Back


Reviews Written by Eagle:  



Showing 1 to 15 of 15 reviews
| 1 |


Stella Barra
11825 Grand Park Avenue
North Bethesda, MD 20852
United States

5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Wonderful gluten free pizza in Rockville, MD Jun 26, 2017
reviewer: Eagle

First off, this place is more in Rockville, than Bethesda, but these days, they call it North Bethesda. Now that we've clarified that (the location is off Rockville Pike - 355), let's get on to the menu. They have a Gluten Free Menu ( http://bucket2.stellabarra.com/wp-content/uploads/Stella_Barra_North_Bethesda_Gluten_Free.pdf?06-26-2017 ) which is primarily comprised of pizzas. That's what this restaurant is known for. And the gluten free pizza they offer is out of this world. Homemade crust. Delicious flavor, texture. Thin. Great toppings and plenty of GF combos available. They are all listed on the menu linked above.There are also starters and salads. We had the fresh local burrata mozzarella to start, served with grilled grapes, house GF bread, and olive oil and aged balsamic. Weird combination, but good! We shared two salads at our table, the Chopped Kale Salad and Caesar. There is also an Italian Chopped and one with gorgonzola and crispy prosciutto. There are red and white pizzas. We enjoyed the Classic Margherita and Shaved Mushroom. Wonderful! I could not stop eating it! A great place to go for quality GF pizza! They have three other locations -- 2 in southern California and one in Chicago.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

BJ's Restaurant and Brewhouse
3924 Lenox Avenue
Charlottesville, VA 22901
United States

5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Delicious gluten free pizza at Charlottesville restaurant Jun 26, 2017
reviewer: Eagle

We love this restaurant chain, so we were thrilled to see on a recent visit to Charlottesville, VA that they had opened a BJ's (back in October 2016). They have really delicious gluten free pizza, with various combinations and toppings that are gluten free. If you're not in the mood for pizza, that's fine, because there are some other options, including side and entree salads, starters, soups, stuffed potatoes, fire roasted barbacoa chicken, steaks, salmon, and prime rib. We ordered something new they just started offering: the Peruvian Quinoa Bowl, which is a quinoa rice blend topped with steamed spinach, mushrooms, caramelized onions, and tomatoes. Then, you can select a protein on top: chicken, salmon, or shrimp. We had the shrimp, and it was really good. Our son ordered a GF pizza, and of course, we saved room for their dessert specialty "Pizookie," which is a warm, deep dish cookie topped with ice cream. They have a gluten free chocolate chip variety. Yum, yum!! They are also very careful about GF meal prep at this restaurant chain. Always a good experience!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

The Zone
43811 Central Station Drive
Ashburn, VA 20147
United States

3.5 Palms
3.5 Palms
Entertainment center in Ashburn, VA has gluten free options Jun 26, 2017
reviewer: Eagle

Although you can't find the gluten free options online, this entertainment center for kids and adults does have a decent number of gluten free options on their menu. I can't recall all of the choices, since we visited there several months ago, but I ordered the chicken skewers and a salad. I do remember that there were other good options, enough that anyone GF would certainly find something good to eat here. The quality of the food is good, and our server told us they are looking to come out with a detailed gluten free menu. Hopefully they will post it online, too!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

California Pizza Kitchen
1151 Newport Center Drive
Newport Beach, CA 92660


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Always wonderful gluten free pizza at this restaurant in Newport Beach, CA Nov 29, 2016
reviewer: Eagle

California Pizza Kitchen offers 4 types of gluten free pizza that is prepared separately, using toppings, cheese, and sauce that is verified gluten free and kept away from the prep area for regular pizzas. There are also other varieties of pizza that can be made on their gluten free crust (which is delicious). The toppings just aren't kept separate, so there is always a small risk of cross contamination. There are also some nice entree salads and a Cedar Plank Salmon that are all marked with a symbol on the menu as using "gluten free ingredients." Getting a salad and gluten free pizza here makes a great meal. Their GF pizza is among the best I've ever had.

Was this review helpful to you?  
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

B.J's Restaurant and Brewhouse
11101 183rd Street
Cerritos, CA 90703


4.5 Palms
4.5 Palms
Some of the best gluten free pizza at this restaurant in Cerritos, CA Nov 17, 2016
reviewer: Eagle

This is a fast-expanding chain of restaurant that offers a wide range of menu options to please everyone. But they are known especially for their pizza, and that includes gluten free pizza. It is some of the best we've had anywhere. I think they make their own gluten free crust -- or at least have it made for them and shipped to their restaurants. It's not like a lot of other restaurants that use the same pre-purchased GF crust. This one is thin and a bit chewy, perfect texture in my opinion. All toppings are gluten free except for the meatballs. Our son ordered the Hawaiian (ham and pineapple) gluten free pizza, and I ordered the Garlic Chicken Pesto gluten free pizza. Both were outstanding. The only thing I'd change when ordering next time is to ask them to go easier on the garlic in the Garlic Chicken Pesto pizza...it was a bit overpowering! But very tasty other than that. There are other things on their Gluten Free Menu (available in the restaurants, but unfortunately no longer posted online). They have many salads that are gluten free, as well as soups, stuffed potatoes, and entrees like steak, chicken, and salmon. But pizza is the thing to order here if you are gluten free. It is awesome. Add a salad (many are gluten free) and be sure to save room for the Gluten Free Chocolate Chip Pizookie for dessert. It's a deep dish gluten free chocolate chip cookie, served warm and topped with vanilla ice cream. What a treat!

Was this review helpful to you?  
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

Slate Wine Bar + Bistro
2404 Wisconsin Avenue Northwest
Washington, DC 20007


4.5 Palms
4.5 Palms
Nice meal and range of gluten free offerings at DC restaurant Jun 05, 2016
reviewer: Eagle

We found this restaurant when trying to find a nice spot for dinner in upper Georgetown. Turns out they have quite a few selections on their menu that are gluten free! Plus, they are all marked with a GF ( http://slatewinebar.com/wp-content/uploads/Slate-Dinner.pdf ). I ordered the three-course tasting meal. I enjoyed the Pan Seared Scallops with bacon corn cream sauce for a starter, the Pan Seared Salmon Barigoule 20 for a main course, and amazingly delicious chocolate mousse for dessert. You could get wine pairings for an extra $20, but as we were on our way out to a college reunion that night, we had to pace ourselves in the way of alcohol so decided to forgo the wine with dinner! We sat upstairs, and I'd probably prefer to sit downstairs next time...it has a bit more atmosphere. But I'd definitely recommend this spot for a nice dinner, great food, and reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Casey's Cupcakes (in Fashion Island)
1041 Newport Center Drive
Newport Beach, CA 92660


4.0 Palms
4.0 Palms
Gluten free cupcake at Fashion Island bakery in Newport Beach, CA Feb 06, 2014
reviewer: Eagle

Casey's Cupcake only has one gluten free variety of cupcake -- Red Velvet. We bought several so our whole family could try them. Our boys loved them. Red Velvet is not my personal favorite, but they were good. My wife thought the frosting had a good flavor. You really would have no idea they are gluten free. Apparently, they are not baked in the store...they come from a facility in San Diego. Unfortunately, they don't have any other flavors that are gluten free -- not even as a special order. We'd just love to see them expand their gluten free offerings. But if you like Red Velvet cupcakes and are gluten free, I'd recommend a visit. They also have 5 other Southern California locations: https://www.caseyscupcake.com/locations/

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Lebanese Taverna
1840 International Drive
McLean, VA 22102


4.5 Palms
4.5 Palms
Gluten free Lebanese food in Tysons Corner, Virginia Jan 18, 2014
reviewer: Eagle

This restaurant, with 10 restaurants and cafes within the greater Washington DC Metro area, has many gluten free items on its menu, and they are all marked as such. You can view their menu for each restaurant online. This is the one for the Tysons location where we dined: http://bit.ly/1eTS6A4

Just click on the listing at the left to see the menu offerings by category: soup/salads, hummus, entrees, etc.

Everything is very good, and my favorite thing is their "spiced rice," which has a subtle cinnamon flavor. It is gluten free and can be substituted for any gluten-containing sides that might come with an otherwise gluten-free entree.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

California Tortilla
199 East Montgomery Avenue
Rockville, MD 20850


4.0 Palms
4.0 Palms
Gluten free options at Mexican restaurant in Rockville, Maryland Dec 20, 2013
reviewer: Eagle

We were trying to decide where to eat after seeing a movie at this shopping center. We'd heard California Tortilla had plenty of gluten free options, so we gave it a go. We asked for the manager, and he gave us a listing of what was gluten free (what meats, what toppings, etc.) The hard shell tacos ARE gluten free, as are the "bowls" (ingredients salad-style in a bowl) and salads, of course. So those of us that are gluten free stuck with those options, and there were plenty meats and toppings that were safe for us to eat. This is a good option for gluten free "fast" food that's healthier than burgers. They have many locations in Maryland, Virginia, DC, Delaware, Pennsylvania, and even Massachusetts.

Was this review helpful to you?  
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

Modo Mio
7946 East Coast Highway
Newport Coast, CA 92657


4.5 Palms
4.5 Palms
Gluten Free Options at restaurant in Newport Coast, CA Nov 20, 2012
reviewer: Eagle

We had a really nice dinner at Modo Mio in the Crystal Cove Promenade last night. One of their servers is severely gluten intolerant, and the chef is very aware about how to prepare a safe gluten free meal, watching out for cross contamination. We ate there with family members (who are not gluten free) who eat there all the time. They rave about the food and service and have become "regulars." There's another location in Brentwood, too, but I'm not sure if they have the same knowledge and savviness when it comes to preparing safe gluten free meals. It would pay to call them if the Brentwood location is convenient for you. Clearly, there are some things on the menu that are off-limits for anyone who is gluten free: the gnocchi, chicken parmesan or other breaded items, lasagne, ravioli, cannelloni. However, they offer a quinoa/corn gluten free pasta, and most of their sauces are gluten free. Most salads, appetizers, and meat/chicken/fish/seafood dishes are gluten free (or can be modified to be GF), so you have plenty of choices at this quant, delicious Italian restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Burton's Grill in Middlesex Commons Shopping Ctr.
43 Middlesex Turnpike
Burlington, MA 01803


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Delicious Gluten-Free Lunch at restaurant in Burlington, Massachusetts Mar 18, 2012
reviewer: Eagle

This restaurant has a great Gluten-Free Menu. In fact, they have two -- one for Lunch, and one for Dinner. We ate there for Lunch. Favorites ordered from the Gluten-Free Menu from our rather large party of diners included the Grilled Stuffed Zucchini appetizer, the amazing gluten-free FRIED calamari (amazing -- you'd never guess it was GF!), a cheeseburger with gluten-free bun, and salmon piccata. We were tempted by the vanilla bean creme brulee and the chocolate torte, both of which were gluten-free, but we were too full! Their Gluten-Free Dinner Menu is even more extensive -- and tempting. We'll have to go back again soon...I'd highly recommend this very GF-friendly restaurant!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Old Spaghetti Factory
2110 Newport Boulevard
Newport Beach, CA 92663


4.5 Palms
4.5 Palms
Gluten Free Pasta and Gluten Free Menu at California chain restaurant Nov 09, 2011
reviewer: Eagle from Newport Beach, CA

Old Spaghetti Factory has a gluten-free menu! And it's quite good -- a variety of yummy sauces to choose from over gluten-free pasta (you can even select TWO sauces) . And you can add a meat/protein on top of your pasta as well. And there's a delicious-sounding chicken breast which I haven't tried yet -- but will next time. Old Spaghetti Factory is also a great value for the money. They also have a GF Kids Menu.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Old Spaghetti Factory
110 East Santa Fe Avenue
Fullerton, CA 92832


4.5 Palms
4.5 Palms
Gluten Free Pasta and GF Menu in Fullerton, California Nov 09, 2011
reviewer: Eagle from Newport Beach, CA

I'd give Old Spaghetti Factory a "Five Palms" rating if they had more options on their gluten-free menu. But what they DO have is good...gluten-free pasta with lots of different (and interesting!) sauces to choose from -- not just marinara! And I had their chicken breast this time...marinated in garlic, lemon, and oregano and served with a side of delicious gluten-free pasta and sauce. Give this restaurant a try if you want a good value and some good GF pasta.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Red Robin
1509 New Britain Avenue
West Hartford, CT 06110


4.0 Palms
4.0 Palms
Red Robin always reliable for a gluten-free meal Aug 15, 2010
reviewer: Eagle

Red Robin has always been a reliable standby for a gluten-free meal. While they don't have a super-extensive gluten-free menu, there are enough things to choose from, and the fries are gluten-free! I usually order their turkey burger, which I really enjoy. You can get it plain, or served as with a "lettuce wrap." I do wish they'd start offering gluten-free hamburger buns...it wouldn't be that hard. There are plenty of good brands available that each location could have on hand in their freezer to defrost as needed for gluten-free customers. That way, they wouldn't have to worry about spoilage/the buns staying fresh, etc. There are a fair number of other options other than burgers and fries on their list of gluten-free options. You do need to request a gluten free "menu" (really more of a list in a binder) from the manager. I believe they update it every month, so it is always current. The managers I've encountered are always aware of the issues surrounding avoiding cross contamination, etc. But it's still wise to be vigilant and ask questions and be specific in your requests.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Bertucci's
44042 Pipeline Plaza
Ashburn, VA 20147


4.5 Palms
4.5 Palms
Bertucci's has a Gluten-Free Menu now! Jan 15, 2010
reviewer: Eagle from McLean, VA

We were so excited to learn that Bertucci's now offers a gluten- free menu. This used to be a favorite place of ours, for the pizza, as well as all the incredible entrees and pastas, but we hadn't been in ages. Since our son was diagnosed with Celiac, this hadn't seemed the best option for dining! But they just launched a gluten-free menu, and I must say it is one of the better ones we've seen from a restaurant chain. The one downside is that they don't have gluten-free pasta, which is why I'm giving it a 4.5 Palm rating, instead of 5 Palms. But other than that shortcoming, their gluten-free menu is quite extensive...with choices ranging from several g-f appetizers, a soup, numerous entree and side salads, 6 different entrees (something for everyone...steak, chicken, salmon, and vegetarian eggplant parm), and even TWO dessert choices. Our son ordered the Grilled Steak and Chicken Combo, which was nice because it wasn't just plain...the chicken had a light lemony sauce. It was served with delicious gluten-free mashed potatoes and fresh asparagus. All in all, healthy, tasty, and satisfying with plenty of food to take home leftovers! Now if they'd just get some good gluten-free pasta (and bread!), it would be close to perfect!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Showing 1 to 15 of 15 reviews
| 1 |