Back


Reviews Written by Mparker9:  



Showing 1 to 22 of 22 reviews
| 1 |


MAFIAoZA'S
2400 12th Avenue South
Nashville, TN 37204


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Gluten Free Pizza in Nashville, Tennessee Oct 13, 2010
reviewer: Mparker9 from Nashville, TN

Best gluten free pizza I have had, hands down! The crew at Mafiaoza's is great! They are known for having the best pizza in Nashville, and now that holds true for the gluten free crowd as well. You can order almost any of the many, many toppings Mafiaoza's has to offer. I opted for a 3-cheese delicacy, and it was fabu! You do have to order a medium for gf pizza, which feeds about two people. The atmosphere is also great, especially for a nice night on the patio during football season....flat screens galore! They also have gluten free beer to have with your pizza. Come for a great night at Mafiaoza's and support their great gluten free efforts! (They also have a location in Birmingham, Alabama.)

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Gino's East
162 East Superior Street
Chicago, IL 60611


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Gino's East now has gluten-free pizza Aug 10, 2010
reviewer: Mparker9 from Nashville, TN

Gino'sEast has gone GF!!!! I visited Chicago for the weekend. I have fond memories of visiting the famous Gino's East for delectable pizza pre-celiac. Much to my surprise, they now have gf pizza!! It is not on the menu, but the waitress was very knowledgeable about it and had no squirms about it when asked and I ordered it. Now, this is not Gino's deep-dish pizza, like you or I remember. It is thin crust. But, it has the famous Gino's cheese! It was soooo good! I was so happy to eat with my crew there, and still have pizza! I would definitely return for more!

Was this review helpful to you?  
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

Boscos Restaurant and Brewing Company (several locatons)
1805 21st Avenue South
Nashville, TN 37212


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Boscos Restaurant in Nashville has gluten-free menu Aug 05, 2010
reviewer: Mparker9 from Nashville, TN

Bosco's has a gluten free menu! I called before since this was a business lunch, and they said "Yes, we have one!" I was very pleased. Once seated, I asked for the gluten free menu, and it was brought promptly. It had many options, including soups, salads, bun-less sandwiches, and appetizers. I ordered the pear gorgonzola salad and asked if I could add grilled chicken. The waitress came back shortly after and told me that the chicken is grilled in a pineapple glaze that includes gluten. I said, thank you for letting me know, and please leave the chicken off. The salad was wonderful. Thank you Bosco's for being attentive to the gf community. They also have locations in Memphis and Franklin, Tennessee as well as Little Rock, AR.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

The Boat House
1459 Riverside Drive
Chattanooga, TN 37406


4.5 Palms
4.5 Palms
The Boat House in Chattanooga is great for gluten-free dining. Jul 12, 2010
reviewer: Mparker9 from Nashville, TN

The Boat House does not have a gluten free menu, but they are very knowledgeable. I simply asked my waiter if there were any gf options, and he showed me immediately on the menu what they could do. I wound up with a summer salad with fruits, grilled chicken, and a homemade vinaigrette. It was very good. Definitely recommend and will return.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Demos' (4 loca in TN and one in AL)
1115 Northwest Broad Street
Murfreesboro, TN 37129


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Demos' in Tennessee and Alabama now has gluten-free menu May 07, 2010
reviewer: Mparker9 from Murfreesboro, TN

Demos' Restaurant, with locations in Nashville, Murfreesboro, Hendersonville, and Lebanon -- as well as one in Florence, Alabama -- now has a gluten free menu!!!! I went there tonight for my mothers' birthday expecting to have a diet coke while everyone else feasted. But, I opened the menu to an insert that said, "Ask your server for our new gluten free menu!" I was ecstatic and asked for one immediately. This is a great menu...it's huge! Many salads, steaks, chicken entrees, stuffed potatoes. I chose the blackened chicken stuffed potato. Yum! The server even asked if I would like some grapes while my family had bread before the meal. I could tell they had been trained--yay! Anywho, kudos to Demos' for going g-free!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Caito's Pizzeria
414 THF Boulevard
Chesterfield, MO 63005


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Caito's Pizza-Yummo! Nov 07, 2009
reviewer: Mparker9 from Murfreesboro, TN

I was in St. Louis on business and googled "gluten free pizza St. Louis" and found Caito's site with some great reviews. I decided to drive out to the 'burbs and take a chance. Boy, am I glad I did! Once seated, I asked my server about gluten free pizza. She was very knowledgeable and went on to tell me that I could order pizza, pasta, salads, rolls, and desserts--all gf. (Let it be known that Caito's also has gluten-filled pizza, etc.) I ordered a cheese pizza and house salad. While I waited, a basket of piping hot gf rolls were presented to me. Then, a wonderful house salad full of lettuce, radishes, fresh mozzarella, black olives, tomato and house-made vinagrette was served. This was followed by a wonderful gf cheese pizza. I was then offered gf brownies for dessert, but I was just too full! I will be back in a heartbeat if I am ever in St. Louis, though. Give Caito's a chance--you won't be sorry!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Gluten Free Goodies
5211 Kingston Pike
Knoxville, TN 37919


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Gluten Free Goodies Aug 29, 2009
reviewer: Mparker9 from Nashville, TN

Fabulous! Knoxville now has a gf baker! My fiance picked up an assortment of items for me including a to-die-for red velvet cupcake! I also got some chocolate chip cookies, a brownie, a banana nut muffin, and a loaf of sandwich bread. They are all yummy. They also serve lunch there, but I have not gotten to try it yet. Go try this place and support Rachel!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Matteo's
1800 Carothers Parkway
Franklin, TN 37067


4.5 Palms
4.5 Palms
Matteo's pizza, bread, cupcakes Mar 03, 2009
reviewer: Mparker9 from Knoxville, TN

Matteo's gf pizza is fabulous, but I also just tried their gf bread and cupcakes. The cupcakes are vanilla and either vanilla or chocolate frosting. They taste like the kind you used to be able to eat from the grocery store. The sandwich bread is really yummy, and it comes as a huge loaf. For $7 the size makes it worth the price. You must order the bread beforehand right now, but Matteo's has plans to have a gf bakery in the future--yay!!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Matteo's
1800 Carothers Parkway
Franklin, TN 37067


4.5 Palms
4.5 Palms
Matteo's pizza Dec 31, 2008
reviewer: Mparker9 from Murfreesboro, TN

Wonderful! I checked out Matteo's website (google Matteo's pizza) where I learned that they make gluten free pizza in a dedicated room--yay! They were also voted the third best pizza place in Nashville according to a website I found. Anyway, you can order gf pizza in two different sizes. I ordered the larger size. You do not have to order in advance, which is another plus. You call, place the order, and then pick it up 20 minutes later--just like the regular pizza joints. My pizza was ready upon arrival with a nice blue GF sticker on the box alerting me that my pizza was safe for me. The pizza looked and smelt completely normal and delicious. And, it tasted delicious too. My only gripe...size of the pizza. I ordered the larger size and was able to eat it all by myself for one meal. I am not a big person either. The plus side of this, the prices are great...like $6 for the small and $9 for the larger one I ordered. I will definiately be back to Matteo's. As an added bonus, I have heard that they will soon offer gf cupcakes...woohoo!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Maggiano's
3106 West End Avenue
Nashville, TN 37203


4.5 Palms
4.5 Palms
Maggiano's Dec 22, 2008
reviewer: Mparker9 from Murfreesboro, TN

Wonderful! The actual menu states that gf pasta is available by request! I called ahead to alert the restaurant of my gf needs, and they told me that they had many celiac guests--yay! Upon arrival at my table, the waitress asked if I had any ideas about what I wanted to order. After looking at the menu, I decided I wanted a chicken dish. The chef actually came out from the kitchen and discussed my choice. He knew the sauce for this dish had gluten and offered to make me an alternative, gf sauce, which I agreed to. My dinner came separately from my family's, and it was delish! HUGE portions too. I would definitely recommend Maggiano's to others.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Dream Cakes etc.
109 Torre Court
Murfreesboro, TN 37129


4.5 Palms
4.5 Palms
Dream Cakes etc. Dec 14, 2008
reviewer: Mparker9 from Murfreesboro, TN

Dream Cakes etc. is a bakery specializing in special occasion cakes, pies, and cookies. On the homepage of their website, they clearly state that they are able to make gluten free cakes- yay! I ordered one for a graduation cake. I called Olivia and asked what flavors she could make gluten free, and to my surprise, she said just about any of the loooong list of flavors could be made gluten free. Wow! I decided to order my personal favorite...Italian Cream cake. The cake was delivered on time and was very cutely decorated. It was very yummy too. My non-gf family also enjoyed it. I should also note the Dream Cakes is very affordable compared to most gf bakeries I have tried. DreamCakes is definitely worth a try if you are in Tennessee.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

A Bountiful Harvest
1101 Hixson Pike
Chattanooga, TN 37405


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
A Bountiful Harvest bakery-GF Nov 07, 2008
reviewer: Mparker9 from Knoxville, TN

WONDERFUL!!!! They have a completely GF bakery here! They make GF cookies, muffins, pies, cakes, brownies, etc. They can also do sugar free. Everything tastes great....try the chocolate ganache....it's sugar free but tastes better than anything I have ever had (and I am a cake addict). Look at her photos online of her specialty cakes for weddings, birthdays, and special occasions. They look like they belong on "Ace of Cakes." They have a true artform going there. She also makes just about any flavor of cake/cookie you can imagine. I ordered chocolate chip cake, caramel cake, pumpkin cookies, and banana walnut muffins. They were all fabulous! The chocolate chip cake was for my non-gf fiance's birthday. He thought it was delicious and even asked if we could have that as his groom's cake at our wedding. Bountiful Harvest also does internet and phone orders as they can ship their products. Check them out. It's worth it!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Lillie Belle's
132 3rd Avenue South
Franklin, TN 37064


1.0 Palms
1.0 Palms
Lillie Belle's Sep 30, 2008
reviewer: Mparker9 from Knoxville, TN

Lillie Belle's is listed in the Triumph Dining Guide, so I assumed it would be a safe bet. I even called ahead and asked. They said they wrote down that I needed a gf meal and that it would not be a problem. When I got there, my waitress asked me what I could eat on the menu! Then, she did go ask the chef what was safe. He said anything without bread. I cautiously ordered a salad. Guess what? She brought it out with a big roll on top. I left hungry.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Weber Grill
539 North State Street
Chicago, IL 60654


4.0 Palms
4.0 Palms
Weber Grill May 27, 2008
reviewer: Mparker9 from Knoxville, TN

Great experience! Weber Grill was actually out of gf menus when I dined there, but they were very knowledgeable about gf diets. The waitress checked on possible entrees for me by going to ask the chef if he could make them gf. I ended up with the chopped chicken salad. Very yummy. If you eat red meat, of course there are steaks and burgers galore that you can get gf at Weber. Only drawback, the waitress told me that the only side I could order if had ordered a steak was a baked potato.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Bistro 110
110 East Pearson Street
Chicago, IL 60611


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Bistro 110 May 27, 2008
reviewer: Mparker9 from Knoxville, TN

Bistro 110 was a wonderful gf experience! The chef has children with food allergies and thoroughly understands the gf diet. He even has special gf nights in which all meals, including yummy quiches, are made gf. I went for lunch with my mom while in Chicago. The waiter was very knowledgeable about the gf diet and went over the menu with me and let me know what would be best for me to order. I ended up ordering oven- roasted chicken and mixed veggies. They were soo good! The chicken was huge! Almost half a dinner plate. The veggies were great too. The gf seasoning was so great...nice alternative to the blandness we experience in most restaurants trying to get clean foods. They had a nice array of gf desserts too, but I was too full to try. Also, Bistro 110 is next to Ghiradelli, which features Edy's Ice cream....almost all of which is gf.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

American Girl Place
835 North Michigan Avenue
Chicago, IL 60611


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
American Girl Place May 27, 2008
reviewer: Mparker9 from Knoxville,TN

Wonderful experience! I grew up with American Girl dolls, and after reading a great review on this site, I made reservations for my mother and myself. We went for the Sunday lunch. The meal began with cinnamon rolls for mom, but the waiter automatically knew to bring me strawberries instead. Then, we had fruit kabobs of pineapple, cantaloupe, honeydew, strawberries, and grapes. Next, we had entrees. There were so many gf options...even gf pizza and sandwiches! I decided on the chopped chicken salad, which was very tasty and huge! Last was dessert. Mom had choc mousse and cookies. I was brought strawberry sorbet and a brownie topped with powdered sugar...I had to get it to go. So much yummy gf foods! All of this and your drink of choice was included for a flat $20. Not bad for a great meal in Chicago. And, of course, the place is adorable. But, don't be afraid if you are an adult. My mom and I thoroughly enjoyed our experience.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Outback Steakhouse
330 North Peters Road
Knoxville, TN 37922


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Outback-West Knoxville Apr 19, 2008
reviewer: Mparker9

Outback is always a good choice, but this trip was especially great. Blue, our server, has a child who was tested for celiac, so he knew ALOT about gluten free dining. He was the best server I had ever had at Outback. He knew that I could not have bread, needed a clean salad bowl, no croutons, etc. He made my night very enjoyable. I will definitely request Blue for future trips to Outback.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Cafe Amelie
912 Royal Street
New Orleans, LA 70116


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Cafe Amelie Apr 04, 2008
reviewer: Mparker9 from Knoxville, TN

Wonderful! Staff very knowledgeable about celiac and even emailed me a menu before I went there marked with everything that was and was not gluten free. They serve mainly lunch fare. Very good service and quality of food. This was my favorite meal in New Orleans.

Was this review helpful to you?  
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

Roman's Pizza
179 North Seven Oaks Drive
Knoxville, TN 37922


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Roman's Pizza in Knoxville Apr 04, 2008
reviewer: Mparker9 from Knoxville, TN

This place is fabulous! The owner is such an advocate for celiac! He makes WONDERFUL gluten free pizza. You must call in your order, but you can eat it there. He also has twice monthly gluten free buffets on Sundays where you can eat gf pizzas, calzones, stromboli, pasta, salad, and desserts--all homemade and all wonderful! You can also buy Domata Flour here, which is what he uses in the pizza crust. Be sure to check it out if in Knoxville!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Proof on Main
702 West Main Street
Louisville, KY 40202


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Proof on Main Restaurant in Louisville Apr 04, 2008
reviewer: Mparker9 from Knoxville, TN

Wonderful! The chef is very knowledgeable about celiac and will prepare anything on the menu gf. I had a wonderful rosemary chicken with asparagus. It is a bit pricey, but it is worth it to go to a trendy restaurant and not have to worry about the food.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Cafe Fraiche
3642 Old Brownsboro Road
Indian Hills, KY 40207


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Cafe Fraiche Apr 04, 2008
reviewer: Mparker9 from Knoxville, TN

Wonderful! The owner/chef has celiac and always keeps her homemade gluten free bread in stock to use. She serves mainly lunch fare...sandwiches, quiche, soups, salads...almost all which can be prepared gluten free. You can also order/purchase her sandwich bread, cinnamon raisin bread, and pizza crusts (all gf). They are the best I have ever tasted (better than whole foods) and only $4 a loaf! She also caters and makes fabulous desserts! Go check this place out!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Wok Hay
5018 Kingston Pike
Knoxville, TN 37919


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Wok Hay Apr 04, 2008
reviewer: Mparker9 from Knoxville, TN

Great Asian food. The staff is very knowledgeable about Celiac and gf preparation. I told my waitress that I needed a gf meal, and she immediately knew what I meant and brought the manager to tell me about my meal selections. I could choose from almost anything on the menu. They even had rice noodles on hand to substitute for egg noodles. They also had gf soy sauce for me to use. Really great experience.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Showing 1 to 22 of 22 reviews
| 1 |