Travel Resources: Churches and Gluten Free Communion Wafers

Gluten Free Churches and Communion Wafers

We recently began encouraging users of our site to submit "reviews" of churches offering gluten-free communion. If you or someone you know attends a church that offers gluten-free communion wafers/hosts, please submit a review to our site. The procedure is the same as it is for submitting a review of a restaurant or other establishment. Simply go to Submit Review, choose the location where the church is located, and follow the prompts from there.

Please help other Christians that are recently diagnosed with Celiac, new to the area, or visiting your area to find churches where they can fully participate in communion.

And if you'll be traveling and would like to find a church at your destination that offers gluten-free communion, be sure to Search our Site by town/zip code. If any churches have been reviewed, they'll appear in the church results, alongside dining reviews for that area.

If You are Catholic

The Catholic Church in particular is rooted in Scripture and Tradition. In keeping with the belief that Jesus used wheaten bread at the Last Supper, the Church has required that breads used for communion be made with wheat and contain gluten.

Gluten Free Communion Wafers

Thanks to the research of the Benedictine Sisters of Perpetual Adoration, a company was found that produces wheat starch, which is wheat that has had most of its gluten removed. After much trial-and-error, the Benedictine Sisters were able to make low-gluten bread out of this special wheat starch and water.

These wafers meet both the stringent requirements of the Catholic Church as well as the requirements of the gluten-free community, as confirmed by data from the Center for Celiac Research. You can learn more about the wafers -- and order 20 wafers for $5.15, plus shipping and handling by calling 800-223-2772 or visiting their website.