Back


Reviews Written by Celiac_Travel:  



Showing 1 to 5 of 19 reviews
| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4     Next | - View All


El Viejo Almacen
799 Balcarce
Buenos Aires,
Argentina

3.0 Palms
3.0 Palms
Tango Night Dinner & Show in Buenos Aires May 29, 2013
reviewer: Celiac_Travel from , VA

The people here obliged my odd request with our accompanying tour guides Maria Julia's and Rodrigo's help. I was not feeling well by this evening, following my glutened lunch (gluten not intentionally consumed). The food everyone else received looked safe though I did not eat their menu offerings. Everyone's plate looked ample and delicious for meat-eaters. Meat is their specialty and fills a very large portion of the dinner plate. Argentinian grass-fed beef is world famous, very tender and delicious usually. A vegetarian diet is more restrictive. I asked for a few small boiled potatoes but could not eat the dry, overcooked potatoes they brought me. The banana and apple pieces served me well. I read online that they had fixed a wonderful Gluten-Free lunch for one reviewer. Our group dined in a separate building across the street from the El Viejo Almacen show.

The Tango Show was superbly professional, with its costumes, music, singing, lights and variety of works and flirting, handsome dancers. Exciting and just outstanding. Drinks were served at the show.

To read more about this trip, visit http://glutenfreeglobetrotter.com/2013/05/20/guest-post-glimpse-of-south-america-part-1

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Sheraton Libertador Hotel
799 Avenida Córdoba
Buenos Aires,
Argentina

4.0 Palms
4.0 Palms
Generous breakfasts with gluten free options in Buenos Aires May 29, 2013
reviewer: Celiac_Travel from , VA

Juan, a manager, in charge of our tour's welcome light meal was very helpful. Most of the food served that evening was Gluten-Free for everyone. Diners didn't recognize it as Gluten-Free, only good food. How nice to fit GF in so well.

In the breakfast area the following mornings, the waiter who helped me most also was another Enrique. When he knew he wasn't going to be at work the next days, he arranged for Rubin to help me. He conveyed ahead of time the Gluten-Free needs and all went very nicely. All were very helpful, gracious people in the dining area here. They recognized the cross-contamination issue and prepared a special omelet or dishes for me. Their GF bread was plain white toast, ordered and toasted at request. They served me 2 bags of small hard cookies for each breakfast. A kind offer but there is so much sugar with these GF cookies for breakfast. The staff was superb about fixing something separate Gluten-Free for me and most pleasant about it. The chef's omelets were delicious and quite large, custom-made. Wonderful.

By contrast, it was a tease seeing a smorgasbord on the regular breakfast buffet offering over a dozen different glutened beautiful breads and more. Dishes of sauces, jams, honey, etc. were not safe for Gluten-Free as I saw people dip into the spreads, touch their breads with the serving spoons or forks and return the serving piece to dishes. Libertador seemed pleased to bring me whatever I asked for so this was a good Gluten-Free place for breakfast.

It was at this hotel, however, that I got glutened when we ate downstairs in the lounge one late afternoon when their dining area was closed. I ordered risotto which should have been a safe selection. I showed my restaurant card. I was careful about ordering Gluten-Free and tried my best to be sure the waiter understood. The waiter said he understood. Even with best efforts, we don't know fully what happens in the kitchen and on the dish's way to the table. Point made.

To read more about this trip, visit http://glutenfreeglobetrotter.com/2013/05/20/guest-post-glimpse-of-south-america-part-1

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Various Restaurants in Argentina
115 Las Colinas
,
Argentina

1.0 Palms
1.0 Palms
No good gluten free food options on this airline May 29, 2013
reviewer: Celiac_Travel from , VA

We drove from Brazilian side of Iguassu Falls, to airport in Argentina to fly by LAN to Buenos Aires, Argentina. I asked LAN Airlines if they offered anything Gluten-Free. Check-in did not understand the question. I asked the stewardesses the same on the plane. I was handed a sweet potato chips bag. Sweet potato chips are fine usually, but I would not recommend LAN food based on this offering. The outside bag was sticky, I felt more than likely cross-contaminated with gluten from their service tray, and contents were extremely greasy. This would not be ideal for Celiac. I suggest anyone bring their own snack if desired.

They did offer beverages. The flight was 2 hours. All went safely with the flight.

To read more about this trip, visit http://glutenfreeglobetrotter.com/2013/05/20/guest-post-glimpse-of-south-america-part-1

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Porto Canoas, Brazilian side of Iguazu Falls National Park
Rodovia Br-469 Km 469 30
Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85853-830
Brazil

0.5 Palms
0.5 Palms
No place to purchase gluten free food May 29, 2013
reviewer: Celiac_Travel from , VA

Iguassu Falls National Park in Argentina is surrounded by subtropical jungle. In Argentina the park offered very little, if any, Gluten-Free food. The contrast between the Brazilian side lunch room and the Argentinian side eating space reminded my of Cinderella. I advise a Gluten-Free visitor to bring their own lunch or they might not find anything to eat. I did not spend our very short eating time looking to purchase Gluten-Free, as it was quickly apparent not much was Gluten-Free and safe. Servers did not understand Gluten-Free at all. Had I not brought my own food, I would have gone food hungry. The views are indescribable and abundant, conversely.

A cautionary note to visitors - the huge, lovely figs you see at the outdoor eating area are poisonous. Don't touch.

To read more about this trip, visit http://glutenfreeglobetrotter.com/2013/05/20/guest-post-glimpse-of-south-america-part-1

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Porto Canoas, Brazilian side of Iguazu Falls National Park
Rodovia Br-469 Km 469 30
Foz do Iguacu, State of Parana 85853-830
Brazil

5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Gluten free options available for dining here May 29, 2013
reviewer: Celiac_Travel from , VA

Gluten-Free very well done! Head chef Geraldo Alves de Souza, dressed in his whites and high head chef hat, personally and proudly walked me through each dish of all the food at the restaurant at these falls. Delightfully, most, but not every dish, is Gluten-Free, safely prepared, and delicious. This was an unexpected delight to enjoy in a public national park.

Both sides of Iguassu Falls form a UNESCO World Heritage Site and together are one of the 7 Natural Wonders of the World. People come here from everywhere in the world. Eating at both sides of the falls were very different experiences. Brazil's side is fabulous, and Argentina's side is most modest by contrast. Here, on Brazil's side, they have great variety and all is well-displayed. Tasty and safe for anybody, but especially a Celiac. I loved it. I see the site online and that's where I found Gerald's last name. He was wonderfully helpful, gracious and pleasant as was the entire staff. Kudos to all of them. If the view wasn't spectacular enough, having a delicious, fresh Gluten-Free meal made the afternoon.

It was on the Brazilian side of Iguassu Falls that I had a most unusual, if not entertaining, animal unintentional encounter. Coati (pronounced in English like qwatch-EE) are roaming scavengers similar to raccoons except they have elongated, highly flexible snouts, decent claws, and are thinner than their raccoon cousins. Signs everywhere post that you not feed any animals. Of course, we intended to comply. Our group posed for a professional picture. Obligingly, I took a stand alongside my husband. My purse is a bit larger to accommodate a day's Gluten-Free food as backup, just in case I need it so I slipped the bag behind my back for the photo. It suddenly felt heavier. I held it tighter, quickly turning to see why. In one brief flash, a coati had slipped open my bag's zipper and helped himself to my only clear-bagged fresh slice of Gluten-Free bread. Talk about discriminating taste. In a nanosecond, this short, 4-legged, clever and quick thief went over the very, very steep cliff and out of sight. This was not his first foray into thievery, obviously. The bonus: we may have witnessed the first coati Gluten-Free feeding in the wild.

To read more about this trip, visit http://glutenfreeglobetrotter.com/2013/05/20/guest-post-glimpse-of-south-america-part-1

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Showing 1 to 5 of 19 reviews
| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4     Next | - View All