Back


Reviews Written by Irish:  



Showing 1 to 22 of 22 reviews
| 1 |


Grill 225
225 East Bay Street
Charleston,, SC 29401
United States

4.0 Palms
4.0 Palms
New Charleston resturant Mar 13, 2018
reviewer: Irish from Rockland County, NY

A restaurant found in the Market Pavillion Hotel. A very plush interior with classic dark wood paneling. Dinner started with escargot, probably the best I have ever had! As there were 3 of us, we shared the surf and turf special of a choice of a steak and Maine lobster served family style. A specialty there for quite a few meals. Although no separate gluten free menu, I was given two gluten free rolls which were delicious. The staff seemed to be very knowledgable about GF and presented many options for dinner, appetizers and dessert. A wonderful place to go on vacation or to celebrate a special occasion. Great southern charm!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

The Whale Wins
3506 Stone Way North
Seattle, WA 98103


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Gluten free at restaurant in Seattle Washington Oct 17, 2014
reviewer: Irish from Rocland County, NY

A delightful restaurant serving fresh local seasonal foods. Their menus is constantly changing as my nephew told me, so rare to have the same thing twice. Although they do not have a gluten free menu, most items were gluten free as they rarely use sauces on food. All are freshly made to order and some come served on bread, which can be eliminated on request. Our waitress was well aware of gluten free needs and guided us the entire evening. Foods are small plates and we ordered about 3 plates per person. Starting with matiz sardines and roasted carrots with fennel, next roasted clams that were outstanding. Serrano ham with butter that we could have eaten all night, marrow bones and ending with a roasted half chicken. All the food was exquisitely prepared and there was not anything I did not like after trying. Only thing that was missing for me was gluten free bread. I would recommend taking some with you so you can enjoy all the juices from clams and sardines! The dessert we had was the largest meringue that tasted like candy with a gooey center and French press coffee. It was probably the best gluten free meal I have ever had! Whale Wins is pricey but worth every penny. A must visit when in Seattle.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

The Mad Batter Restaurant and Bar
19 Jackson Street
Cape May, NJ 08204


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Gluten free menu at restaurant in Cape May, NJ Jul 19, 2014
reviewer: Irish from Rockland County, NY

A great family restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner. A full gluten free menu that is awesome. I would recommed reservations for dinner, but we were lucky and were able to sit immediately the first time be went without reservations. Very reasonable prices and friendly staff. It definately will be on my list for a return visit.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Uncle Bill's Pancake House
261 Beach Avenue
Cape May, NJ 08204


0.5 Palms
0.5 Palms
Breakfast/Lunch gluten free in Cape May, NJ Jul 19, 2014
reviewer: Irish from Rockland County, NY

A great family restaurant for breakfast or lunch. It is only open from 6:30am-2pm and does NOT take credit cards. It is cash only! Very kid friendly, huge portions and great value place while on vacation!
They have gluten free pancakes at all locations. I did not have them but had an omelet that was delicious.
A must to return too next year!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Tisha's
322 Washington Street
Cape May, NJ 08204


1.0 Palms
1.0 Palms
Gluten free in Cape May, New Jersey Jul 19, 2014
reviewer: Irish from Rockland County, NY

Excellent food served by a knowlegeable staff in a perfect Cape May setting. Although they do not have a dedicated gluten free menu, many of their dishes can be adapted, as each is freshly made to order. I had a delicious seafood risotto made with local scallops, little neck clams, with a fresh house salad. It is BYOB.
A beautifully decorated and very comfortable resturnant.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

NoPa Kitchen + Bar
800 F Street Northwest
Washington, DC 20004


4.5 Palms
4.5 Palms
Gluten free meal in Washington, DC Apr 25, 2014
reviewer: Irish from Rocland County, NY

We arrived in DC on a rainy night and wanted to get something to eat near our hotel. We ended up at NoPa, which is conveniently located near the Verizon Center. I ordered a burger and fries. The burger was delicious, although I had it without a bun, since they did not offer gluten free rolls. The fries are fried in a dedicated fryer, so they are safe and gluten free. I felt confident eating here, since our server seemed very well educated in regards to gluten free food.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Dolcezza Gelato and Coffee
1704 Connecticut Avenue Northwest
Washington, DC 20009


4.0 Palms
4.0 Palms
Gelato shop with gluten free gelato Apr 25, 2014
reviewer: Irish from Rocland County, NY

This gelato shop has other locations, too: in Georgetown, Bethesda, and Fairfax. Nothing is labeled gluten free, per se, but they could tell me what was and wasn't. It's a very small shop -- and very rustic feeling.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Madame Janette
Cunucu Abao 37
Noord,
Aruba

5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Wonderful Dutch cooking (and gluten free) in Aruba Apr 25, 2014
reviewer: Irish from Rocland County, NY

This was a quaint, family-oriented restaurant specializing in Dutch cooking. They gave me a list of things that were gluten free that I could eat, and they will adapt anything. All their sauces are made with corn starch -- so no gluten in them! I had a rack of lamb.

Was this review helpful to you?  
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful.

Ellioti's Ristorante Italiano
J.E. Irausquin Blvd.
Noord,
Aruba

4.0 Palms
4.0 Palms
Italian restaurant in Aruba -- somewhat gluten free friendly Apr 25, 2014
reviewer: Irish from Rocland County, NY

This restaurant was recommended by our cab driver, but I was a bit dubious about what I could eat. When we arrived, the hostess said that, yes, they could accommodate my gluten free diet and not to worry. But the waitress didn't seem real knowledgable, to be honest. But I ordered something safe -- a veal dish -- which was excellent. My friends enjoyed their meals immensely, too.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Passions on the Beach
252 J.E. Irausquin Boulevard
Noord,
Aruba

5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Gluten free friendly restaurant in Aruba Apr 25, 2014
reviewer: Irish from Rocland County, NY

Passions on the Beach has a separate Gluten Free Menu. It's right off the beach and is more for adults than children. It was a 15 minute ride from the Marriott Surf Club where we stayed. They have specials each night and quite a few gluten free dessert options, which was nice. I ordered Sea Bass and a Passions surprise mousse dessert. They also own another restaurant called Mango's, but we didn't get an opportunity to try it out.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Marriott's Aruba Surf Club
103 L.G. Smith Boulevard
Palm Beach,
Aruba

5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Gluten free in Aruba Apr 25, 2014
reviewer: Irish from Rockland County, NY

I just returned a few weeks ago from a wonderful vacation in Aruba. This was my first time there, and I was pleasantly surprised with how knowledgable people on the island were about gluten free and Celiac Disease. Everyone speaks English, and they know their foods well. I felt very safe eating there. I stayed with some friends in my time share at this Marriott Vacation Club resort. There are three other properties owned by Marriott -- all in a row on the same boulevard: Marriott's Ocean Club, Marriott's Resort and Stellaris Casino, and the Ritz Carlton. We ate at many of their restaurants, and I didn't have a problem anywhere. The Seaworthy's Pool Bar at the Surf Club was great for snacks, breakfast, lunch, or a light dinner. The women who waited on us all understood what gluten free meant. I could eat almost everything at the breakfast buffet, and we also got chips (GF) and salsa for snacks. They even will deliver food to the beach if you like. The Marketplace grocery store on site did not have many gluten free items (but we went to a Superfoods market nearby that had quite a good assortment of gluten free items in a section of the store -- many that you would find in the U.S., including gluten free pasta and crackers.

At the Marriott Resort and Stellaris Casino next door we dined at Simply Fish -- by candlelight on the beach. It's moderately expensive. I ordered branzino, a Mediterranean fish I'd never had before and loved (sometimes it's called European sea bass). There were probably only about two dishes on the entire menu that I couldn't have, but they probably could have modified them if I'd asked. Our waiter was very informed. We also dined at Ketsu Sushi Bar at this resort two times.

I want to note that the restaurants here are not Marriott owned and operated restaurants, but you can charge meals there to your room, which is convenient. There's also a Ruth's Chris Steakhouse in the hotel, and they are known for being very gluten-free friendly.

I'd recommend any of these Marriott properties (you don't have to have a time-share there) to anyone who is gluten free and looking for a relaxing and wonderful vacation with plenty of safe places to dine.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Simply Pasta
120 41st Street
New York, NY 11232


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Great Gluten Free Italian in New York City Dec 05, 2010
reviewer: Irish from Rocland County, NY, USA

New York City is becoming easier and easier to eat gluten free! On a recent trip to the city I planed to park and eat near Madison Square Theatre so as to avoid the traffic and the gridlock in the city at Christmas Time. “Simply Pasta” is located on west 41st St between Avenues of The Americas and Broadway. The website said and it was “gluten free friendly”, and a phone called revealed that they did have one gluten-free pasta but NO separate gluten-free menu. As I was with another gluten-free friend and three more guests, who all love Italian food, we decided to give it a try. We ordered drinks, one of which my friend reported was the best frozen margarita she had in a while! I had Gamberi alla Scampi - shrimp sauteed with garlic, parsley and white wine over gluten free fusilli, and my friend had Pollo alla Sausage - hot Italian sausage with chicken, broccoli rabe, and sundried tomatoes over fusilli, both which were so outstanding that after one bite we called the waiter over to question if it was gluten free! The manager/owner came over and assured us it was GF and told us it was a corn pasta by Sawmills. One of the few restaurants near Times Square that's both affordable and satisfying, it serves fairly standard (but delicious) pasta dishes. Every table had an affordable bottle of Chianti sitting on it, and most items on the menu were very reasonably priced. We lucked out being able to get a table for 5 on a Friday night without a reservation. I would suggest calling ahead. Happy dining!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

A Matter of Health
138 Rockland Plaza
Nanuet, NY 10954


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
A new grocery store with gluten-free foods in Nanuet, New York Oct 15, 2010
reviewer: Irish from Rockland County NY

A new market opened up in Nanuet, with health supplements, vitamins, fresh fruits and vetatables, a deli, dairy and pizza to go! They also have a juice and coffee bar and hot foods to eat in or to go. Many of the hot foods are GF and if not labeled the staff is very knowledgeable and can advise you as to safe choices. Tables and chairs are available in the upper level to enjoy your meal or just relax with coffee. it is a small store on the outside but is huge inside. It will become a regular stop for me as they have most every GF brand and prices are most reaonable and in some cases lower than the local big chains.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Wild by Nature
198 Main Street
Setauket- East Setauket, NY 11733


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
A great place for gluten-free groceries on Long Island, New York Oct 15, 2010
reviewer: Irish from Rockland County NY

This a full size, full service natural food store. It is an independent subsidiary of King Kullen Stores. It has large selections of gluten free products and also many frozen GF foods as well. A huge selection of fresh vegetables, fruits and meats, fresh and processed. They also have prepared meals for take-out and are very knowledgeable of ingredients so as to let you know about gluten in their prepared foods. It is real find on LI and with stores also in Hampton Bays, Huntington and Oceanside, GF foods are always available.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Davio's Northern Italian Steakhouse
236 Patriot Place
Foxborough, MA 02035


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Davio's restaurant at Patriot's Place has gluten-free menu Sep 13, 2010
reviewer: Irish from Palm Beach Gardens, FL, USA

I had a chance to attend the opening game of the Patriot's Football team in Foxboro this weekend. To my delight I found a real gem of a restaurant called Davio's right next to our hotel. They have an awesome gluten free menu with outstanding selections. The staff is fully aware of all GF preparations, our waitress told us she was notifying the chef and all staff waiting on our table! I had a goat cheese beet salad for appetizer and a pan roasted Maine lobster that was outstanding. My daughter in law (also gluten-free) had a rice pasta for an appetizer that was cooked to perfection. We were so full that we did not have dessert but there were a few options. I would say it's not really a good choice for a young child or a picky eater, a little gourmet but not over the top. Only negative if I had to give one, is that it's a bit noisy, I believe from building structure, very modern with lots of metal and glass. We went in around six and restaurant was not full, but as we were leaving hours later very noisy. It is in an outlet shopping center located outside the Patriots stadium. Reservations are best, a little pricy but well worth it, other locations are in Boston and Philadelphia and Atlanta.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Virago Baking Company & Cafe
620 South Broad Street
Lansdale, PA 19446


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Baking Company Apr 03, 2010
reviewer: Irish from Palm Beach Gardens, FL, USA

While in Lansdale PA I visited this bakery. It appears small but once inside you see extensive list of GF bakery products. Breads and rolls, breakfast pastries, tea cake loves, cupcakes and cookies etc. They have designated baking days and pans for their GF cooking. They also have a small cafe and lite lunches are available. Great place for morning coffee and pastry or even late afternoon! Most breads are frozen but most all other products are fresh but can be frozen to last longer I was told. I purchased a variety of slices of cakes, cup cakes and small pies for my Daughter in- law's Birthday. This way she had many things to try and by freezing them she will have them to enjoy longer. They do ship food, best to call to ask about the details. I was they the day before Easter Sunday and they were very busy with people picking up pre-ordered goods. A good find in a little city!

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Not Your Average JOE'S
645 Massachusetts Avenue
Arlington, MA 02476


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Not Your Average JOE'S' Apr 03, 2010
reviewer: Irish from Palm Beach Gardens, FL, USA

I was in MA this month and had to attend a function at this restaurant. As I was explaining to the waiter that I needed to eat GF, he whipped out a small but significant GF menu. I ordered the salmon with garlic potatoes and asparagus, it was delicious. For desert they offered butterscotch pudding that was awesome, like no butterscotch pudding I have ever had. So rich I could only eat half! This is safe haven for people with food allergies as they pride themselves on preparing food for people with special needs. It is also a kid friendly place. Open for lunch and dinner, I highly recommend this restaurant. Check out their printable online menu for list of foods and specials.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Slightly North Of Broad (S.N.O.B.)
192 East Bay Street
Charleston, SC 29401


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Charleston SC Feb 17, 2010
reviewer: Irish from Palm Beach Gardens, FL, USA

One of the most acclaimed restaurant's in Charleston has a gluten free menu. Slightly North of Broad located in downtown Charleston has a version of their regular menu that notes which items are gluten free. I had many choices that included fish, beef and lamb, however the trout dish sounded too good to pass up. Our knowledgeable waitress felt I could have it but would check with the chef. The fish was fine and with a change of the side to spinach mashed potatoes, I had awesome dinner. I ended the meal with a creme broule that was the best I have ever had. This truly was a wonderful dinner and one that I did not have to compromise in any way to eat gluten free! Reservations are a must will assure you of no wait. I also feel this is not a place for young children and only for young adults with good menu skills.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Bailey's General Store
2477 Periwinkle Way
Sanibel, FL 33957


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Sanibel-Captiva Grocery Store with lots of Gluten-Free Items Feb 15, 2010
reviewer: Irish from Palm Beach Gardens, FL, USA

No ned to take any food with you if you visit Sanibel or Captiva in Florida. Bailey's General Store is a full grocery store with large amounts of organic and gluten free products. You can shop in the store or have food delivered to your home or hotel. A six-page list of all their gluten-free foods is available on their web site. This a gem for anyone traveling needing GF foods for a vacation.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Iron Hill Brewery and Restaurant
130 Bridge Street
Phoenixville, PA 19460


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Iron Hill Brewery Feb 15, 2010
reviewer: Irish from Palm Beach Gardens, FL, USA

A wonderful restaurent with a gluten free menu available. Although they brew their own beers, GF Budwiser Red Bridge beer is available . Their GF menu is extensive, sandwiches are listed but come without bread, many salads and full meals. A very friendly place for a lunch or casual dinner. Prices are reasonable and fair. I visited on a Saturday and was able to make reservations which helped as it was very crowded. Iron Hill has 8 locations throughout PA and Delaware. It was a pleasent experience and one I will look for when traveling in the area.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Caviar & Bananas
51 George Street
Charleston, SC 29401


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Caviar & Bananas in Charleston Feb 15, 2010
reviewer: Irish from Palm Beach Gardens, FL, USA

Caviar & Bananas is a gourmet market and cafe located in downtown Charleston , SC. You can shop to go or eat in and enjoy a wonderful GF breakfast, lunch or dinner! All of their prepared food selections are clearly maked as to GF or not. The staff is very knowledable, friendly and helpful on all products sold in the Cafe. This was clearly a "find" in Charleston and one to visit often when visiting this wonderful city.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Kee Grill
14020 U.S. 1
Juno Beach, FL 33408


4.0 Palms
4.0 Palms
Great fresh fish! Apr 02, 2008
reviewer: Irish from Palm Beach Gardens, FL

This is a restaurant I went to many times during my visit to Florida from Jan to March 2008. There are very few items on the menu that would be off limits! The kitchen is very accommadating in preparing many of their fish dishes. It is not a place I would take young children. It is a little pricey but well worth every penny.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Showing 1 to 22 of 22 reviews
| 1 |