Back


Reviews Written by Celiac_Travel:  



Showing 11 to 15 of 19 reviews
| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4     Next     Prev | - View All


Christ the Redeemer
850 Estrada da Cascatinha
Rio de Janeiro, 22261
Brazil

1.0 Palms
1.0 Palms
Cristo Redentor/ Corcovado Mountain, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil May 26, 2013
reviewer: Celiac_Travel from , VA

You can't imagine being atop Hunchback or Corcovado Mountain and what you will see and experience. Not to be missed. It is much more than a big statue. I recommend you bring your own Gluten-Free snacks, and a drink if you like. Restaurant cards seemed to not be understood by those serving visitors.

The views, history, being above clouds with birds flying below, experiencing the largest Art Deco statue in the world, and the eco-electric train to get there through the urban forest were fabulous. If you like photography, there is only one place like this.

The fresh squeezed mango drink was a refreshing highlight on a hot day. Divine, I dare say. After witnessing food handling I would not eat the pao de queijo - normally great small tapioca cheese balls - though tapioca is Gluten-Free ... not if you are on a strict Gluten-Free diet and want to be safe.

Focus on the positive and enjoy the sights. To read more about this trip, visit http://glutenfreeglobetrotter.com/2013/05/20/guest-post-glimpse-of-south-america-part-1/

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Brasileirinho Cozina Brasilera
5 Rua Almirante Gonçalves
Rio de Janeiro, 22060-040
Brazil

3.0 Palms
3.0 Palms
Brasileirinho Cozina Brasilera = Brazilian Cuisine May 26, 2013
reviewer: Celiac_Travel from , VA

Have a broad view of the South Atlantic on Atlantic Avenue. This venue is in the middle of everything but has a delightful island and Brazilian feel. Luana knew one of us in our tour group was going to be dining Gluten-Free.

Luana greeted all with a gracious smile for lunch. It was a good lunch and what I did have was tasty, seasoned and nicely served. My Gluten-Free meal was noticeably smaller than everyone else's because the crab dish, sauces and soups they make contain gluten.

Brasileirinho is on the road side of the beach in Copacabana Rio, with large windows so you don't miss a thing.

To read more about this trip, visit http://glutenfreeglobetrotter.com/2013/05/20/guest-post-glimpse-of-south-america-part-1/

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Bio Carioca [sounds like B.O Care.E.O.ka]
28 Rua Xavier da Silveira
Rio de Janeiro, 22061-010
Brazil

5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Bio Carioca in Rio - creatively delicious May 26, 2013
reviewer: Celiac_Travel from , VA

The name refers to native inhabitants of Rio. Their food is heavenly, healthy and beautiful and reasonably priced. The toughest part is making your choice. What a great place! Vegan, Organic, Gluten-Free, Lactose-Free and Sugar-Free signs upfront welcomed us. They serve "gastronomia natural gourmet."

The menu is coded for easy selections. They have daily specials. Ana Vasconcelos who runs Bio Carioca fully understood Gluten-Free but they offer glutened food too. She is in charge and does a fantastic job. She made us quite at home and fed us very well. We highly recommend Bio for a pleasant meal, dessert or a snack, whatever your taste yearns for.

It's near Rio Othon Palace Hotel -- out their side door and down about 1 block ... about 1 block off Copacabana oceanfront. Bio has a larger downstairs and a cozy first floor with a balcony. We ate satisfyingly well here. Bio filled every taste criterion possible for us.

Dishes are affordable. Many locals frequent Bio for lunch as it's quick, delicious and healthy fare. We spoke with several diners; you'll hear a variety of languages. Marvelous! You can sit or stand and watch chefs preparing the most beautiful taste pleasers. Each dish we tried was flavorful and gorgeous. They do carryout and delivery.

If you have special diet needs and want great tasting, nutritious food, do not miss Bio Carioca. They open 11:30AM to 6PM.
http://glutenfreeglobetrotter.com/2013/05/20/guest-post-glimpse-of-south-america-part-1/

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Rio Othon Palace Hotel
5 Avenida Atlântica
Rio de Janeiro, 22070-000
Brazil

4.5 Palms
4.5 Palms
Rio de Janeiro hotel & restaurant where they welcome gluten free guests May 25, 2013
reviewer: Celiac_Travel from , VA

Paulo Mattos is a wonderful gentleman who made arrangements before our arrival for several days' stay while on tour. He greeted us warmly in the SkyLab Restaurant at dinner and was tremendously helpful. The Skylab is perched atop the hotel and overlooks Copacabana beach and the Southern Atlantic. What a night view! The food was nicely presented and flavorful - mine was Gluten-Free and husband's was with gluten. The staff is not fluent in English but they succeeded in making us both most comfortable. Restaurant cards were perfect to have to make it clear that I needed Gluten-Free.

We ate breakfasts in various rooms with our tour. Staff was available at all meals to answer questions about what foods were celiac safe. Staff understood Gluten-Free content and preparation. Sidinei is the Maitre d' who helped most in Rio Othon Palace's breakfast areas, the main meals for us when traveling. He appeared to be more confident in communicating Gluten-Free information. Others assisted but Sidinei seemed most aware.

Our experiences indicated Rio does not serve cereal like the US does for Gluten-Free [GF] people. Each morning I was served my own special plate from the kitchen with 2 slices of 2 kinds of moist delicious cake and petit fours, attractively arranged. It was too much sugar for me although tasty. Their sweet coconut milk couscous is Gluten-Free, made with tapioca - delicious. Sidinei introduced me to naturally Gluten-Free pao de queijo - a must to try that's very nice and also tapioca based. This is a typical snack found at many places.

Rio Othon Palace offered a variety of milks, soy/soya milk, coffees and teas, fruits, meats, spreads, pastries not Gluten-Free, among other items. If I wanted something from the kitchen, they were prompt and happy to deliver a lovely product. A wonderful experience overall.

At most outside venues, servers did not understand gluten questions or my travel card.

Paulo suggested we try the restaurant Celeiro in Leblon but we didn't get there to try it.

To read more about this trip, visit http://glutenfreeglobetrotter.com/2013/05/20/guest-post-glimpse-of-south-america-part-1/

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Imperial Palace
4878 Princess Anne Road
Virginia Beach, VA 23462


5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Restaurant in Virginia Beach safely pleases all appetites -- including gluten-free Aug 02, 2011
reviewer: Celiac_Travel from , VA USA

Gluten-free is delicious and easy at Imperial Palace. On a Saturday evening, we had family with young children, "regular" eaters, and adults with special diet needs. Everyone was satisfied. Imperial Palace can make it for you if it is in the kitchen. Imperial Palace will customize an order for you, even if it isn't on the menu. Imperial Palace has fat-free gluten-free noodles in addition to well-prepared foods normally gluten-free. They will tailor the heat and flavor to your request. They do NOT use MSG. The service is attentive but never bothersome. Food is always delicious, hot and pleasingly presented. With over 12 pages of menu, their offerings allow everyone a great selection. Soft live music is played Friday and Saturday evenings. Atmosphere is enhanced by a lovely decor, appropriate lighting, sound absorption, roomy booths, comfortable tables, linen cloths and napkins and 2 interesting and very well kept unusual aquariums. Dress however you prefer. Take-out and delivery are available. We've eaten here since Mira relocated and always have a wonderful dining experience, just the way we want. Imperial Palace is in a small shopping center at the corners of Baxter Road and Princess Anne in Virginia Beach. There is convenient parking steps from the doors.

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Showing 11 to 15 of 19 reviews
| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4     Next     Prev | - View All