviewed on Feb 19, 2013

Our trip to Yogo was, unfortunately, disappointing. Although the clerk on duty was pleasant and knew exactly what contained gluten and what didn't, we were informed that none of their frozen yogurt the night we visited was gluten free. He explained that sometimes they have gluten free flavors and sometimes they don't. It just depends on their suppliers.

He did offer me a gluten-free peanut butter cookie, for which I was grateful; but my heart had been set on frozen yogurt.

So, if you are in the mood for gluten-free frozen yogurt, it's best to call ahead to see if they have any.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Naan & Kabab
2740 South Virginia Street
Reno, NV 89502


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Gluten Free Mediterranean Cuisine in Reno, Nevada

Reviewer: BeenToBaliToo from Carson City, NV
Reviewed on Feb 19, 2013

Beautiful atmosphere, good service, and a menu that is about 80% naturally gluten free, make this restaurant a real find. Conveniently located on Reno's main thoroughfare, across the street from the Peppermill Casino, it isn't difficult to find.

The chef and waiters are well-versed in what is gluten free and what isn't and will quickly go down the short list for you of items that do contain gluten.

The hot Persian-style tea is delightful, and they will fill your cup just as often as you'd like!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Genghis Grill
191 Damonte Ranch Parkway
Reno, NV 89521


4.0 Palms
4.0 Palms
Gluten Free at Mongolian BBQ in South Reno

Reviewer: BeenToBaliToo from Carson City, NV
Reviewed on Feb 06, 2013

Our family loves this place!

Ask for a nutritional brochure when you come in. There are three sauces that are designated gluten free, and they will be listed in that brochure. It was not clear in the brochure whether their seasonings are gluten free, so I looked on their website. As far as I can tell they are.

After you go through the line and have everything you want in your bowl, hand it to one of the chefs at the grill and tell them you need it gluten free. They flag it, and take precautions to keep it gluten free.

I would say there is more than average risk of cross-contamination at this restaurant; but, if you are not incredibly sensitive, this restaurant is definitely worth trying.

If you eat soy, we highly recommend the edamame appetizer!

This restaurant is also able to accommodate other allergies, such as soy allergies.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Cafe-Girasole
1483 U.S. 395
Gardnerville, NV 89410


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Best Gluten Free Lunch in Gardnerville, Nevada

Reviewer: BeenToBaliToo from Carson City, NV
Reviewed on Feb 06, 2013

The Cafe-Girasole offers many gluten-free options, including sandwiches, soups, and lovely desserts. With my sandwich, they served me a side-salad with one of the most delicious dressings I have ever had, complete with their signature sunflower seeds.

It is only open Monday through Friday for lunch. I doubt you will be disappointed with this cute, little place.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Sassafras Eclectic Food Joint
318 North Carson Street
Carson City, NV 89701


4.5 Palms
4.5 Palms
Gluten Free Bread Offered at restaurant in Carson City, Nevada

Reviewer: BeenToBaliToo from Carson City, NV
Reviewed on Dec 13, 2012

It's very difficult to find a restaurant in northern Nevada that carries gluten-free bread. This charming, fun restaurant has gluten-free bread, hamburger buns, pizza skins, and a large variety of gluten-free options. They don't have a seperate gluten-free menu, but our server seemed very well-versed in what contained gluten and what did not. She apologized that they don't have any gluten-free desserts in their long list of desserts! But I had enjoyed my ham and brie sandiwch, soup, jalapeno carrots, and this wonderful appetizer called "Eviled Eggs," that I didn't miss dessert at all. This restaurant is located in downtown Carson City right near the capitol, and also has a bar that has live music. It's a trendy addition to the downtown area and well worth checking out!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Masala Spices of India
314 Fifth Avenue
San Diego, CA 92101


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
A Gluten-Free Taste of India in San Diego, CA

Reviewer: BeenToBaliToo from Carson City, NV
Reviewed on Dec 11, 2012

Indian food is my favorite cuisine, and I have found it challenging to find Indian restaurants which are well-versed on gluten issues. So what a treat it was to find this fine dining, cultural experience in the heart of the gas lamp district in San Diego! Although the restaurant inside looked beautiful and inviting, I chose to dine outside on the sidewalk while I watched the world go up and down the street at a much faster pace than I was willing to go at the time. Everything slowed, as I took a break from shopping and enjoyed the impeccable service, and was treated to such delectables as Mango Chicken Tikka and Banana Curry. My only regret was that I was only in town for a few days and couldn't sample all the many gluten free selections on the menu! The menu items are not marked as gluten free, but just tell your waiter you are gluten free and he/she will point out the few dishes that you shouldn't have. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Donovan's Prime Seafood
333 Fifth Avenue
San Diego, CA 92101


4.5 Palms
4.5 Palms
Gluten Free Dining Delight at Donovan's restaurant in San Diego

Reviewer: BeenToBaliToo
Reviewed on Dec 09, 2012

The gas lamp district in San Diego is the California equivalent to Bourbon Street in New Orleans, they tell me. Lots of fun, a vast number of choices for fine or fun dining--complete with the ambiance of sidewalk, cafe-style, dining even in the winter months! Donovan's did not have gluten free menu items listed on their menu, so I asked if they had any available. They assured me the chef would work with me to provide a meal to my satisfaction. The waiter was extremely helpful, and came back to me once with a question from the chef. (A sure sign that great care is being taken with one's meal.) I ordered a medium-rare Ahi (sushi grade) that was presented on the plate as if it were a work of art. It was delightful! Add the fine dining to the fun of sitting outside watching people stroll up and down the street--it just couldn't have been a nicer experience.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Pinkberry Frozen Yogurt (in the Hard Rock hotel)
209 Fifth Avenue
San Diego, CA 92101


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Pinkberry Groupie -- love the gluten free yogurt at San Diego shop

Reviewer: BeenToBaliToo from Carson City, Nevada, USA
Reviewed on Dec 09, 2012

Like some other things in life, I am guessing we never forget our first Pinkberry frozen yogurt experience. I thought I had already tasted the ultimate frozen yogurt until I walked into Pinkberry and ordered theirs. So creamy! So flavorful! So gluten free! It's a beautiful thing! Note: This Pinkberry had four flavors to choose from and all were gluten free. However, being unfamiliar with this business, I do not know if all of their flavors are always gluten free or not. Best to ask before ordering. And, of course, not all the toppings are gluten free.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Hotel Del Coronado
1500 Orange Avenue
Coronado, CA 92118


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Step Back in Time at the "Hotel Del" -- plus gluten free meals at this historic San Diego hotel

Reviewer: BeenToBaliToo from Carson City, Nevada, USA
Reviewed on Dec 09, 2012

Step back in time at this glorious resort by the sea! Although I have not yet had the good fortune to actually stay at the resort, I did attend a cocktail hour and business dinner there in the grand ballroom. The restaurant had been notified ahead of time that I would need a gluten-free meal. They provided me a wonderful meal, and I felt 100% confident that it had been prepared in a gluten-free manner. They even made sure I had a gluten-free dessert! If just dining there, allow time to wander the vast grounds and buildings. There are lighted sand castles on the beach at night, ice skating in the winter time, gift shops, a small museum, and be sure to learn about the infamous Kate Morgan who sadly committed suicide there in the late 1800's and is said to still haunt the old hotel. It is a fascinating story!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Hard Rock Hotel San Diego
207 Fifth Avenue
San Diego, CA 92101


0.0 Palms
0.0 Palms
Hard Review for Hard Rock -- a disappointing gluten free experience at hotel in San Diego

Reviewer: BeenToBaliToo from Carson City, Nevada, USA
Reviewed on Dec 09, 2012

Not only was I not impressed with the quality for the dollar of this hotel, they really offered zero gluten free choices for me the entire four days I was there. The conference planners had been advised that I would need gluten-free meals while I was there, but the chefs did not cooperate in the least. While other participants at the conference gorged themselves on buffet meals and delicious snacks at breaks, I had no snacks (not even fresh fruit), and for the lunches they kept bringing me vegetarian meals instead of gluten-free meals. They seemed to think it was one and the same. This gave me zero confidence that I was really getting gluten-free food. For breakfast they served me oatmeal, that I am fairly certain was not certified gluten free, and for lunch I got only raw veggies and hummus dip, while at another lunch I was only served corn chips and bean dip. I figured I probably had a 50/50 chance of getting gluten in the hummus and corn chips. It was a disappointing experience, and I will choose not to stay at the Hard Rock from now on. The good news is that the hotel is located in the gas lamp district with restaurant after restaurant after restaurant offering exquisite gluten-free food there!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Oxbow Public Market
610 & 644 1st Street
Napa, CA 94559


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Eating Gluten Free in the Wine Country

Reviewer: BeenToBaliToo from Carson City, NV
Reviewed on Nov 27, 2012

The Oxbow Public Market has several restaurants that carry gluten-free menu items. There is even a bakery with gluten-free cupcakes!!! Stop in and walk around the food-court style area. If you are not sure which restaurants to go to, just ask. People were extremely friendly and helpful to us. I chose to eat at the Pica Pica Maize Kitchen, which is a Venezuelan restaurant and a dedicated gluten-free kitchen. I loved the cultural experience!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Z-Pizza
3600 Warren Way
Reno, NV 89509


4.5 Palms
4.5 Palms
Gluten Free Pizza at Z-Pizza in Reno!

Reviewer: BeenToBaliToo from Carson City, NV
Reviewed on Nov 27, 2012

Our family loves Z-Pizza! They offer a gluten-free crust and many gluten-free toppings. The clerks are not always well-versed on which toppings are gluten free, but they have always been willing to check labels for me if I have any questions. NOTE: They do not have a dedicated GF oven, but I find that most pizza places that offer gluten-free pizzas don't. All things considered, I feel very safe eating here; and the family that runs it is always so welcoming!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Claim Jumper
4905 South Virginia Street
Reno, NV 89502


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
A Gluten Free Thanksgiving at Claim Jumper restaurant in Reno

Reviewer: BeenToBaliToo from Carson City, NV
Reviewed on Nov 27, 2012

It didn't work out for us to have our usual large, family Thanksgiving dinner this year, so we instead went with a few friends to Claim Jumper. Normally Claim Jumper has quite a large gluten free menu available, but I called ahead to make sure there would be enough options available for me on Thanksgiving as well. Although the turkey wasn't gluten free, I did have a choice of either prime rib or salmon. And there were plenty of sides to choose from. I brought my own piece of pumpkin cake for dessert so that I didn't have to look pitiful while everyone else was eating their apple or pumpkin pie at the end of the meal. (I give my pumpkin cake 5 palms!) I was completely satisfied with my meal, and I was highly impressed with our server, the manager, and the chef. Not only did they assist me in my gluten free meal, but they also provided a vegetarian meal for one of our party, and were extremely careful with another of our party's meal, because she is extremely allergic to onions. It was a very pleasant experience. I do recommend that, if you go there for a holiday meal, you go early in the day when they aren't quite as busy as they are in the late afternoon or evening. That way you will be assured that they will have the time to spend with you and will be able to answer any questions that you might have.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



LA Bakery Cafe
220 West John Street
Carson City, NV 89703


4.5 Palms
4.5 Palms
A Good Place for a Sandwich and Other Gluten Free Delectables at Bakery in Carson City

Reviewer: BeenToBaliToo from Carson City, NV
Reviewed on Nov 20, 2012

This cute, little bakery/cafe on a quiet street in the historical district is very accommodating for their gluten-free customers. They not only offer a variety of gluten free baked goods, but also sandwiches and soups. Although this is not a dedicated gluten-free facility, they did instill confidence that they are well-versed in gluten issues. The soup and sandwiches we had really hit the spot! If you want gluten-free baked goods, it's best to give them a call first so they are sure to have some for you. The clerk told us their scones are delicious, but it was going to take an hour for them to prepare some for us. There is no inside seating--only outdoor--but they have an enclosed area with a heater to make it usable in the cooler weather. They also offer free delivery. And seniors, students, state employees and the military receive a 10% discount.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



FireSky Resort & Spa
4925 North Scottsdale Road
Scottsdale, AZ 85251


1.5 Palms
1.5 Palms
Fish at FireSky

Reviewer: BeenToBaliToo from Carson City, Nevada, USA
Reviewed on Nov 16, 2012

When I booked my accommodations for a conference at this resort, I was told they would accommodate my gluten-free diet, so I took them at their word and brought only minimal snacks. I assumed a resort of this caliber would offer gluten-free menu items and that the hotel would, indeed, provide me adequate selections for my business meals and snacks during the conference breaks. Instead, I ended up "dining" for four days on the two items stocked in the mini bar that were gluten-free. It wasn't until the final day of the conference (after several days of complaining to the hotel and conference staff) that they brought in some food for me. Although this is a lovely resort, and I enjoyed the atmosphere, the room, the pool and even the pet fish they brought to my room for me to get attached to and then have to leave, when I considered eating that fish, I knew I wasn't getting enough to eat. I can highly recommend staying at this resort for business, only if you are NOT on a gluten-free diet.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Holiday Inn High Sierra Bar and Grill
55 Nugget Avenue
Sparks, NV 89431


3.5 Palms
3.5 Palms
Gluten Free Breakfast at the Holiday Inn, Sparks, Nevada

Reviewer: BeenToBaliToo from Carson City, NV
Reviewed on Nov 16, 2012

Although they don't have gluten-free menu items, per se, at this hotel restaurant, they assured me the chef would accommodate me; and I feel he did a good job. He obviously was not well-versed in what gluten is, but he took the situation very seriously and did not want to take any chances in giving me something that would make me ill. I ordered a veggie breakfast skillet--which was very tasty--and, before he made it, he sent the waitress out to me to make sure I could have the potatoes with it. Then, when my meal came, the waitress explained that he had put the cheese on the side, as he wasn't certain I could have it. I very much appreciated him being so cautious in handling my order, and the waitress was extremely helpful and patient throughout the meal.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Sunset Cove
325 Harbour Cove Drive
Sparks, NV 89434


4.5 Palms
4.5 Palms
Gluten free Breakfast on the Marina in Sparks, Nevada

Reviewer: BeenToBaliToo from Carson City, NV
Reviewed on Nov 16, 2012

What a find! Big, fluffy, gluten-free pancakes in a cute, little coffee house with a nice view of the Sparks Marina! The only gluten-free items they have are the pancakes and some baked goods, but you can also order a side of eggs, etc. My non gluten-free husband was thrilled with his big, country-style breakfast and rated the biscuits and gravy a ten! So I am confident your non gluten-free companions will enjoy the food here, as well. When I asked whether the syrup was gluten free, the server was more than happy to go back and check the label for me and assured me it was. They are not open for dinner--they only serve breakfast, lunch and appetizers. The only reason I'm not giving them a full 5 palms is because the number of gluten-free choices is so limited.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Carnival Imagination

,


4.5 Palms
4.5 Palms
Tip for Dining Gluten Free on the Carnival Imagination Cruise Ship

Reviewer: BeenToBaliToo from Carson City, NV
Reviewed on Oct 29, 2012

When we booked our cruise on the Carnival Imagination, I learned that there is a policy in which you can't bring substantial amounts of food or drink on board. I told them of my dietary restrictions, and the person I spoke with said it would be fine for me to bring my own food then. She did say, however, that they would have plenty of gluten free food available for me on board, so that I really didn't need to worry about bringing my own food. I decided to take them at their word, and I only brought a few snacks. I put my trust in them that I would be fed--and fed well. Where Carnival failed is that they didn't give me enough information when I booked. I wish that they had explained where I would need to go to get the gluten free food, and I wish that their staff had been better educated on the subject. At the very least, I wish they would have put a pamphlet in the cabin explaining where people on dietary restrictions need to eat. We were on a three-day cruise, and the first day and a half was quite stressful for me. We went to the buffet and were met with blank stares when I asked which items were gluten free. After much standing around and waiting, a chef came and pointed out maybe one main dish and two side dishes I could have. At the next two meals, the chefs were not as helpful. I finally became stressed enough that I complained to the person in charge of the buffet room. It was only then that I was told that I should go to the formal dining room if I wanted gluten free food. They called the hostess from the dining room, she came to meet me, took me to the dining room and she and the waiters took excellent care of me for the rest of the cruise. Once we found out we would need to eat every meal in the dining room instead of going to the buffet, life was good again and I had plenty of choices. I would definitely book again on this cruise line.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Haven on Earth Bread and Bakery Co.
10855 Double R Boulevard
Reno, NV 89521


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Haven on Earth Gluten Free Bakery in Reno, Nevada is Heavenly

Reviewer: BeenToBaliToo from Carson City, NV
Reviewed on Oct 26, 2012

This dedicated gluten free bakery is located just off the freeway in south Reno, so it is easy to drop in and pick up all sorts of delectables! I love their donuts! I also purchase croutons there that are good enough to eat without the salad. And their flour tortillas are delicious. It's a good idea to call ahead for their pizzas and pies. They also serve sandwiches.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Rustler's Rooste
8383 South 48th Street
Phoenix, AZ 85044


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Gluten Free meal at Rustler's Rooste restaurant in Phoenix, AZ didn't Disappoint

Reviewer: BeenToBaliToo from Carson City, Nevada, USA
Reviewed on Oct 26, 2012

I was attending a conference in the Phoenix area, and had to attend a dinner function at the Rustler's Rooste. I was really afraid there would be no gluten free options available for me and that I would just be sitting there watching everyone else enjoy the BBQ. (We all know that feeling!) Luckily that was not the case at all. The chefs serving the food knew exactly what I could and couldn't eat, and I loaded my plate with several options and chowed down with the rest of them! The food was good, and the view from the Rooste is spectacular at night!

Was this review helpful to you?  
1 out of 1 found this review helpful



Mati's Indian Eats
1501 16th Street
Sacramento, CA 95814


4.5 Palms
4.5 Palms
Gluten Free Indian Cuisine at restaurant in Sacramento!

Reviewer: BeenToBaliToo from Carson City, NV
Reviewed on Oct 26, 2012

Indian food is my favorite cuisine. So, when I was put on a gluten free diet, I wondered if I would ever be able to savor those beautiful and aromatic dishes again! How thankful was I to find Mati's restaurant! I find myself thinking of excuses as to why we should travel to Sacramento (a distance of over 100 miles away) so that I can get my Indian food fix! Mati's is a little place with excellent food. Mati seems to have researched gluten and can tell you without hesitation which dishes in the buffet line are gluten free -- and most of them are. My favorite things to order there are the Butter Chicken and a Mango Lassi! Now if Mati could just make that delicious Indian bread gluten free! I would really be in heaven!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Ling & Louie's Asian Bar and Grill
4965 South Virginia Street
Reno, NV 89502


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Ling and Louie's Fantastic Fusion -- Gluten Free in Reno, Nevada

Reviewer: BeenToBaliToo from Carson City, NV
Reviewed on Oct 26, 2012

Ling and Louie's Asian fusion dishes are scrumptious, and they provide a separate gluten free menu with many options. This is one of my favorite dining options in Reno, but my family members (who don't like any spice in their food at all), think it a bit too much on the spicy side for their tastes. I, however, love the little kick that most of their dishes have! I go there ever chance I get!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Cafe del Rio
394 C Street
Virginia City, NV 89440


4.0 Palms
4.0 Palms
Dining on Gluten Free Mexican food in Virginia City, Nevada

Reviewer: BeenToBaliToo from Carson City, NV
Reviewed on Oct 26, 2012

There aren't a lot of options for dining in Virginia City, and these choices are even more limited if you are gluten free. Thankfully, the Cafe del Rio is there! It is a nice Mexican restaurant in an historic building with great atmosphere and great food. They don't have a separate gluten free menu, so you will need to get suggestions from your server. Some servers are more knowledgeable than others about gluten issues. The manager thinks the corn tortillas are gluten free, but can't say for sure. And he doesn't seem that interested in finding out to give that extra degree of comfort to his gluten free patrons. But, whether or not you decide to chance the corn tortillas, chances are you will enjoy your meal in this interesting and fun historical town.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Tokyo Joe's
6775 South Cornerstar Way
Aurora, CO 80016


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Great Japanese-Style Fast Food (and Gluten Free) in Parker, Colorado!

Reviewer: BeenToBaliToo from Carson City, NV
Reviewed on Oct 26, 2012

I so wish we had Tokyo Joe's in my home state! Friends introduced us to this fun, fast food restaurant while we were traveling in Colorado. Many Gluten Free options available. Just ask the sales clerk or manager. They are well-versed in what contains gluten and what doesn't.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Dad's Kitchen
2968 Freeport Boulevard
Sacramento, CA 95818


1.5 Palms
1.5 Palms
Dad's Kitchen -- Not Gluten Free Comfort Food

Reviewer: BeenToBaliToo from Carson City, NV, USA
Reviewed on Oct 24, 2012

I have eaten at Dad's Kitchen four times now; and, regrettably, I have decided to give them a poor review. The two times we were there when the owner was there, we had a good experience. He seems very interested in taking care of his customers, and is quite sensitive to gluten issues. However, the other two times when he was not there, our experience was that the servers aren't in the least bit patient or willing to keep their customers safe. They do not have a gluten free menu, but the owner will tell you that they can accommodate you. However, accommodation does require that your server look out for your best interests. On our last visit, I ordered a gluten free salad. It looked beautiful and tasted wonderful. I was about a quarter of the way through the salad, when suddenly I realized I was crunching on something I didn't expect. Upon further inspection, I realized there was a layer of croutons buried deep within the salad that was not visible when it was first served to me. The croutons were not gluten free. When I told the server about it, he seemed annoyed that I was complaining, didn't apologize, and didn't offer to take the price of the salad off our tab. Although the food tastes good, it is just not worth the risk to go there. There are plenty of other options in the Sacramento area.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Stacks Restaurant
139 East Campbell Avenue
Campbell, CA 95008


4.5 Palms
4.5 Palms
Gluten Free Breakfast Worth Waiting For in Campbell, California

Reviewer: BeenToBaliToo from National Foundation for Celiac Awareness, USA
Reviewed on Oct 24, 2012

An extremely popular place for locals, plan on spending some time in line; but the food is well worth the wait! They have a large gluten free menu--including waffles! And the quality of the food is fantastic! My only criticism is that our server didn't seem quite up to speed on what toppings, syrups, etc were gluten free, but she was willing to go check with the kitchen staff. However, they were so busy, that we hated to bother her were too many questions. Overall, though, this was a great experience and we will definitely go back when we are in the area!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



7 Sisters Italiano
8493 Auburn Boulevard
Citrus Heights, CA 95621


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
7 Sisters--Gluten Free Restaurant in Citrus Heights, CA Where Celiacs are Treated Like Royalty

Reviewer: BeenToBaliToo from , USA
Reviewed on Oct 24, 2012

7 Sisters is a gluten free Italian restaurant that also serves people who aren't gluten free. When you are taken to a table, you are asked whether or not you are gluten free. Then, those at the table who are gluten free, are treated like royalty. Suddenly we are in our own element where we are not the "odd" ones! The food (including a wonderful gluten-free bread basket!) is beautiful, safe and so delicious! Last time we were there, they even served gluten free freshly-made thin mint cookies for dessert! Go into this modest-looking restaurant with fine food and let them transport you to a place where you are in the majority instead of the minority. Both you and your non-GF friends and family will love this place!

Was this review helpful to you?  
1 out of 1 found this review helpful



Sup
669 South Virginia Street
Reno, NV 89501


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Great Soup and More Gluten Free Options at Sup restaurant in Reno, NV!

Reviewer: BeenToBaliToo from , USA
Reviewed on Oct 24, 2012

This is quite a popular place to lunch in downtown Reno, so we had to go find out why. The soup here is incredible! And that is not to downplay the salads, because they are delicious, too! They normally offer about six different kinds of soup each day, and of these several are always gluten free. For your non-gluten free friends and family, they offer sandwiches as well. Come in and be nurtured! You won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful to you?  
1 out of 1 found this review helpful



Bonanza Inn Magnuson Grand Hotel
1001 Clark Avenue
Yuba City, CA 95991


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Gluten Free Fine Dining Near Sleep Train Amphitheater in Yuba City, CA

Reviewer: BeenToBaliToo from Carson City, NV, USA
Reviewed on Oct 24, 2012

This modest hotel has a first-class restaurant with servers and chefs who are more than willing to accommodate gluten free patrons. They are well-versed on how to safely prepare your food, and you will not feel like you are missing out on any of this fine dining experience. The fish they prepared for me was exquisite! If you have tickets for a concert at the Sleep Train Amphitheater, which is right down the road, I highly recommend stopping for dinner here. You won't regret it.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Brugo's Pizza Co.
3228 North Carson Street
Carson City, NV 89706


4.5 Palms
4.5 Palms
Carson City, Nevada restaurant -- This is Gluten Free Pizza?

Reviewer: BeenToBaliToo from Carson City, NV, USA
Reviewed on Oct 24, 2012

Brugo's uses all fresh ingredients and knows exactly where everything comes from. Whenever possible, they buy locally and take great pride in that. Besides their regular pizzas, they offer a gluten free pizza crust, and the gluten free customer can decide which sauce and toppings to put on it. The gluten free version of their pizzas are so good that even your non-gluten free friends and families will like it! The management and servers don't seem motivated to do the research as to which toppings and sauces are gluten free, but they are able to tell you that their house red sauce is gluten free. And it is fabulous! This pizza a real treat!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Heidi's Family Restaurant
1020 North Carson Street
Carson City, NV 89701


4.0 Palms
4.0 Palms
Gluten Free in Carson City, NV -- Heidi's Is a Home Away from Home

Reviewer: BeenToBaliToo from Carson City, Nevad, USA
Reviewed on Oct 24, 2012

Heidi's is one of those places with a very low turn-over; so, consequently, their servers are experienced, remember their customers, and make you feel at home every time. They have long been known for good, fresh food. They do not have a gluten free menu, but either of their managers will personally oversee that their gluten free patrons are served the best omelet and home fries in town. You will need to decide which ingredients in the omelets you feel safe ordering. If you ask the managers though, they happily check ingredient labels for you. I am giving them only 4 palms only because of the limited options available. If they had a dedicated gluten free menu with more options, they would get 5 palms from me! NOTE: There are three Heidi's restaurants (Lake Tahoe, Reno and Carson City). This review is limited to the one in Carson City, as I don't know if the other two locations will make accommodations or not.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



The Wok
255 South Maine Street
Fallon, NV 89406


4.5 Palms
4.5 Palms
Gluten Free Sushi in Fallon, Nevada?! No Way!

Reviewer: BeenToBaliToo from Carson City, Nevad, USA
Reviewed on Oct 24, 2012

Satisfying a sushi craving while remaining gluten free can be challenging. And satisfying such a craving is even more difficult when living or traveling in rural areas. So finding The Wok in little, Fallon, Nevada was such a pleasant surprise! Our server admitted that she is still learning about gluten, but she was willing and anxious to learn. She patiently listened to numerous questions, went back to the chef several times to get the answers, and gave me a great deal of confidence that my food would be safe. I was not disappointed. This is a restaurant that does not mind catering to the special needs of it's gluten free customers. The sushi was delicious! NOTE: Remember to bring in your own gluten free soy sauce, as this restaurant doesn't carry it.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



The Basil
311 North Carson Street
Carson City, NV 89701


4.5 Palms
4.5 Palms
Eating Gluten Free at The Basil restaurant in Carson City, Nevada is Sweet!

Reviewer: BeenToBaliToo from
Reviewed on Oct 23, 2012

The Basil (Thai) is one of the finest restaurants in the State capital, and yet, like most restaurants in Nevada, it has a very relaxed atmosphere. It is moderately priced with beautiful atmosphere and located right near the capitol building on the main street. Although they don't have a gluten free menu, the manager instills complete confidence in the gluten free customer and will often stop by the table and assure you that the kitchen is preparing your meal gluten free. Many items on the menu are already gluten free or can be modified upon request. The first time you go to The Basil, you will be treated like royalty. The second time you go there you will be welcomed like family.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Foodies Bystro in the Brewery Arts Center
449 West King Street
Carson City, NV 89703


4.0 Palms
4.0 Palms
Foodies Bystro offers gluten free dining in Carson City, Nevada

Reviewer: BeenToBaliToo from Carson City, NV
Reviewed on Nov 20, 2012

Foodies Bystro is located inside the Artisans Store at the Brewery Arts Center in the historical district of Carson City. Come see the beautiful gift items available at the store, and perhaps take in one of the shows there. We very much enjoy their shows. The old brewery breathes history. Come in and enjoy it! The woman who runs Foodies can always cook you up some gluten-free curry, and it is very good. There are always salads and sometimes other GF items to choose from as well. She seemed very knowledgeable about gluten issues, and is very happy to help.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 out of 0 found this review helpful



Showing 1 to 40 of 40 reviews
| 1 |