Back


Reviews Written by Peacefulhope:  



Showing 1 to 13 of 13 reviews
| 1 |


The Wooden Squirrel
142 Main Street
East Gippsland Shire, 3875
Australia

3.5 Palms
3.5 Palms
Pleasant cafe with gluten free options in Bairnsdale, Victoria, Australia Oct 03, 2013
reviewer: Peacefulhope from Melbourne, Vic

Bairnsdale is a good place to stop if you are travelling on the Princess Highway, and you don't have to get off the highway to find this cafe with gluten-free options. It seems to be a busy cafe and the seating area stretches back quite a long way, ending in an outside courtyard. The menu seems to be quite extensive and although I just had coffee and cake I think that there would be quite a few breakfast or lunchtime items that could be adapted for a coeliac. The coffee is good. :)

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Central Hotel
321 Esplanade
East Gippsland Shire, 3909
Australia

4.0 Palms
4.0 Palms
Well priced meals and gluten free options on menu at restaurant in hotel in Victoria, Australia Oct 03, 2013
reviewer: Peacefulhope from Melbourne, Vic. Australia

There is a large family-friendly bistro in this hotel which offers very reasonably priced meals. They have gluten free options for entrees, main course and desserts. The meals are not gourmet, but they are very tasty and a good value.

From the restaurant to can look across to the lake so there is a pleasant view if you get a widow seat.

Lunch is served from 12 pm and dinner is from 6 pm.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Bakin Beans Cafe
309 Esplanade
East Gippsland Shire, 3909
Australia

3.5 Palms
3.5 Palms
Tasty gluten free muffin at cafe in Lakes Entrance, Victoria, Australia Oct 03, 2013
reviewer: Peacefulhope from Melbourne, Vic

Nice friendly cafe on the esplanade in Lakes Entrance, with a pleasant view of the boats on the lake. There aren't a lot of gluten free options, but they have the best homemade gluten free banana muffin I've ever had. The coffee is excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Vibez Cafe
575 Esplanade
East Gippsland Shire, 3909
Australia

3.5 Palms
3.5 Palms
Nice Cafe with gluten free options in Victoria, Australia Oct 03, 2013
reviewer: Peacefulhope from Melbourne, Vic. Australia

Nice cafe in the centre of Lakes Entrance. It has some gluten-free options (mainly small cakes) and has good coffee. It is very popular, reasonably priced, and even has free wifi if you ask.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Multiple restaurants throughout Sydney, Australia
18 Margaret Street
,
Australia

5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Coffee and gluten free muffins at bakery throughout New South Wales and all of Australia Sep 24, 2013
reviewer: Peacefulhope from Melbourne, Vic, Australia

This is a chain of coffee and muffin shops that is found throughout Australia - mostly in the food courts of shopping malls. Most of them offer a few gluten-free muffins (sweet and/or savoury). If there aren't any other gluten free options in a shopping mall, this shop can be almost always be guaranteed to have something. They also have sandwiches/pies etc for non-coeliacs.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Red Stag Deer and Emu Farm
324 Hughes Lane
Alpine Shire, 3739
Australia

5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Wonderful location and food Sep 25, 2013
reviewer: Peacefulhope from Melbourne, Vic. Australia.

This restaurant is situated not far from Bright, in the beautiful High Country of Victoria. It caters to everyone - from those wanting just a cup of coffee, to weddings. It is fantastic for the family since it is a deer and emu farm so has plenty of animal entertainment for all. The panoramic views are magnificent, and the menu in the restaurant is fantastic for those wanting a gluten-free meal. Local wines are available. There is also a well stocked shop where you can buy tourist type items and souvenirs on a deer/emu theme to deer farm fresh meat and sausages (gluten free).

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Multiple restaurants throughout Sydney, Australia
18 Margaret Street
,
Australia

4.0 Palms
4.0 Palms
Pizza Chain with gluten free pizza in Australia Sep 24, 2013
reviewer: Peacefulhope from Melbourne, Vic. Australia

This is a chain of take away pizza restaurants with locations in many places across Australia. They offer a good variety of gluten free pizzas. The prices are a little high compared to a standard pizza shop but the pizzas they offer are all in the gourmet range.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Dan Panorama Hotel Eilat
Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Boulevard
Be'er Sheva,
Israel

5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Hotel in Eilat, Israel great for gluten free guests Apr 03, 2013
reviewer: Peacefulhope from Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

There are a lot of hotels in the Dan chain of hotels and this particular one is located in Eilat - in the south of Israel, on the Red Sea. It is in a perfect location - walking distance of almost everything. You can even easily walk to it from the little airstrip used to fly into the little town and since our suitcases all had wheels we did just that. The hotel is quite new, the accommodation is excellent and the staff are all very helpful. The restaurant in the hotel was great. I produced a card in the local languages explaining that I had coeliac disease and needed a gluten free diet each time I entered the restaurant and the person on duty at the door immediately went to find a chef who could tell me what was ok to eat. The cards I had explaining coeliac disease were in Arabic, Hebrew and Russian and this was one of the places where the chef who helped me was Russian. She only spoke Russian and a little Hebrew, and I didn't speak either, but by sign language she helped me understand everything perfectly. One morning she was apologising for something again and again, and I couldn't understand a word of what she said until I caught one particular word which I recognised as being the second part of how they pronounce Bethlehem. Knowing from the Bible that Bethlehem means 'house of bread' I was able to work out that she was apologising that she didn't have any gluten-free bread that morning! It didn't matter at all - there were so many gluten-free options there, and always plenty of salad and fresh fruit.

Was this review helpful to you?  
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

Taco Bill Mexican Restaurants
142 Russell Street
Melbourne City, 3000
Australia

4.5 Palms
4.5 Palms
Chain of Mexican restaurants in Australia with gluten free options Apr 03, 2013
reviewer: Peacefulhope from Melbourne, Australia

Taco Bill Restaurants all offer many options for celiacs and vegetarians. They are child-friendly and the prices are all reasonable. They have many other locations which you can find listed on their website.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Footbridge Fish & Chips
19 Myer Street
East Gippsland Shire, 3909
Australia

4.5 Palms
4.5 Palms
Gluten free fish & chips in Australia Apr 03, 2013
reviewer: Peacefulhope from Melbourne, Australia

It is rare to get a gluten-free take-away but this Fish and Chip Shop in Lakes Entrance has a fryer set aside solely for gluten-free customers. The fish is fresh and caught locally and a hearty meal of fish and chips for one person is only $7:50. There are additional gluten-free options as well.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

CocoChine
165 Lake Street
Melton City, 3023
Australia

5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Favourite Chinese Restaurant for dining gluten free in Melbourne, Australia Apr 02, 2013
reviewer: Peacefulhope from Melbourne, Australia

This restaurant doesn't advertise being gluten-free friendly but I have never found a more helpful restaurant. When we first went there and asked for a gluten-free meal the owner came out to talk to us as he was just starting to look at what was needed to make meals gluten-free. He didn't know where to get some of the gluten free equivalents of things he used and when I explained they were in the health food aisle of most supermarkets he immediately went to the nearby supermarket and purchased what he needed for our meal that night. When I found out I was astounded at his service! Since then he has been able to adapt about half of his excellent menu to be suitable for celiacs and they are the tastiest gluten free meals I've found anywhere. My husband and I go there regularly. They are family friendly, the staff are all wonderfully friendly and the prices are very reasonable.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

City Hotel
9 Mapu Street
Tel Aviv-Yafo,
Israel

5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Staff helpful to Celiac and gluten free guests at hotel in Tel Aviv Israel Apr 02, 2013
reviewer: Peacefulhope from Melbourne, Israel

This is a small boutique hotel in a very good location - close to beach, shops, restaurants etc. the staff were very helpful in providing gluten-free meals. I presented cards in the local languages (Hebrew, Arabic and Russian) each time I dined and the staff could choose which was easiest for them to read. Our room was comfortable and we would go there again. There are restaurants along the beach close to the hotel which also cater/adapt for celiacs.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Grand Court Hotel
15 George Washington Street
Jerusalem,
Israel

5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Helpful Jerusalem hotel if you're gluten free or Celiac Apr 02, 2013
reviewer: Peacefulhope from Melbourne, Australia

This hotel is very comfortable and helpful with everything. I presented a card explaining that I was gluten intolerant to the person at the entry of the restaurant each day I dined there and he immediately found a chef who would help me know what was gluten free. It is a good idea to take cards in Hebrew, Arabic and Russian when going to Israel as all three languages are spoken. If the chefs can choose their own language when reading the cards you are more likely to get good results. Passover food in Israel is mostly gluten free which makes dining in Israel fairly easy for celiacs.
It is a busy hotel, with large tour groups staying there, but the helpful staff were wonderful at all times. The hotel is also in quite a good location for visiting the old city of Jerusalem. - about 10 mins walk from the Damascus gate. There are a couple of shops within the hotel and the staff there were also very helpful with special requests we had.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Showing 1 to 13 of 13 reviews
| 1 |