Back


Reviews Written by Celiac_Travel:  



Showing 1 to 19 of 19 reviews
| 1 |


El Viejo Almacen
799 Balcarce
Buenos Aires,
Argentina

3.0 Palms
3.0 Palms
Tango Night Dinner & Show in Buenos Aires May 29, 2013
reviewer: Celiac_Travel from , VA

The people here obliged my odd request with our accompanying tour guides Maria Julia's and Rodrigo's help. I was not feeling well by this evening, following my glutened lunch (gluten not intentionally consumed). The food everyone else received looked safe though I did not eat their menu offerings. Everyone's plate looked ample and delicious for meat-eaters. Meat is their specialty and fills a very large portion of the dinner plate. Argentinian grass-fed beef is world famous, very tender and delicious usually. A vegetarian diet is more restrictive. I asked for a few small boiled potatoes but could not eat the dry, overcooked potatoes they brought me. The banana and apple pieces served me well. I read online that they had fixed a wonderful Gluten-Free lunch for one reviewer. Our group dined in a separate building across the street from the El Viejo Almacen show.

The Tango Show was superbly professional, with its costumes, music, singing, lights and variety of works and flirting, handsome dancers. Exciting and just outstanding. Drinks were served at the show.

To read more about this trip, visit http://glutenfreeglobetrotter.com/2013/05/20/guest-post-glimpse-of-south-america-part-1

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Sheraton Libertador Hotel
799 Avenida Córdoba
Buenos Aires,
Argentina

4.0 Palms
4.0 Palms
Generous breakfasts with gluten free options in Buenos Aires May 29, 2013
reviewer: Celiac_Travel from , VA

Juan, a manager, in charge of our tour's welcome light meal was very helpful. Most of the food served that evening was Gluten-Free for everyone. Diners didn't recognize it as Gluten-Free, only good food. How nice to fit GF in so well.

In the breakfast area the following mornings, the waiter who helped me most also was another Enrique. When he knew he wasn't going to be at work the next days, he arranged for Rubin to help me. He conveyed ahead of time the Gluten-Free needs and all went very nicely. All were very helpful, gracious people in the dining area here. They recognized the cross-contamination issue and prepared a special omelet or dishes for me. Their GF bread was plain white toast, ordered and toasted at request. They served me 2 bags of small hard cookies for each breakfast. A kind offer but there is so much sugar with these GF cookies for breakfast. The staff was superb about fixing something separate Gluten-Free for me and most pleasant about it. The chef's omelets were delicious and quite large, custom-made. Wonderful.

By contrast, it was a tease seeing a smorgasbord on the regular breakfast buffet offering over a dozen different glutened beautiful breads and more. Dishes of sauces, jams, honey, etc. were not safe for Gluten-Free as I saw people dip into the spreads, touch their breads with the serving spoons or forks and return the serving piece to dishes. Libertador seemed pleased to bring me whatever I asked for so this was a good Gluten-Free place for breakfast.

It was at this hotel, however, that I got glutened when we ate downstairs in the lounge one late afternoon when their dining area was closed. I ordered risotto which should have been a safe selection. I showed my restaurant card. I was careful about ordering Gluten-Free and tried my best to be sure the waiter understood. The waiter said he understood. Even with best efforts, we don't know fully what happens in the kitchen and on the dish's way to the table. Point made.

To read more about this trip, visit http://glutenfreeglobetrotter.com/2013/05/20/guest-post-glimpse-of-south-america-part-1

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Various Restaurants in Argentina
115 Las Colinas
,
Argentina

1.0 Palms
1.0 Palms
No good gluten free food options on this airline May 29, 2013
reviewer: Celiac_Travel from , VA

We drove from Brazilian side of Iguassu Falls, to airport in Argentina to fly by LAN to Buenos Aires, Argentina. I asked LAN Airlines if they offered anything Gluten-Free. Check-in did not understand the question. I asked the stewardesses the same on the plane. I was handed a sweet potato chips bag. Sweet potato chips are fine usually, but I would not recommend LAN food based on this offering. The outside bag was sticky, I felt more than likely cross-contaminated with gluten from their service tray, and contents were extremely greasy. This would not be ideal for Celiac. I suggest anyone bring their own snack if desired.

They did offer beverages. The flight was 2 hours. All went safely with the flight.

To read more about this trip, visit http://glutenfreeglobetrotter.com/2013/05/20/guest-post-glimpse-of-south-america-part-1

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Porto Canoas, Brazilian side of Iguazu Falls National Park
Rodovia Br-469 Km 469 30
Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85853-830
Brazil

0.5 Palms
0.5 Palms
No place to purchase gluten free food May 29, 2013
reviewer: Celiac_Travel from , VA

Iguassu Falls National Park in Argentina is surrounded by subtropical jungle. In Argentina the park offered very little, if any, Gluten-Free food. The contrast between the Brazilian side lunch room and the Argentinian side eating space reminded my of Cinderella. I advise a Gluten-Free visitor to bring their own lunch or they might not find anything to eat. I did not spend our very short eating time looking to purchase Gluten-Free, as it was quickly apparent not much was Gluten-Free and safe. Servers did not understand Gluten-Free at all. Had I not brought my own food, I would have gone food hungry. The views are indescribable and abundant, conversely.

A cautionary note to visitors - the huge, lovely figs you see at the outdoor eating area are poisonous. Don't touch.

To read more about this trip, visit http://glutenfreeglobetrotter.com/2013/05/20/guest-post-glimpse-of-south-america-part-1

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Porto Canoas, Brazilian side of Iguazu Falls National Park
Rodovia Br-469 Km 469 30
Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85853-830
Brazil

5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Gluten free options available for dining here May 29, 2013
reviewer: Celiac_Travel from , VA

Gluten-Free very well done! Head chef Geraldo Alves de Souza, dressed in his whites and high head chef hat, personally and proudly walked me through each dish of all the food at the restaurant at these falls. Delightfully, most, but not every dish, is Gluten-Free, safely prepared, and delicious. This was an unexpected delight to enjoy in a public national park.

Both sides of Iguassu Falls form a UNESCO World Heritage Site and together are one of the 7 Natural Wonders of the World. People come here from everywhere in the world. Eating at both sides of the falls were very different experiences. Brazil's side is fabulous, and Argentina's side is most modest by contrast. Here, on Brazil's side, they have great variety and all is well-displayed. Tasty and safe for anybody, but especially a Celiac. I loved it. I see the site online and that's where I found Gerald's last name. He was wonderfully helpful, gracious and pleasant as was the entire staff. Kudos to all of them. If the view wasn't spectacular enough, having a delicious, fresh Gluten-Free meal made the afternoon.

It was on the Brazilian side of Iguassu Falls that I had a most unusual, if not entertaining, animal unintentional encounter. Coati (pronounced in English like qwatch-EE) are roaming scavengers similar to raccoons except they have elongated, highly flexible snouts, decent claws, and are thinner than their raccoon cousins. Signs everywhere post that you not feed any animals. Of course, we intended to comply. Our group posed for a professional picture. Obligingly, I took a stand alongside my husband. My purse is a bit larger to accommodate a day's Gluten-Free food as backup, just in case I need it so I slipped the bag behind my back for the photo. It suddenly felt heavier. I held it tighter, quickly turning to see why. In one brief flash, a coati had slipped open my bag's zipper and helped himself to my only clear-bagged fresh slice of Gluten-Free bread. Talk about discriminating taste. In a nanosecond, this short, 4-legged, clever and quick thief went over the very, very steep cliff and out of sight. This was not his first foray into thievery, obviously. The bonus: we may have witnessed the first coati Gluten-Free feeding in the wild.

To read more about this trip, visit http://glutenfreeglobetrotter.com/2013/05/20/guest-post-glimpse-of-south-america-part-1

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Mabu Thermas & Resort Iguassu Falls
2925-4075 Avenida das Cataratas
Foz do Iguaçu, 85853
Brazil

5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Fabulous gluten free dining at resort in Brazil May 29, 2013
reviewer: Celiac_Travel from , VA

Our initial contact was with Leticia Feldmann, Reservation Center, Leticia leticiaf@hoteismabu.com.br. She sent our advance request with dispatch and completely clearly so that dining every meal was easy at Mabu. Nothing appeared lost in translation. Mabu was well prepared for Gluten-Free and offered numerous flavorful selections.

One of the managers, Rosone Morques, was most helpful, sincere and very efficient in the dining areas at all times. I so appreciated her. When we checked in, she was fully prepared. Usually, I do this alone. Our tour guide Rodrigo wanted to come with me and he facilitated all more smoothly. I had every confidence Mabu understood. There aren't many hotels in Foz do Iguacu and we didn't want to go in town for a pizza joint or Oriental, so we had dinner here and we both were well satisfied - Gluten Free and not GF. Others in our group who tried in town were severely disappointed.

Mabu has a staff including nutritionists available for any dietary needs. Staff asked the nutritionists when I had any questions, just to be positive they understood our questions. I spoke with two nutritionists at Mabu (for dinner and breakfast) and was fully confident all understood Celiac. Others there were familiar with Gluten-Free. Alceu Vieira was helpful as well. All our questions were answered in a knowledgable manner about recipes. If not known, they promptly found the proper person to ask and quickly informed me.

Of interest were Mabu's hot dishes with butter. I was told by Alceu that the butter used in hot dishes is NOT Gluten-Free. Normally there is no gluten in butter but he cautioned me about this on several dishes.

Mabu offered a wide variety of fruit juices, soy/soya milk, cow's milk, teas, and other refreshments, eggs, meats, cheeses. They offered a Gluten-Free bland bread, no cereal nor couscous at breakfasts. They did not offer their more flavorful vanilla/chocolate Gluten-Free bread the second day which was disappointing as it was quite good, not too sweet. Alongside the coffee and teas was a small dish that looked like cocoa. It was, but it contains gluten. I was so glad I asked as one could not tell it wasn't only cocoa. Goes to remind us celiacs that nothing is obvious.

If one eats meat and dairy, the range is greater. I wish I took pictures here, but I was busy gobbling up the good food instead of snapping photos. Sorry, folks.

To read more about this trip, visit http://glutenfreeglobetrotter.com/2013/05/20/guest-post-glimpse-of-south-america-part-1

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

TAM Airline (a Brazilian airline)
97 Rua General Severiano
Rio de Janeiro,
Brazil

1.0 Palms
1.0 Palms
This airline doesn't understand Gluten-Free May 29, 2013
reviewer: Celiac_Travel from , VA

TAM Airline bills themselves as Brazil's largest and best airline. For what most want for flights, check-in was fairly easy and we arrived safely with no lost luggage. Our flight from Rio de Janeiro [RIO], Brazil to Iguassu Falls [IGU], Brazil was about 2 hours. Bring your own Gluten-Free snacks if you want anything to eat. The airline staff had no idea what Gluten-Free meant, whether you use a travel card or not. They do serve drinks.

To read more about this trip, visit http://glutenfreeglobetrotter.com/2013/05/20/guest-post-glimpse-of-south-america-part-1

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Churrascaria Estrela do Sul
97 Rua General Severiano
Rio de Janeiro, 22290-040
Brazil

5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Gluten free dining near a folk show in Brazil May 29, 2013
reviewer: Celiac_Travel from , VA

Estrela do Sul Rio Plaza in Botafogo area is a restaurant near The Plataforma folk show. It was filled with eye-appealing and tasty Gluten-Free selections.

Manager Luciano welcomed our group and all questions were promptly and clearly answered about what was Gluten-Free or dairy-free around the very large, generous bar of delicious preparations. Despite being busy, they were not too busy to graciously obtain answers about what contained gluten and what was safely Gluten-Free. The staff was efficient and upbeat despite being quick in order to assure we'd be on time for the show. It was a great and satisfying experience to see so much Gluten-Free selection. Everyone was accommodating and helpful. This was a generous menu, no doubt, Gluten-Free or otherwise. The tender special beef is the best in the world, we're told.

Whatever your appetite, bet you will be fully satisfied at Estrela do Sul. Then you can walk about a block and watch the folk show afterward.

To read more about this trip, visit http://glutenfreeglobetrotter.com/2013/05/20/guest-post-glimpse-of-south-america-part-1

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Guanabara Bay cruise from Gloria Marina
97 Rua General Severiano
,
Brazil

3.0 Palms
3.0 Palms
See Rio by water May 29, 2013
reviewer: Celiac_Travel from , VA

Start at Gloria Marina for an interesting way to see Rio from the water. The 2-hour boat ride info can be seen at http://www.saveiros.com.br/guanabara-bay-rj/daily-tour-around-guanabara-bay/?lang=en We saw modern and old cityscapes, neighborhoods - very different by water, old fortresses, boaters, Sugarloaf, Cristo Redentor, Brazilian Navy home port, airport to name a few. Among the architectural wonders, the Rio-Niterói Bridge we pass under is the longest prestressed concrete bridge in the southern hemisphere, and the sixth longest in the world. This was a most worthwhile outing in my opinion as we were able to see unique views of places not usually seen or easily accessible on land. There is plenty of shade or sun, depending on your preference. Be sure to bring your camera.

Our boat ride served drinks and fruits. Alcoholic beverages can be purchased. Food service is casual. We saw where and how food was prepared and distributed and we were not comfortable with their food handling practices, so we did not eat their offerings. I suggest you bring your own Gluten-Free snacks for safety reasons.

To read more about this trip, visit http://glutenfreeglobetrotter.com/2013/05/20/guest-post-glimpse-of-south-america-part-1

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Sugarloaf/Pao de Acucar
97 Rua General Severiano
Rio de Janeiro,
Brazil

1.5 Palms
1.5 Palms
Sugar Loaf by Cable Car May 29, 2013
reviewer: Celiac_Travel from , VA

Sugarloaf Mountain, a trademark of Rio, yields a different perspective. It's a natural landmark of granite rising from the shore. Its tropical vegetation allows you an upfront view of native plants extinct in other areas of Brazil's coast. You ride on either of 2 cable cars gliding swiftly, silently. The queue moves quickly. At 775 feet elevation, you are close enough to see sandy beaches, blue waters, boats, & birds soaring below you.

Amphitheater for entertainment, snack bars, a vintage cable car, shops, foot paths, breathtaking water, islands, & land views and a helicopter ride offer such variety. It's a marvelous experience when in Rio.

I advise bringing your own Gluten-Free snacks if you do not wish to risk cross-contamination with gluten. Ice cream, fruit drinks and cheese balls appear to be most popular without much wait.

To read more about this trip, visit http://glutenfreeglobetrotter.com/2013/05/20/guest-post-glimpse-of-south-america-part-1/

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Christ the Redeemer
850 Estrada da Cascatinha
Rio de Janeiro, 22261
Brazil

1.0 Palms
1.0 Palms
Cristo Redentor/ Corcovado Mountain, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil May 26, 2013
reviewer: Celiac_Travel from , VA

You can't imagine being atop Hunchback or Corcovado Mountain and what you will see and experience. Not to be missed. It is much more than a big statue. I recommend you bring your own Gluten-Free snacks, and a drink if you like. Restaurant cards seemed to not be understood by those serving visitors.

The views, history, being above clouds with birds flying below, experiencing the largest Art Deco statue in the world, and the eco-electric train to get there through the urban forest were fabulous. If you like photography, there is only one place like this.

The fresh squeezed mango drink was a refreshing highlight on a hot day. Divine, I dare say. After witnessing food handling I would not eat the pao de queijo - normally great small tapioca cheese balls - though tapioca is Gluten-Free ... not if you are on a strict Gluten-Free diet and want to be safe.

Focus on the positive and enjoy the sights. To read more about this trip, visit http://glutenfreeglobetrotter.com/2013/05/20/guest-post-glimpse-of-south-america-part-1/

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Brasileirinho Cozina Brasilera
5 Rua Almirante Gonçalves
Rio de Janeiro, 22060-040
Brazil

3.0 Palms
3.0 Palms
Brasileirinho Cozina Brasilera = Brazilian Cuisine May 26, 2013
reviewer: Celiac_Travel from , VA

Have a broad view of the South Atlantic on Atlantic Avenue. This venue is in the middle of everything but has a delightful island and Brazilian feel. Luana knew one of us in our tour group was going to be dining Gluten-Free.

Luana greeted all with a gracious smile for lunch. It was a good lunch and what I did have was tasty, seasoned and nicely served. My Gluten-Free meal was noticeably smaller than everyone else's because the crab dish, sauces and soups they make contain gluten.

Brasileirinho is on the road side of the beach in Copacabana Rio, with large windows so you don't miss a thing.

To read more about this trip, visit http://glutenfreeglobetrotter.com/2013/05/20/guest-post-glimpse-of-south-america-part-1/

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Bio Carioca [sounds like B.O Care.E.O.ka]
28 Rua Xavier da Silveira
Rio de Janeiro, 22061-010
Brazil

5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Bio Carioca in Rio - creatively delicious May 26, 2013
reviewer: Celiac_Travel from , VA

The name refers to native inhabitants of Rio. Their food is heavenly, healthy and beautiful and reasonably priced. The toughest part is making your choice. What a great place! Vegan, Organic, Gluten-Free, Lactose-Free and Sugar-Free signs upfront welcomed us. They serve "gastronomia natural gourmet."

The menu is coded for easy selections. They have daily specials. Ana Vasconcelos who runs Bio Carioca fully understood Gluten-Free but they offer glutened food too. She is in charge and does a fantastic job. She made us quite at home and fed us very well. We highly recommend Bio for a pleasant meal, dessert or a snack, whatever your taste yearns for.

It's near Rio Othon Palace Hotel -- out their side door and down about 1 block ... about 1 block off Copacabana oceanfront. Bio has a larger downstairs and a cozy first floor with a balcony. We ate satisfyingly well here. Bio filled every taste criterion possible for us.

Dishes are affordable. Many locals frequent Bio for lunch as it's quick, delicious and healthy fare. We spoke with several diners; you'll hear a variety of languages. Marvelous! You can sit or stand and watch chefs preparing the most beautiful taste pleasers. Each dish we tried was flavorful and gorgeous. They do carryout and delivery.

If you have special diet needs and want great tasting, nutritious food, do not miss Bio Carioca. They open 11:30AM to 6PM.
http://glutenfreeglobetrotter.com/2013/05/20/guest-post-glimpse-of-south-america-part-1/

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Rio Othon Palace Hotel
5 Avenida Atlântica
Rio de Janeiro, 22070-000
Brazil

4.5 Palms
4.5 Palms
Rio de Janeiro hotel & restaurant where they welcome gluten free guests May 25, 2013
reviewer: Celiac_Travel from , VA

Paulo Mattos is a wonderful gentleman who made arrangements before our arrival for several days' stay while on tour. He greeted us warmly in the SkyLab Restaurant at dinner and was tremendously helpful. The Skylab is perched atop the hotel and overlooks Copacabana beach and the Southern Atlantic. What a night view! The food was nicely presented and flavorful - mine was Gluten-Free and husband's was with gluten. The staff is not fluent in English but they succeeded in making us both most comfortable. Restaurant cards were perfect to have to make it clear that I needed Gluten-Free.

We ate breakfasts in various rooms with our tour. Staff was available at all meals to answer questions about what foods were celiac safe. Staff understood Gluten-Free content and preparation. Sidinei is the Maitre d' who helped most in Rio Othon Palace's breakfast areas, the main meals for us when traveling. He appeared to be more confident in communicating Gluten-Free information. Others assisted but Sidinei seemed most aware.

Our experiences indicated Rio does not serve cereal like the US does for Gluten-Free [GF] people. Each morning I was served my own special plate from the kitchen with 2 slices of 2 kinds of moist delicious cake and petit fours, attractively arranged. It was too much sugar for me although tasty. Their sweet coconut milk couscous is Gluten-Free, made with tapioca - delicious. Sidinei introduced me to naturally Gluten-Free pao de queijo - a must to try that's very nice and also tapioca based. This is a typical snack found at many places.

Rio Othon Palace offered a variety of milks, soy/soya milk, coffees and teas, fruits, meats, spreads, pastries not Gluten-Free, among other items. If I wanted something from the kitchen, they were prompt and happy to deliver a lovely product. A wonderful experience overall.

At most outside venues, servers did not understand gluten questions or my travel card.

Paulo suggested we try the restaurant Celeiro in Leblon but we didn't get there to try it.

To read more about this trip, visit http://glutenfreeglobetrotter.com/2013/05/20/guest-post-glimpse-of-south-america-part-1/

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Imperial Palace
4878 Princess Anne Road
Virginia Beach, VA 23462


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Restaurant in Virginia Beach safely pleases all appetites -- including gluten-free Aug 02, 2011
reviewer: Celiac_Travel from , VA USA

Gluten-free is delicious and easy at Imperial Palace. On a Saturday evening, we had family with young children, "regular" eaters, and adults with special diet needs. Everyone was satisfied. Imperial Palace can make it for you if it is in the kitchen. Imperial Palace will customize an order for you, even if it isn't on the menu. Imperial Palace has fat-free gluten-free noodles in addition to well-prepared foods normally gluten-free. They will tailor the heat and flavor to your request. They do NOT use MSG. The service is attentive but never bothersome. Food is always delicious, hot and pleasingly presented. With over 12 pages of menu, their offerings allow everyone a great selection. Soft live music is played Friday and Saturday evenings. Atmosphere is enhanced by a lovely decor, appropriate lighting, sound absorption, roomy booths, comfortable tables, linen cloths and napkins and 2 interesting and very well kept unusual aquariums. Dress however you prefer. Take-out and delivery are available. We've eaten here since Mira relocated and always have a wonderful dining experience, just the way we want. Imperial Palace is in a small shopping center at the corners of Baxter Road and Princess Anne in Virginia Beach. There is convenient parking steps from the doors.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Golden Corral (Redmill Commons Shopping Center)
2177 Upton Drive
Virginia Beach, VA 23454


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Restaurant in Virginia Beach that does gluten free well Dec 07, 2010
reviewer: Celiac_Travel from , VA USA

My appetite is always satisfied at this Golden Corral with good gluten free, tasty foods. There are several Assistant Managers and food specialists who understand the importance of gluten free food preparation and GF food separation from gluten-containing surfaces and foods. We discovered this Golden Corral to be very service friendly for Gluten Intolerance. Golden Corral's seasoning contains gluten. Several GC dishes are gluten free naturally, free of their added seasoning. If you choose to eat off the buffet bar, it's good to ask which foods have their seasoning each time, to be safe, in case someone did not follow the recipe. Golden Corral gladly steams "naked" vegetables for me, or serves me "new" fresh salad materials each time we visit. I eat mostly vegetarian and have other dietary concerns so this service makes a big difference. When you question any food dish about content, most GCs are pleased to pull ingredient labels to check to full satisfaction. This GC goes well beyond the average to make sure they serve my gluten free right. My husband and I eat here often and drive further for the security of safe gluten free eating. This Golden Corral is aware of their foods content more so than most buffet-style places. We have dined here many times for several years and I always come away full ... and have never been ill afterwards from accidental glutening. Its location is accessible to beach goers as well as shoppers and local people. If you go, please make sure to tell them if you are gluten intolerant so they can do their best for you too.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

NAVAN FOODS - The Allergy Free Food Shop
4312 Holland Road
Virginia Beach, VA 23452


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Shop safely in Virginia Beach for nearly any condition Aug 18, 2009
reviewer: Celiac_Travel from VA USA

**NOTE from GlutenFreeTravelSite: We have learned that the Navan Foods retail store will be closing at the end of August, 2011. However, you can still order ONLINE or by calling the number above. We have kept the review below that was submitted by a reviewer some time ago, so you can get a feel for the selection and service offered at Navan Foods. This is THE place to easily find whatever you need for just about any diet's needs near Virginia Beach. On vacation or living here, this is friendly, helpful 1-stop shopping, for large or small amounts. Owner Jennifer clearly labels all products with easy to read icons of avoidance, making it simple to shop by product banned. She clearly practices safe handling methods. If it's not on her shelves, which it most likely is, Jennifer wants to improve so discuss your needs and she tells you what she can do. She can split orders for best pricing. The weekly newsletter is fabulous, offering coupons, meetings, and all sorts of helpful issues. "Our mission is to provide the community with a trusted partner to assist anyone looking to better their health through safe food choices in the most socially responsible manner. ... We do the homework…you do the shopping with confidence. We offer you the widest selection of foods to meet your special dietary needs. While the store name refers to allergy free foods, many of the foods are formulated to meet the needs of other individuals with unique food requirements. We also have foods that fit into diets for: Celiac Disease, Illnesses affected by foods such as Food Protein Induced Enterocolitis Syndrome (FPIES), Eosinophilic Esophagitis (EE), Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD), Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD) and Vegan Diets." Go to Navan, see for yourself what a pleasant experience food shopping can be. For a map, hours, details, see site link.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Mespil Hotel
50-60 Mespil Road
Dublin 4, D04 E7N2
Ireland

5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Great Hotel for Gluten Free Guests in Dublin, Ireland Aug 17, 2009
reviewer: Celiac_Travel

MESPIL HOTEL, a quality Dublin city centre hotel, centrally located in Ballsbridge Dublin 4, in County Dublin, Ireland – When I entered the restaurant for breakfast, the manager paging “the gluten-free guest” greeted me. He had prepared a new box of gluten-free cereal, a sweetener, and bread - each labeled with my name – as well as a new cold carton of soymilk. All were gluten-free. I combined these items with preserves, fresh fruits and coffee for a first class breakfast and a great start for touring Dublin and Ireland. The Mespil is situated at Baggot Street Bridge, within Georgian Dublin, an elegant and stylish part of Dublin city centre and just 15 minutes walk from St. Stephens Green.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Killarney Avenue Hotel
73-75 Kenmare Place
Killarney,
Ireland

5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Great Hotel in Kerry, Ireland Aug 17, 2009
reviewer: Celiac_Travel

KILLARNEY AVENUE HOTEL in Killarney, County Kerry, Ireland – Our Trafalgar tour included breakfast and dinner in this hotel. For both meals, Restaurant Manager Norman reserved a separate table for me and my husband, at Chef Khairul’s request. The chef came to meet us, saying he was responsible for us and wanted to ensure the best for our dining experience. He and his staff took every precaution to avert cross- contamination. Both meals were delightfully varied, fully flavorful, served attractively and in complete compliance with safe gluten-free requirements. We were told they hosted 35 Celiacs (Coeliacs) not long ago so all staff members were aware of Celiac which requires a gluten-free diet, as well as safe food handling and the consequences if not followed carefully. I soon knew I was in a truly “safe” environment for my food concerns. The Killarney Avenue Hotel was a true joy, not having to question every ingredient or method each step of the way. Every staff member exhibited understanding, and courteous compliance in a friendly, professional manner. During our dining visits, the manager came several times to our table to assure that all things were well and the chef came to our table to discuss how he prepared for my arrival. They made me feel completely at home away from home. Additionally, I let them know what a superb job they do. Upon arrival at Killarney Avenue Hotel, I was handed a list of what I could safely eat, items which were either on the menu or would be prepared for me while I was their guest. They were terrific in every aspect. They fully addressed every one of my diet concerns, the first time, every time we dined with them. Killarney Avenue Hotel is in the town centre and facing the Golden Gate entrance to Killarney's National Park. Email: sales@odonoghue-ring-hotels.com Around the corner from the Killarney Avenue Hotel was Murphy's, a safe, fresh ice cream shop to indulge in unusual and regular flavors as a Celiac. Yummy! One other hotel we stayed at on our tour also deserves special recognition for their professionalism and attentiveness to my diet requirements, and that was the Mespil Hotel in County Dublin, Dublin, Ireland. (Review posted separately.)

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Showing 1 to 19 of 19 reviews
| 1 |