Back


Reviews Written by Celiac_Travel:  



Showing 6 to 10 of 19 reviews
| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4     Next     Prev | - View All


Mabu Thermas & Resort Iguassu Falls
2925-4075 Avenida das Cataratas
Foz do Iguaçu, 85853
Brazil

5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Fabulous gluten free dining at resort in Brazil May 29, 2013
reviewer: Celiac_Travel from , VA

Our initial contact was with Leticia Feldmann, Reservation Center, Leticia leticiaf@hoteismabu.com.br. She sent our advance request with dispatch and completely clearly so that dining every meal was easy at Mabu. Nothing appeared lost in translation. Mabu was well prepared for Gluten-Free and offered numerous flavorful selections.

One of the managers, Rosone Morques, was most helpful, sincere and very efficient in the dining areas at all times. I so appreciated her. When we checked in, she was fully prepared. Usually, I do this alone. Our tour guide Rodrigo wanted to come with me and he facilitated all more smoothly. I had every confidence Mabu understood. There aren't many hotels in Foz do Iguacu and we didn't want to go in town for a pizza joint or Oriental, so we had dinner here and we both were well satisfied - Gluten Free and not GF. Others in our group who tried in town were severely disappointed.

Mabu has a staff including nutritionists available for any dietary needs. Staff asked the nutritionists when I had any questions, just to be positive they understood our questions. I spoke with two nutritionists at Mabu (for dinner and breakfast) and was fully confident all understood Celiac. Others there were familiar with Gluten-Free. Alceu Vieira was helpful as well. All our questions were answered in a knowledgable manner about recipes. If not known, they promptly found the proper person to ask and quickly informed me.

Of interest were Mabu's hot dishes with butter. I was told by Alceu that the butter used in hot dishes is NOT Gluten-Free. Normally there is no gluten in butter but he cautioned me about this on several dishes.

Mabu offered a wide variety of fruit juices, soy/soya milk, cow's milk, teas, and other refreshments, eggs, meats, cheeses. They offered a Gluten-Free bland bread, no cereal nor couscous at breakfasts. They did not offer their more flavorful vanilla/chocolate Gluten-Free bread the second day which was disappointing as it was quite good, not too sweet. Alongside the coffee and teas was a small dish that looked like cocoa. It was, but it contains gluten. I was so glad I asked as one could not tell it wasn't only cocoa. Goes to remind us celiacs that nothing is obvious.

If one eats meat and dairy, the range is greater. I wish I took pictures here, but I was busy gobbling up the good food instead of snapping photos. Sorry, folks.

To read more about this trip, visit http://glutenfreeglobetrotter.com/2013/05/20/guest-post-glimpse-of-south-america-part-1

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

TAM Airline (a Brazilian airline)
97 Rua General Severiano
Rio de Janeiro,
Brazil

1.0 Palms
1.0 Palms
This airline doesn't understand Gluten-Free May 29, 2013
reviewer: Celiac_Travel from , VA

TAM Airline bills themselves as Brazil's largest and best airline. For what most want for flights, check-in was fairly easy and we arrived safely with no lost luggage. Our flight from Rio de Janeiro [RIO], Brazil to Iguassu Falls [IGU], Brazil was about 2 hours. Bring your own Gluten-Free snacks if you want anything to eat. The airline staff had no idea what Gluten-Free meant, whether you use a travel card or not. They do serve drinks.

To read more about this trip, visit http://glutenfreeglobetrotter.com/2013/05/20/guest-post-glimpse-of-south-america-part-1

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Churrascaria Estrela do Sul
97 Rua General Severiano
Rio de Janeiro, 22290-040
Brazil

5.0 Palms
5.0 Palms
Gluten free dining near a folk show in Brazil May 29, 2013
reviewer: Celiac_Travel from , VA

Estrela do Sul Rio Plaza in Botafogo area is a restaurant near The Plataforma folk show. It was filled with eye-appealing and tasty Gluten-Free selections.

Manager Luciano welcomed our group and all questions were promptly and clearly answered about what was Gluten-Free or dairy-free around the very large, generous bar of delicious preparations. Despite being busy, they were not too busy to graciously obtain answers about what contained gluten and what was safely Gluten-Free. The staff was efficient and upbeat despite being quick in order to assure we'd be on time for the show. It was a great and satisfying experience to see so much Gluten-Free selection. Everyone was accommodating and helpful. This was a generous menu, no doubt, Gluten-Free or otherwise. The tender special beef is the best in the world, we're told.

Whatever your appetite, bet you will be fully satisfied at Estrela do Sul. Then you can walk about a block and watch the folk show afterward.

To read more about this trip, visit http://glutenfreeglobetrotter.com/2013/05/20/guest-post-glimpse-of-south-america-part-1

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Guanabara Bay cruise from Gloria Marina
97 Rua General Severiano
,
Brazil

3.0 Palms
3.0 Palms
See Rio by water May 29, 2013
reviewer: Celiac_Travel from , VA

Start at Gloria Marina for an interesting way to see Rio from the water. The 2-hour boat ride info can be seen at http://www.saveiros.com.br/guanabara-bay-rj/daily-tour-around-guanabara-bay/?lang=en We saw modern and old cityscapes, neighborhoods - very different by water, old fortresses, boaters, Sugarloaf, Cristo Redentor, Brazilian Navy home port, airport to name a few. Among the architectural wonders, the Rio-Niterói Bridge we pass under is the longest prestressed concrete bridge in the southern hemisphere, and the sixth longest in the world. This was a most worthwhile outing in my opinion as we were able to see unique views of places not usually seen or easily accessible on land. There is plenty of shade or sun, depending on your preference. Be sure to bring your camera.

Our boat ride served drinks and fruits. Alcoholic beverages can be purchased. Food service is casual. We saw where and how food was prepared and distributed and we were not comfortable with their food handling practices, so we did not eat their offerings. I suggest you bring your own Gluten-Free snacks for safety reasons.

To read more about this trip, visit http://glutenfreeglobetrotter.com/2013/05/20/guest-post-glimpse-of-south-america-part-1

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Sugarloaf/Pao de Acucar
97 Rua General Severiano
Rio de Janeiro,
Brazil

1.5 Palms
1.5 Palms
Sugar Loaf by Cable Car May 29, 2013
reviewer: Celiac_Travel from , VA

Sugarloaf Mountain, a trademark of Rio, yields a different perspective. It's a natural landmark of granite rising from the shore. Its tropical vegetation allows you an upfront view of native plants extinct in other areas of Brazil's coast. You ride on either of 2 cable cars gliding swiftly, silently. The queue moves quickly. At 775 feet elevation, you are close enough to see sandy beaches, blue waters, boats, & birds soaring below you.

Amphitheater for entertainment, snack bars, a vintage cable car, shops, foot paths, breathtaking water, islands, & land views and a helicopter ride offer such variety. It's a marvelous experience when in Rio.

I advise bringing your own Gluten-Free snacks if you do not wish to risk cross-contamination with gluten. Ice cream, fruit drinks and cheese balls appear to be most popular without much wait.

To read more about this trip, visit http://glutenfreeglobetrotter.com/2013/05/20/guest-post-glimpse-of-south-america-part-1/

Was this review helpful to you?  
0 of 0 people found the following review helpful.

Showing 6 to 10 of 19 reviews
| 1 | 2 | 3 | 4     Next     Prev | - View All